Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick introduction to differential geometry
Pressley's gives you a very comprehensible and down to earth introduction to differential geometry.
By avoiding the more modern and abstract generalizations of differential geometry to more than three dimensions you really feel that you grasp what the theorems and methods are about. In this way you are able to work your way quickly through the book and avoid getting...
Published on October 26, 2001

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Second Edition or Rough Draft?
I got this book for a graduate level differential geometry class. The book has a typo almost every other page. Don't get me wrong, typos are generally not a big deal, however if they're in the middle of equations it is just incorrect and useless. I don't recommend this book to anyone. The "Second Edition" on the cover makes me laugh. I can only imagine how...
Published 10 months ago by Carlos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick introduction to differential geometry, October 26, 2001
By A Customer
Pressley's gives you a very comprehensible and down to earth introduction to differential geometry.
By avoiding the more modern and abstract generalizations of differential geometry to more than three dimensions you really feel that you grasp what the theorems and methods are about. In this way you are able to work your way quickly through the book and avoid getting stuck and loosing interest. Another plus is that the book contains lots of examples and fully worked answers to all exercises, which makes it perfect for self-study.
The downside is that the book is not as exhuastive as you perhaps would like, when you have looked at books like O'Neills and DoCarmos ... on the other hand, you only need to spend a fraction of the time to get through Pressleys.
I definitely think that this is a much better book that Struiks classical work (by being more structured and goal oriented) and an excellent introduction to further studies in differential and Riemann geometry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written to teach rather than to impress, January 17, 2008
By 
Thomas Meyer (Storrs, Connecticut) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have purchased hundreds of technical books and really treasure the ones that seem to have been written in order to really convey the material rather than impress the reader with how smart the author is. This is such a book. The material is remarkably clear and the author's style strikes me as a notable example of the mathematical writing styles put forth in the articles comprising the text "How to Write Mathematics." For example, the material proceeds in a logical chain such that the reader is never confronted with a term or concept before it has been explained. The notation is defined meticulously and repeatedly so the reader is not forced to continually refer backwards through the text to remember the meaning of the symbols. This also is a boon for "grasshopper readers" who will use the text as a reference, as opposed to a linear reader. Symbols don't change meaning, are not overloaded, and seem to have been chosen for intuitive appeal. For example, a lower-case gamma denotes a parametric function for a curve and, to me, the shape of the gamma suggests the sorts of curves being discussed. In my experience, this book is best in class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable text on the subject!, October 19, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been looking for a decent book on differential geometry for years now. Most of the good ones are fairly pricey, or require the reader to have a deep knowledge of mathematics. This fits in neither category. You only need multi variable calculus, linear algebra, and some experience with reading/writing proofs. This book will also appeal to those who want to learn on their own, as every problem has a hint/solution in the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately a good begineers book, April 23, 2008
If you want a very general introduction of Differential Geometry, this is the book to start. Very nicely written text. Understandable examples. Broad coverage of materials . Explains space curves and surface properties with amazing quality. Recommended as a beginners level introduction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro book, March 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elementary Differential Geometry (Springer Undergraduate Mathematics Series) (Paperback)
I'm using this book in my independent study class, it's an excellent introductory book for self studies.

Pros:
1. Highly readable
2. There're ample example walk-throughs
3. Full solution at the back of the book
4. Contains the complete introduction to the subject
Cons:
1. Only contains a classical introduction and is mostly restricted to 3-d space, hard to generalize to higher dimensions.

I'm using this in conjunction with Wolfgang's intro to Differential Geometry(ISBN 978-0821839881), which provides a more modern view of the subject and is much more general.

Would definitely recommend to self learners as a first course in Differential Geometry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Second Edition or Rough Draft?, October 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elementary Differential Geometry (Springer Undergraduate Mathematics Series) (Paperback)
I got this book for a graduate level differential geometry class. The book has a typo almost every other page. Don't get me wrong, typos are generally not a big deal, however if they're in the middle of equations it is just incorrect and useless. I don't recommend this book to anyone. The "Second Edition" on the cover makes me laugh. I can only imagine how much worse the first one was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book, March 18, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elementary Differential Geometry (Springer Undergraduate Mathematics Series) (Paperback)
I'm only reading sections of this book for the purpose of understanding some half-baked math in a physics book, but I can say that this is simply a lovely book: the proofs are clear, the diagrams are copious, and the book contains the worked solutions to hundreds of problems - it's excellent for self study. It's also a nice demonstration of what can be done using just some advanced calculus - this book is suitable for anyone with two years of calc/linear algebra.

The book DOES say clearly in the introduction what it's scope is: mostly differential geometry in low dimensions and with methods that do NOT generalize to higher dimensions - so if you're looking for something else this isn't the book you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worked Out Solutions, July 17, 2011
By 
J. Wrenholt (Lincoln, NE United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elementary Differential Geometry (Springer Undergraduate Mathematics Series) (Paperback)
After trying several others, I found this book the best for individual study. The worked out solutions to all exercises gives you a good way to check your understanding. The writing is clear and the book has adequate illustrations to help you see what's going on.

I also liked presentation in Banchoff's book, Differential Geometry of Curves and Surfaces, but it has no answers or solutions to the exercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very appropriate for self-study, February 26, 2008
It's a very good book overall, especially if you like to spend more time reading on your own than in a classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elementary Differential Geometry (Springer Undergraduate Mathematics Series) (Paperback)
Great introduction, or review for older students reliving their glory days (present company included).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Elementary Differential Geometry (Springer Undergraduate Mathematics Series)
$49.95 $38.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.