Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Eleven Madison Park: The Cookbook
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$37.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 23, 2016
Added to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2016
I purchased this for my boyfriend and he absolutely loves it. Perfect book, couldn't ask for anything better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2016
Fine item - good shipping and an excellent product, thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
great book, a look into the creative process happening at Eleven Madison Park's kitchen. great read for people interested in food and cooking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
exelent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2015
Fabulous Book. Full page photos. The recipes read like a work of fiction. What an amazing creativity these chefs have to come up with, and prepare, these amazing dishes. it's really a "coffee table" book, vs a cook book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2015
EMP is my favorite restaurant and Daniel Humm one of my favorite chefs. If you're looking to actually cook dishes, this probably isn't the book for you. Unless, of course, you are willing to put in the time and effort to replicate the dishes as best you can. And of course, hunt down the occasional uncommon ingredient. The best part for me was getting a glimpse behind the scenes of what goes on at EMP and the story about how the restaurant became what it is today. There are intimate stories from Will Guidara highlighting the ups and downs of operating a restaurant. To the point where you can't help but cheer them on in the way you would an underdog story.

At the end of the day though, for most people, this would probably make a fantastic addition to your coffee table. The pictures are taken in such great detail and really pop against the snow white background. It really emphasizes the fact that food like this isn't just calories, proteins, vitamins, etc. It's art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2015
This is one of the better books by a great chef. I'm usually careful about getting such books (Michelin restaurants & chefs) but this is definitely a book one should own. You get to know what Eleven Madison Park is about, the thoughts of both the management, front of house (Will Guidara) and the kitchen (Chef Daniel Humm) which a lot of books only focuses on just the chef.

The photographs are beautiful, the presentation of the dishes visually stunning. The recipes are organized according to seasons. Included were also recipes of Hor D'oeuvres and Mignardises which came as a surprise for me. All of these recipes (Hor D'oeuvres and Mignardises) were compiled together at the end of the book though. I would've prefer to have the photos right next to the recipes for reference, instead of having to flip to the pages and back. The layout is neat and organized, ingredients are fairly easy to obtain. Good for professionals and even homecooks. They also tell you how each dish is plated. It could be better if the book has both metric and Imperial measurements which I think a lot of people would appreciate. (Glad to see The NoMad Cookbook has this.) I like how the book also shared a day in the life of people working Eleven Madison Park, the layout of the whole restaurant and the duties of every position. It is insightful and educative and I think it's time people should not be afraid to share such things.

Like many people, I have the same problem with the extra white paper sleeve cover, which is unnecessary and redundant. The grey hardcover is already good enough so I don't understand the need for lousy flimsy white paper sleeve. I just received the book and the sleeve is already slightly damaged. I'm just hoping that in the future publishers could stop making extra paper sleeve covers! They are useless and annoying.

I find it a bit funny that some people buy this book (or any other good books) with the intention to replicate the recipes and expect to make spectacular dishes that taste exactly like those served at Eleven Madison Park. And if they don't succeed, they blame the book, the recipes, the measurements. Recipes or cookbooks are always just a guide and they show a world of possibilities and ideas. There are no real recipes really. Cooking takes more than just recipes. It's about feel, instinct, philosophy. Taste is subjective.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2015
Love it! Best cookbook I've ever had.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2015
Beautiful book and well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$37.24

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.