Prime Music


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
mirmedia_mo... Add to Cart
$2.90  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Customer Direct Add to Cart
$3.99  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Big_Box_Bar... Add to Cart
$3.99  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Elephunk
 
See larger image
 

Elephunk

The Black Eyed PeasAudio CD
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (406 customer reviews)

Price: $2.44 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by Hugo's and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Wednesday, Dec. 24? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 15 Songs, 2004 $10.49  
Audio CD, 2004 $5.00  
Audio CD, 2003 $2.44  
Audio Cassette, Import --  

Amazon's The Black Eyed Peas Store

Music

Image of album by The Black Eyed Peas

Photos

Image of The Black Eyed Peas

Biography

In an era of an ever-changing music industry that's defined by diminishing expectation, where a "successful" career means having one, maybe two hit records; The Black Eyed Peas are a glorious exception. They have become one of the best selling, most popular and most innovative groups for over a decade. They have transformed themselves from a beloved backpack rap troop from the ... Read more in Amazon's The Black Eyed Peas Store

Visit Amazon's The Black Eyed Peas Store
for 73 albums, 14 photos, discussions, and more.

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

Elephunk + Monkey Business + THE E.N.D. (Energy Never Dies)
Price for all three: $16.22

Buy the selected items together


Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 24, 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: A&M
  • ASIN: B00009V7RF
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (406 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #315,715 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Hands Up
2. Labor Day (It's A Holiday)
3. Let's Get Retarded
4. Hey Mama
5. Shut Up
6. Smells Like Funk
7. Latin Girls
8. Sexy
9. Fly Away
10. The Boogie That Be
11. The Apl Song
12. Anxiety
13. Where Is The Love

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Amazon.com

Black Eyed Peas have at times been accused of sounding too Tribe for their own good, but this time out Will.i.am and crew have consciously expanded their horizons. Problem is, perhaps they've tried too hard. As the title suggests, Elephunk borrows from every single element of funk known to man and (with the exception of the one straight-out rock & roll track, "Anxiety") tries to cram them all into a semi-hip-hop format. While such willingness to experiment is admirable, in this case the attempt comes off as slightly desperate and too diffuse. Elephunk settles itself into a groove when BEP's newest member Fergie’s lush girlie vocals are allowed to dominate, as they do on the discofied "The Boogie That Be." --Rebecca Levine

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
131 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Stellar Triumph July 4, 2004
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD
When I first heard "Where is the Love" last summer, I couldn't stand it. I dismissed the Black Eyed Peas as one hit wonders and waited for their moment to pass. Then I heard "Shut Up" and was surprised I liked it. It wasn't until I heard "Hey Mama" that I fell in love with them. This CD is by far the best hip hop album right now because each song, even "Where is the Love", sounds good when you listen to the entire album. In my opinion, they are just as good, if not better, than that other visionary hip hop group, Outkast. Each song sounds like a radio smash, and it's not surprising this group has moved past the one hit wonder tag.
1)Hands Up- gets the CD off to a good start. One of the best party songs of the past few years. The perfect opener for this CD.
2)Labor Day- probably my favorite song on the CD. The beat is infectious, the vocals are top notch, and I think would be an even bigger hit than "Hey Mama" if they release it as a single.
3)Let's Get Retarded- the title threw me off at first, but they say right off the bat it's not meant to be offensive. It really is a good song and it's no wonder it is their latest single.
4)Hey Mama- yes, it's not the same version we heard on the radio, MTV, and VH1. Does that make this version bad? No, the track still holds up even without the excellent Fergie vocals heard on the single version.
5)Shut Up- I like the way this song sounds. The vocals play off each other very well, and even though it's about a disastrous relationship, you can still dance to it.
6)Smells Like Funk- another really good song. I like the beat.
7)Latin Girls- a little long, but it's still a really good song.
8)Sexy- I like the feel of this song. It's very smooth and it sounds great.
9)Fly Away- a great showcase for Fergie.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
51 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums I've ever heard October 12, 2003
Format:Audio CD
This album is absolutely awesome, and has something for everyone. It brings together R&B, Rap, and Jazz with socially conscious lyrics. There is not a single song that I don't like on it. Fergie, the newcomer to this group, definately adds a new feel to this album.
1) Hands up - a high energy start to the album. The saxophone on this song is very jazzy, and has the whole song has a bit of a retro feel.
2) Labor Day - Pure Fun. You can really dance to this song.
3) Let's Get Retarded - This song starts out by saying that it means no disrespect (look up the lyrics if you're concerned about it) Actually, it uses "retarded" to describe losing control of your body when you dance. Anybody who listens to more than just the chorus of this song would realize this.
4) Hey Mama - Has a latin, almost jamaican, feel. Sounds a little like Sean Paul's "Get Busy." Fun song.
5) Shut Up - Fergie shines on this song! More pop sounding than the rest of the album, but it still has a groove. Fergie's vocals alone make this song worth listening to. Beautiful.
6) Smells like Funk - This also has a retro feel to it. Nothing particularly spectacular about this song, but it's still solid.
7) Latin Girls - Very latin feel to this one. Another fun song to dance to.
8) Sexy - Funktastically Beautiful Song. They did a nice job mixing the piano into this slower song.
9) Fly Away - This song is my absolute favorite - Fergie really shines on this one. A wonderfully free song... you just have to hear it.
10) The Boogie that Be - Mostly rap, with a classic sound to it.
11) The Elephunk Theme - An exotic song, with melodies that sound middle-eastern or Indian, blended with aggressive rap.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every song shines February 21, 2004
By Katie
Format:Audio CD
'Elephunk' is an awesome album. This is one of the first albums I can listen to, in it's entirtey, without having to skip any tracks. Whether I'm listening to the upbeat 'Smells Like Funk', the sultry 'Sexy' or even the angst-filled 'Anxiety' I can always find something about the song to love. Adding Fergie for a female voice was an ingenius move. She really adds alot to the group when singing songs such as 'Let's Get Retarded' and 'Shut Up'.
Just so everyone buying the album for 'Hey Mama' knows, the lyrics were changed on the single version to avoid sounding too political ("then drop bombs like we're in the Middle East" was cut) and to add more of Fergie (her "off the richter" lyrics are not part of the CD version). Both versions basically sound the same other than the slightly altered lyrics though.
The first six tracks are all quite fast, then 'Latin Girls' slows it down quite a bit. 'The Apl Song' is one of my very favorites on the album. I absolutely love the lines "A version of my ghetto where life felt for real/Some would call it hell but to me it was heaven". The song is sung in both Tagalog and English, which sounds awesome. It's about having to work together and live off the land, and it truly is a very beautiful song.
Check out 'Elephunk' if you're a fan of Hip Hop, or even Pop. If you like 'Shut Up' and 'Hey Mama', chances are you'll love the album. The lyrics, vocals, and beats are all very good, and the album overall is awesome.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath of fresh air July 3, 2003
Format:Audio CD
For as long as I can remember I have loved hip-hop and for most of my life it was the only genre of music I listened to. Unfortunatly, for the last few years, hip-hop and rap has been in my opinion pretty awful, save for a few artists here and there. Elephunk is one of the top five best hip-hop album I've ever heard period. I just bought it today and instantly fell in love with it, unusual considering it normally takes me about a week before I really like any album. When I heard "Where is the Love" on the radio a month or so ago, I knew this album would be special. Will.i.am's production is what sets Elephunk apart from everything else. If you are like me, you are sick of just about all the producers out there. These beats were designed with music in mind and sound like they took a lot of time on each and every one. The album doesn't stop at outstanding production though. The lyrical content is intellegent and delivered in a way that is both interesting and pleasing to the ear. The album features a wide range of lyrical topics including discrimination, love and the rockin' party tracks. Sometimes I think the goal of hip-hop these days is to try and master what someone else's work. BEP could care less what everyone else in rap is doing, that I think is the secret to their success. Most people will probably sleep on this album because record companies will probably continue to shove other rappers down their throats. But like a fine wine i suppose, only a select few can experience quality like Elephunk. This album has renewed my faith in hip-hop.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
my first Collection from this artist, will buy new album from them...
Published 2 months ago by Simon R. Madrazo
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
good
Published 4 months ago by nandorg
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
I like it alot.
Published 4 months ago by Tina Brumett
5.0 out of 5 stars try there others out too
My favorite type of music there's no joking when I say this is some of there best work
Published 4 months ago by Stephen
4.0 out of 5 stars Best after work CD evar
I have a stupid level of insanity at my work. I make a bee line for happy hour at closing time, but first I reach for 'Elephunk'. Read more
Published 4 months ago by Jennifer Sandt
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
I loved it!
Published 4 months ago by Czigany Shimza
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as their other albums
Got this for someone for Christmas. They said that they like the Black Eyed Peas, but didn't like the album very much. Whoops.
Published 7 months ago by Jonathan Havey
2.0 out of 5 stars CD was in decaying condition; very soiled and skipped
The problem is not with the music or the artists. It is with the overall deplorable condition of the CD itself.
Published 9 months ago by None
5.0 out of 5 stars The Black Eyed Peas: Elephunk
this is a great cd it is fun and enjoyable to listen to the best songs on this cd are

Tracks

1. Hands Up
3. Lets Get Retarded
2. Read more
Published 9 months ago by David
1.0 out of 5 stars i'd rather smoke my own dung out of a vaporizer than sit through this...
Black Eyed Peas has one actual musician/producer in the band and that's Will I am. The others are just entertainers, not too unlike New Kids On The Block or these other... Read more
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category

Hugo's Privacy Statement Hugo's Shipping Information Hugo's Returns & Exchanges