Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well organized, but inconsistent level. Elementary?
I was assigned this book for teaching my 100-level college intro-stats course. It is much better organized than the previous book I used, but it isn't as thorough. Some topics, such as calculating a median and other percentiles using depth on an ordered list, are simply omitted in this book.

It seems that some topics are omitted or glossed over because they...
Published on February 24, 2007 by MagicSkip

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars :sigh:
Elementary Statistics was the book required for my class this semester and let me tell you - IT SUCKS!

This book pulls numbers out of thin air constantly and instead of telling you how to apply (or come up with) a formula it will just say something like "use a calculator to find ______"

I honestly learned more from google than from this book, and...
Published on May 26, 2007 by B. Crawford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well organized, but inconsistent level. Elementary?, February 24, 2007
By 
I was assigned this book for teaching my 100-level college intro-stats course. It is much better organized than the previous book I used, but it isn't as thorough. Some topics, such as calculating a median and other percentiles using depth on an ordered list, are simply omitted in this book.

It seems that some topics are omitted or glossed over because they might be too complex for "Elementary" statistics. On the other hand, the more complex topics in the book, such as hypothesis testing -- a topic that students consistently have a hard time understanding -- are not covered in enough depth.

Our students are sold this book in a package with videos on CD, a study guide, and a couple other things. This package is, in my opinion, worthless to a student in a class. They may be valuable to someone teaching themselves, or to a student in an online class, but for a live class, I think they are a waste of money.

The CD videos show a teacher working through the topics and some of the problems in the book. However, the teacher seems to have, (hands flail) y'know, a highly repetitive, (hands flail) y'know, (hands flail) vocabulary (hands flail), and it's (hands flail) y'know (hands flail) really hard to (hands flail) y'know, watch him (hands flail) y'know, teach. Like his hands have a nervous tic or something. I'm sure I have my own quirks in class, but this guy... his hands are something else.

All in all, I think the book is pretty good, with solid examples, well-highlighted definitions and key points. The chapter exercises are good in that they start VERY easy and progress through up to reasonably difficult, while staying within the limits of the text.

I told my department head: I like the book, but I recommend it without the bonus materials (and associated costs!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars :sigh:, May 26, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Elementary Statistics was the book required for my class this semester and let me tell you - IT SUCKS!

This book pulls numbers out of thin air constantly and instead of telling you how to apply (or come up with) a formula it will just say something like "use a calculator to find ______"

I honestly learned more from google than from this book, and can't figure out why someone would make this required reading material for any class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Student Solutions Manual for Elementary Statistics-Picturing the World, 4th edition, March 25, 2010
By 
L. Coyle (North Little Rock, AR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am disappointed with the solutions manual. There are too many problems that have only the answer instead of the steps to solve the problem. Students who are taking online or distance classes need the step-by-step solution of the problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, August 9, 2008
Excellent book! This is an easy to follow textbook for elementary statistics. There are a lot of examples and a lot of exercise to practice what you learned in the examples. I didn't purchase the student study pack, but several students in my class did and it really helped a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get your act together!, February 25, 2007
This text is in its third edition, and the NUMEROUS wrong answers in back of the book still haven't been corrected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Math book for school, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a book that I needed for a course. It served its purpose and I was happy to sell it back to the bookstore where it belonged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All the answers, February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just what I expected.And it has a recipe for a great pizza. I only with it would have had an apple pie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, March 1, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
They are the same from 3rd to 5th edition . Savery your money, the difference is not important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cover is Misleading..., October 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is definitely a fast moving education in Statistics. The cover makes it look and sound like a phonics book from grammar school. It is not. Statistics is hard to learn, from my perspective, any way you approach it. On the other hand, this book help me get an "A"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Statistics, April 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I received the book with lightning speed from the seller. The book itself is great. It is well organized and easy to understand, easy to ready. It makes Statistic not a bad or scary subject to encounter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Elementary Statistics (Picturing the World, [BOOK & CD-ROM])
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.