Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still recognized as an important text
The sixth edition of "Elements" was published in 1995, and reviewers familiar with the advances in cartographic technology would be familiar with the great upheaval the field was going through at that time. Work on a seventh edition of this seminal text is currently underway, which should bring the content of the book up to par with recent changes. The book...
Published on August 6, 2003

versus
58 of 69 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book is pricey and uneven.
This title is billed as the Sixth Edition, and reflects the coming and going of co-authors. It is too bad that the editor had so little influence. Sections of this book that stick to their cartographic knitting are excellent. Historical information is very intersting. Basic explanations, such as the evolution of ellipsoids is very well done. Some of the writing is so...
Published on March 16, 2000 by Peter G. Cook


Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 69 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book is pricey and uneven., March 16, 2000
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elements of Cartography (Hardcover)
This title is billed as the Sixth Edition, and reflects the coming and going of co-authors. It is too bad that the editor had so little influence. Sections of this book that stick to their cartographic knitting are excellent. Historical information is very intersting. Basic explanations, such as the evolution of ellipsoids is very well done. Some of the writing is so bad it could have been extracted from a sophmore term paper, sprinkled with such inept phrases as "such as", "similarly", "however" and "in fact". The most glaring deficiency is in the area of computer technology. Either this material has not been updated since some earlier edition, or the author(s) are very uncomfortable with the subject matter. As examples: "Most common procedures used by cartographers have been translated into software programs written in special computer languages such as FORTRAN and C." "Today's well-rounded cartographer is routinely involved with these 'canned' (prewritten) mapping programs..." "The professionsal cartographer should, therefor, have a working knowledge of at least one computer language." We are regaled with three pages of detailed obselescent material on computer structure, but only 23 lines of overview on current instrument technology. There is a whole chapter on fonts and lettering, but no algorithm for conversion from Lat-Long to UTM. The central meridians for the UTM zones are not provided, nor is the DoD lettering scheme. One of the responsibilities of a text book is to arrange the subject matter in a structure where it can be easily referenced. This book reads like a series of articles of varying quality published under one cover, with overlap resolution left as an exercise for the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still recognized as an important text, August 6, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Elements of Cartography (Hardcover)
The sixth edition of "Elements" was published in 1995, and reviewers familiar with the advances in cartographic technology would be familiar with the great upheaval the field was going through at that time. Work on a seventh edition of this seminal text is currently underway, which should bring the content of the book up to par with recent changes. The book remains an important source of information for both the novice and seasoned cartographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Surprised..., August 24, 2006
By 
L. Rich (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elements of Cartography (Hardcover)
I am currently reading/studying this book and have found it be a bit choppy and not very well written. For a book of this magnitude I would have expected that a outline of the book to be written in chapter one. This book is about cartography but no definition is given until chapter two (it is assumed in the intro and panels). I just expected more and am currently looking for a supplimentary book to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cartography - must have title, June 25, 2006
By 
Zorko Sostaric (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elements of Cartography (Hardcover)
This book is very valuable source of information for anyone wanting to learn or refresh his knowledge of cartographic principles. Great variety of topics is covered in details and well illustrated so understanding of topics should not be too difficult to grasp.

It is a little bit weak on modern GIS systems section and cartographic capabilities of those. It is understandable since it is 10 years old now. It would be good to have more pictures in the full colour section.

This book is used as a reference book for lot of other materials and for a good reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little outdated, but good overall review of the profession/subject as a while, March 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elements of Cartography (Hardcover)
A little old and outdated, but it did the job. It explained what my professor didn't. Good book for beginners or those that do not understand what cartography is. I kept the book. I found it to be too informative and valuable to sell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for teaching, May 17, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elements of Cartography (Hardcover)
Is a very good book for help to teachers in cartography classroom. Good examples. Goods ilustrations. Good structure. Althoug is a old book is updated. Its have a part for GIS and not forget the traditional cartography process. Just a problem that I can see, its not have a luxurous edition althoug the price is high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my choice is right, April 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elements of Cartography (Hardcover)
The book is pretty good, and it seems that the package has been processed very carefully! I think my choice is right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elements Of Cartography, February 8, 2008
This review is from: Elements of Cartography (Hardcover)
It is a very good entry level cartography book that is needed for GIS students. Though i'd say 1995 is a bit old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend!, September 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elements of Cartography (Hardcover)
It's a classic book for cartographers! I recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Elements of Cartography
Elements of Cartography by A. Jon Kimerling (Hardcover - March 3, 1995)
$145.82
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.