Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best elementary stats book ever.
I used this book as an undergrad in 2001. It was such an easy read and explained stats so clearly. I sold it back after the class was over and it was one of only two books that I wish I had never sold back. Now I'm in graduate stats and I bought it again just to use as a reference. It's great!
Published on September 28, 2008 by Adrianne Wilkerson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 star for book condition and 5 star for amazon customer care service
rented from amazon, came in busted and cover fell apart. returned it before the due date and was charged for the damage. i contact amazon customer service. they had noted in the system the book was used and blinding was damaged. for the condition the book came i gave it a 3 stars. for amazon customer service i came it a 5 star. they took care of the problem and did end up...
Published 14 months ago by Jen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best elementary stats book ever., September 28, 2008
By 
This review is from: Elementary Statistics, Revised (5th Edition) (Paperback)
I used this book as an undergrad in 2001. It was such an easy read and explained stats so clearly. I sold it back after the class was over and it was one of only two books that I wish I had never sold back. Now I'm in graduate stats and I bought it again just to use as a reference. It's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners and good review for Grad and PhD starters, May 7, 2009
This review is from: Elementary Statistics, Revised (5th Edition) (Paperback)
This revised 5th edition is a very fine book for those who understand very basics about data and may have some knowledge of high school statistics. A read through this small book from end to end will help you understand very clearly all the concepts and if your own highlights can be a very good review.
Free from distractions of using calculator/software ( which is necessary for doing real analysis though), this book is very easy to understand and retain concepts like chance-alone, z-score,std dev, Std Error, Plots, student t ratio, F ratio, ANOVA, Regression and not the least non-parametric where our paramteric assumptios fail.

One of the great qualities that each chapter ends with step-by-step procedure which is so great for review that as you do it you will get to like it more and more and you will feel why some other books are missing this part with subject like statistics.

I would recommend this book for advanced students too if they plan to revise their knowledge once learnt about statistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The text has what you need - at a fraction of the cost., July 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elementary Statistics, Revised (5th Edition) (Paperback)
This textbook has its strengths and weaknesses. Great set of very useful charts in the back of the book. The worked problems (for the most part) are clear and can be easily followed. The text itself is often hard to understand, and like most statisticians, the authors skip steps in their explanations. That's where they students need a clear and competent teacher to make it all work for them.

The best thing about the book is that it is older, and a good clean used copy can be gotten for about $25 - a small faction of the cost of most other university Stat books. Except for Cohen's "d", it has what you need for a first university-level statistics course. I teach Statistics for a major state university. This textbook serves us well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3 star for book condition and 5 star for amazon customer care service, November 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elementary Statistics, Revised (5th Edition) (Paperback)
rented from amazon, came in busted and cover fell apart. returned it before the due date and was charged for the damage. i contact amazon customer service. they had noted in the system the book was used and blinding was damaged. for the condition the book came i gave it a 3 stars. for amazon customer service i came it a 5 star. they took care of the problem and did end up refunding me for the extra charge that i did not do. note to anyone who looking into renting text book. you should take pictures of the book conditions when you receive it and contact the company for back up. that way you wont be charged the full amount of the book when you did not damaged it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elementary Statistics, Revised (5th Edition) (Paperback)
Excellent book! There are others but this hardcover version is the original...hence it's price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Statistics, September 25, 2005
This review is from: Elementary statistics (Hardcover)
This book is not nearly as good as some of the other stats books I've used, but it's old and cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Elementary Statistics, Revised (5th Edition)
Elementary Statistics, Revised (5th Edition) by Carl P. Duncan (Paperback - December 30, 1991)
$184.20 $153.19
Usually ships in 1 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.