Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

522 of 553 people found the following review helpful
on July 16, 2012
► PLEASE NOTE: This review was originally done back in July 2012 (same goes for the video). Elgato have over the years been improving upon improving the software's features and usability even more than what was originally a top game capturing software.

There are now two device options to choose from:
1) Elgato Game Capture HD: The first model which is what my review is based on. This model supports devices via its HDMI & A/V inputs. This one is more suited for the last generation of consoles and prior such as the PlayStation 3 & Xbox 360. You can only record up to 30fps with this device.

2) Elgato Game Capture HD60 Featuring just HDMI inputs, this is made for the newer generation of consoles such as the PlayStation 4 & Xbox One... Well basically anything that supports HDMI. This newer version can also record up to 1080p 60fps!

Below you will find my original review for the Elgato Game Capture HD, followed by any updates I've made thereafter. It's a long review, however I hope it will help you make the right decision based on your needs.

.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.

♦ Introduction ♦

When it comes to capturing gameplay from your consoles, you want as good quality as you can get so you can show your friends or the world those amazing moments in detail.

The problem is there are so many different game captures to choose from these days such as Roxio, AverMedia, Hauppauge +more, that it can be a daunting task to choose the right one.

Whilst I can't comment on the others being bad or good due to the fact I haven't personally tried them myself, I can safely say that 'Elgato Game Capture HD' offers simple connectivity, ease of use and very high quality.

♦ Box Contents & System Requirements ♦

So what's in the box?:
Game Capture Device | AV Cable(PS3) | Unencrypted HDMI Cable(Xbox or use as pass-through) | Component Cable | Mini USB - USB cable.

Minimum system requirements:
* Mac: Mac OS X 10.7, 2.0 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo CPU.
* PC: Windows 7, 2.0 GHz dual core CPU.
* Sound card | 4 GB RAM | Built-in USB 2.0 port | You will also need an internet connection to download the software from Elgato's official website as there is no software disk included.

♦ Set-Up ♦

Setting everything up was extremely simple:

Step 1) Download the game captures software.

Step 2) Connect your console to the 'Game Capture HD' using the appropriate cable:

- PS3: You need to use the AV cable rather than HDMI cable, this is because the PS3's HDMI port is encrypted (You can still get 1080i quality).
- Xbox: Use the HDMI cable provided.

Step 3) Link the 'Game Capture HD' and HDTV together via HDMI cable.

Step 4) Insert the USB cable included to both your computer and 'Game Capture HD'.

Step 5) Load up the software.

Step 6) Turn on your console.

- IMPORTANT PS3 Information: PS3 users will need to go to their PS3 "Settings" - "Display Settings" - "Video Output Settings" - "Components / D-Terminal" - When selecting resolution, make sure "1080p" is NOT selected, only go up to "1080i".

The PS3 auto-detects when an HDMI cable is used, but it doesn't auto-detects the AV input. The way I got around this was hooking the PS3 up directly to the TV(whilst AV cables were also connected to the game capture), I then went to the display settings and clicked on "Component / D-Terminal", once selected I had quickly removed the HDMI from the PS3 and connected it to the 'Game Capture HD', this solved the problem and took only 30 seconds for me to do.

Step 7) If there is no picture displayed on the game capture software, go to the 'Game Capture HD Settings' which can be located within the "Device" box under the "Capture" tab. The setting button is to the right-hand side and looks like a hammer and spanner crossed over. It is important to have the "Input Device" on the right settings, after selecting the right option, you should have your gaming consoles screen displayed on the software. *Note*; the software has a few seconds delay on game footage, so use your TV to play games.

Step 8) Tweak other settings if necessary, then your done!

Set-up took barely 5 minutes overall, I was very pleased with how easy it was to set-up. :)

♦ Software / Use ♦

The computer specs I used whilst using the 'Game Capture HD' software were:
* Windows 7 64-bit Operating System | Intel i7 960 3.2 GHz Processor | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580 Graphics Card | 12GB RAM.

First of all, the installation process was error free(always a good start), the program loads up promptly and so far I have yet to see it crash.

The layout is basic in a good way and is very easy to navigate, you have simple settings to choose from such as where you would like the gameplay recordings to be saved, the quality of the video files(which will impact the file size) and adjustments in the picture output.

As for recording gameplay, couldn't be any simpler, just press the big red button to start the recording process and press it again to stop.

To the right of the record button you have a "time-shift" bar, this is probably the best feature I have ever seen. Lets say you decided to stop recording because the game your playing is not going in your favour, then out of the blue you do the most epic thing you have every done in gaming history, which of course could not be re-created even with the highest bit of luck... well don't despair, the software keeps an ongoing backup for a certain period of time, which by using the "time-shift", you can go back in time to record that epic moment.

There is also an edit tab available, however it is very basic. Tools available are 'trim' & 'delete', it basically lets you keep the good parts and throw the bad out. For those wanting that extra editing experience, I would suggest something like Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 (other software's available).

The final part of the edit section is a quick share where you can click on lets say "YouTube", then all you have to do is type in your account details and it uploads the video for you.

♦ Overall Opinion ♦

Overall I think this is a completely solid package, and whilst it may seem a tad expensive, I do feel you get your monies worth and would highly recommend!

.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.

♦ Review Update ♦

Since the review had initially been published, there have been several significant updates for the software:

1) Now supports 1080p.

2) Live Commentary: This is my most favourite update for the software, it lets you capture your voice by using a microphone that's connected to your computer, results are fantastic and I use it all the time.

To use, you have to enable the microphone icon and then select the microphone from the "Audio In", there is also an option which when checked, reduces the game volume as when your talking through the microphone which delivers a fantastic balance between game & microphone audio.

When you decide to stop recording using this feature, as you would before, give it 5-10 seconds after you have finished your gaming before you click to stop recording, this will ensure nothing is cut off.

3) Stream live gameplay onto websites such as Twitch.

4) You can now record from your standard definition retro gaming consoles.

5) Now confirmed it works with Nintendo Wii U via HDMI!

6) Xbox One Console will work with the Elgato.

7) Sony PlayStation 4 (PS4) is now supported, you'll just have to make sure the HDCP is disabled within the PS4 settings.

- ♦ - Current software available is 'Version 2.0'. - ♦ -

.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.·:*¨*:·.

- ♦ - Elgato Game Capture HD -VS- Hauppauge HD PVR 2 GE+ - ♦ -

After recently having the chance to use the HD PVR 2 GE+, I have decided to do a mini comparison below:
(+ Positive | / Neutral | - Negative).

♦ Elgato:

+ Sleek looking, very lightweight and portable.
+ Simple and clean looking software.
+ Time-shift mode (allows you to go back in-time to record the footage you've missed).
+ Advanced microphone features (Game audio dimming when talking).
+ No power adapter needed.

/ Cables aren't too long (Great for people who love less clutter, not good for people who have their devices further away).

- Requires much higher computer specs to use on your computer:
Windows 7, Windows 8 or later | 2.0 Ghz (or higher) dual core CPU, or 2.0 Ghz (or higher) multi-core i3, i5 or i7 CPU | Sound card | 4GB Total Installed RAM (or higher) | Built-in USB 2.0 port.

♦ Hauppauge:

+ PVR 2 In my opinion looks cooler, especially when the LED lights up.
+ Instant record button on the PVR 2.
+ 5.1 surround sound support via optical cable.
+ Comes with additional editing software where you can add text and effects.
+ Not too demanding on computer specs: Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit), Windows Vista or Windows XP Service Pack 3 | PC with 3.0 GHz single core or 2.0 GHz multi-core processor | 512 MB RAM (1 GB recommended) | Graphics card with 256 MB memory | Sound card | USB 2.0 Port.

/ Cables are long (This for me is EXTREMELY handy for my recent set-up, but some could see this as a nuisance).

- Requires the use of a power adapter.

♦ Both:

+ They are both normally available with a similar price-tag.
+ Easy to set-up.
+ Software is simple to navigate.
+ Commentary features.

- Requires computer to be turned on to pass-through to TV.

Picking one over the other is a very hard choice because they both have their positives and both output top quality.

To date... I much prefer the Elgato software mainly down due to the advanced mic & time-shift features, but when it comes to practicality for my needs, the PVR2GE+ wins with it's longer cables, one-push record and is less resource heavy on my computer.

Both are very good contenders in the Game Capture market and both deserve 5 stars, I would recommend either one so it entirely depends on which suite your needs the most.
review image review image review image
9292 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
282 of 331 people found the following review helpful
Style: Game Capture HDVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Hello gamers if you're reading this review you most likely want to capture game content and upload your footage to YouTube well I hope you find this review useful. I'm going to be comparing the Elgato Game Capture HD to the Hauppauge HD PVR and the Elgato Eye TV. And my goal is to give you direction as to which one you should buy based on my experience as a regular uploader of gaming footage to YouTube.

The straight dope: IF YOU JUST WANT TO RECORD GAMEPLAY BUY THIS OVER A PVR IT IS THE PERFECT DEVICE.

To watch Drift0r do a video review search this code on YouTube: 1RXqiyQetiA
Here is Drift0rs how to live stream video on YouTube: dTsBQeoy-nA

This short and sweet review of this device is: Buy this over the Happauge HD-PVR or Eye TV I feel it's just a superior unit for capturing gameplay no extra pieces of equipment are required like with the other products that I mentioned. It's compact and just simply passes your signal directly to your TV and allows you to capture all your gameplay and just jump back simply if you need to grab a clip. I feel that Elgato has been paying attention the gaming community on YouTube and is bought out one of the better products for us to use. The price at the time of this review is $190 about on par with HD PVR's you might be considering and this works seamlessly with Mac and PC as the software is provided for both so to me it's a no-brainer.

Another very cool feature is that it does HDMI recording on the Xbox on the PS3 you need to use a special cable they provide. But I'll discuss that more below.

My only complaint (and it's not really a complaint) is that it doesn't capture 1080p and only 1080i. Not a big deal because I think it's 720p is perfect and when you get into 1080p video files they get ridiculously huge and add to render times. Just an FYI 1080i is 30 frames per second and is interlaced whereas 1080p would be a full 60 frames per second. But then again the files would be ridiculously huge and I feel 720p is great for YouTube.

***UPDATE - 1***
The super benefit of this unit is it is bus powered (9aka draws it's power from the usb port) so no wall ac adapter (wall wart) needed! I feel if you want to go places and get gameplay (i.e. a gaming convention/a companies offices/a friends house) all you need is the Game Capture and a laptop. This thing is waaaaay better than an HD-PVR

The meaty review - The Elgato Game Capture HD vs HD-PVRs - FIGHT!

So most likely your gamer and you have awesome gameplay that you want to put out there on the YouTubes or you've been doing it for a while and maybe your HD PVR finally took a fatal head shot and you might want to get something new. I feel that this device is much better than HD PVR and here is why.

When you're dealing with HD PVR's if you're unfamiliar you have to use YpbPr composite cables (it's 5 cables that are like RCA cables that used to connect your console to your HD PVR) now these composite cables require that you purchase the correct one for your PlayStation or Xbox they cost around $10-$20. And the bundle of cables is a huge mess to deal with and kind of a general PITA. But just to get an idea the general layout is like this.

Console (connects to) HD-PVR (connects to both) your TV and your computer - and or having to deal with composite cables when connecting your console to your PVR and then from the PVR to the TV. It is generally a major pain in the butt.

And if you were thinking about getting the EyeTV from Elgato it requires that you purchase a $70-$90 signal splitter to use that as a capture device for the Mac.

On a side note I believe that HD PVR's can be used to record television and such (not a feature I ever used but if you're interested in using them for that as the only scenario where they have an edge over the Elgato Game Capture)

So now on to the game capture and why I think this device is awesome. 1st off you can run HDMI directly from your Xbox into the game capture and then out your TV just plain awesome one cable very simple. Now for the PS3 since Sony are such sticklers for copy protection you need to use a special cable that thankfully Elgato provides. But again its only one cable and not a bundle of 5 cables that you have to deal with when you're using composite cabling. but the beauty of this device plain and simple is that it runs on both Mac and PC and its small and easy to take with you. It really is an amazing thing and beat HD PVR's hands down.

Now the software: Elgato software is amazing I personally use an Happauge HD-PVR for my Mac and use their Eye software so that I can use my Hauppage with my Mac because it only ships with software for Windows (and the Windows software for the Happauge sucks big time). But the software that comes with the game capture is awesome the cool thing is it allows you to not have to constantly be recording your gameplay but if you get a clip that you want to savor game is use the jump that feature and recorded when you're ready. And another awesome feature is that like their EyeTV software you can export and encode in many different formats. I have always and think I will always love the way Elgato gives its users options when it comes to transcoding to different formats. So the software apartment again another win for the game capture HD

The way I look at it if you want to capture game content this is the device that buy I think the day and age of the HD PVRs being used for game capture is over. This thing is awesome!

If you want to check out another cool review of the software by Tejbz search on YouTube for this video: fX5YGLyiUWc

So thank you for reading I hope you found this useful and easy to understand my recommendation is by this device plain and simple. [...].
Chuck the Capper
3333 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
115 of 137 people found the following review helpful
on October 7, 2012
New Edit: Elgato is continually updating their software, so I've updated my review below with important points (and noted where things no longer apply, marked with three asterisks ***).

As the title says, ***this appears to be the opposite of the HD-PVR 2 in almost every regard***. -Since Hauppauge has now released their own capture software for their HD-PVR devices, and I have not used said software, I can't really compare the software.

- Physical ease of use - the pass-through just plain works. The HD-PVR 2 required the PC to be powered on and the software opened before anything was passed through. The Elgato, I didn't even have the drivers installed yet and the pass-through worked. Definitely a plus.

- Video quality - the 1080p bitrate on the Elgato is over twice the HD-PVR 2 (30 Mbps vs 14 Mbps). It's not a big deal for just uploading clips to YouTube (since they compress 1080p to the 2-6 Mbps range anyway) but for a filmmaker like me, quality is the number one priority, so the Elgato won out on this alone.

- Software - the Elgato approach is both good and bad. For filmmaking, HD-PVR 2 is preferred because you hit record, you made a file, and you stopped recording. Then you have a file. That's it. With Elgato, it starts recording as soon as you open the program and doesn't stop until (presumably) you run out of disk space. This is a plus for gameplay footage - there's no need to record all the time and then go back later with a different program to cut up your footage, all this is built-in. You scroll back to before that big play happened, hit record, then edit it and export it. In-program cutting with no re-encode is definitely a plus.

***HOWEVER file management definitely needs work. As soon as you hit record, the ENTIRE FILE that it has been recording is saved. So if you open the program for 10 minutes, scroll back 5 minutes and hit record, it shows the latter 5 minutes in the program, but the entire 10 minute file is actually saved. And there's no way to get that first 5 minutes back unless you go get the raw TS file and cut it with a different program. You could have the program open for 45 minutes, hit record on only the last 2 minutes, and you'd have a 2-minute file in the software but a 45-minute file on disk.***

The previous behavior no longer exists - during Timeshift recording, the program actually makes multiple smaller files, and then only saves the files it needs to depending on where you scrolled back and hit record. So it will have a small part of the "unrecorded" footage, but when you stop recording, it cuts the file down to exactly where you scrolled back to.

***So to save disk space, I would cut the clip I want and do the "MP4 Original" export, which cuts and remuxes the video into an MP4 format (which jives with Media Player Classic and Premiere Pro CS5 with no problems - awesome). And then, after exporting the clip, I delete the original file, and the software DELETES THE EXPORTED FILE TOO. Unless you move the exported MP4 from the default folder, the program deletes it when you delete the source clip, which to me, doesn't make any sense and is why I only gave 3/5 stars. I lost ALL of my first-day test footage because of this bug. (and none of the files were recoverable because I kept playing after exporting and deleting, and recording the new file overwrote all the old ones).***

The above point has been fixed - exported clips are no longer deleted when you delete the footage entry.

The "Input Device" selection is also very strange to me. As far as I can tell, it has a huge impact on picture quality. Even with an Xbox 360 plugged in, the "Other" option looks much better than the "Xbox 360" option (deeper blacks, better contrast, etc). So I leave it on "Other". However, when the software is not open, it appears that the option defaults to "Xbox 360" (even when a non-Xbox device is plugged in) so the picture looks worse when the software is closed than when it is open (and thus, recording). I removed the Elgato from the equation and plugged my device directly into the TV, and it looked as good as it did with the "Other" option checked and the software running. So the Elgato is doing some sort of processing on the signal, meaning the pass-through is not a bit-for-bit pass-through of the source material, which is a bit unsettling. But hopefully that's just a bug that can be fixed.

Overall, the hardware is amazing, but the software needs ***a lot of work*** (not as much anymore). It's definitely geared towards the less-technical user (the quality slider is just "good" to "best" and only recently did they add an indicator of what "good" or "best" means in terms of Mbps), so I'd like to see some more advanced options available, and maybe more explanation on what "Input Device" really does (and an option to turn off whatever processing it's doing).

But the bottom line is, it records 1080p at 30 Mbps, which is a better bitrate than even my professional video camera. So this device beats out the HD-PVR 2 (which is 14 Mbps) on that alone.

P.S. I tested setting my Xbox 360 to 1080p output using the component cables, and the Elgato read it and recorded from it just fine (albeit not as good quality as HDMI), but I'm assuming that means you PS3 users can record at 1080p.

*** Some other notes that still apply as of July 2013:

- Flashback (timeshift) recording can be disabled, but when it is, you cannot pause the preview in any way.
- Streaming to both twitch.tv and YouTube has been added, and works wonderfully
- They added in-program commentary recording from any microphone on your computer
- Dolby Digital will not pass-through - the Elgato downmixes it to stereo for both recording and the pass-through

In conclusion, this is the best high-definition USB capture device on the market right now. The only better devices would be ones that don't have real-time compression (i.e. Blackmagic)
2222 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
53 of 64 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon July 25, 2012
Style: Game Capture HDVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have to admit that although I have been an avid gamer back in the college days, I don't spend any more than an hour or two per week playing video games. I don't own a PS3 so I didn't test it for PS3. For Xbox 360, it works right out of the box!

I found this device can capture pretty much any (unprotected) video source. I think Elgato should read this review and advertise this as a general HD video capture device - not just a game capture device for Xbox 360 and PS3.

The best part about this device (as others have mentioned it), is that it uses one USB cable for both power and data - you don't have to deal with separate power cable to hook up to an AC outlet.

Another thing that I like about this is that this device is so light and so small that you can take it with you anywhere in your bag. This is about the same size as the popular external hard drives - only lighter!
______________________________

*** Xbox 360 ***

After hooking up the HDMI cables from this little device to my Xbox 360 and then back to my LED TV, I tested by recording Gears of War 3, Kinect Sports and Kinect Adventures. The software worked flawlessly with Windows 7. The captured video was HD-quality. The software allows me to do basic video editing and directly share it with my social network or post it on YouTube. Right from the provided software, I can also export it into Windows Movie Maker if I want to do more video editing.
______________________________

*** HD TV capture ***

I am into capturing live TV events for personal use. Though this was not advertised as a TV capture device, I couldn't see why it won't be able capture video and audio feed from my Comcast Motorola digital TV set-top box. So when I hooked up the HDMI cable to the digital cable box, the device's software quickly identified it as "Protected HDCP". But to overcome this, I instead hooked up an AV to component adapter cable and connected to my digital TV box using component cables for video and audio (similar to this one: 7-Pin S-Video to 3 RCA RGB Component TV HDTV - Video Adapter Cable). Viola! I can now capture live HD TV!!

Here's why I would get this over instead of Elgato EyeTV even if I am only capturing live TV:

1. Both are similarly priced (~$180)
2. EyeTV appears to only work with Mac - not PC. Game Capture works with PCs and Macs.
3. EyeTV does not support connection out to your HD TV since it has no HDMI out ports. Game Capture includes a HDMI out port.

In short, with Game Capture device, you can capture Xbox 360, PS3 as well as digital TV on both Windows and Macs, but with EyeTV device you are very limited in your choices. The only downside that I can see is that EyeTV allows you to schedule recording while this device's software doesn't have that feature. If you don't care about using this for DVR, this would be a better solution than EyeTV to capture digital TV (in my opinion).
______________________________

*** Screen capture from Windows and Macs ***

I've found some additional uses for this device that I'm sure other geeks must find useful. I tested it to capture the screen output from my MacBook Air by connecting a Thunderbolt to HDMI converter cable into the HDMI in port and It worked without a glitch with the highest video quality settings. Likewise, my Dell Studio laptop has an HDMI out cable so it works with that too. So not only can I use this little magical device to capture games, digital TV, but I can also use it to record training sessions on computer if I wanted to by capturing the screen output from my computer to another computer. This essentially provides the same functionality that you'd get if you used one of the software-based screen capturing applications such as Camtasia Studio that retails for $300.
______________________________

In conclusion, not only do I recommend this device to the avid gamers out there who want to capture their gaming feats but I also recommend this to people who are considering other HD TV capturing devices to capture HD TV and to people who want to just capture just about any unprotected HDMI source.
1010 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on October 15, 2012
I bought this because my DirecTV DVR was getting full of programs I wanted to keep, and there was really no way to get them off. I tried to buy an Avermedia stick that just plugs into the side of the computer, but I could not get it to play nice with Windows TV (Kept requiring a remote, and I don't have that...).

So now I have this amazing little device. The upside is that so far, it's worked flawlessly. I have transferred several programs off of the DVR and onto the computer to archive. Not only that, it's basically plug-and-play, once you download Elgato's software to your computer. Plug being the operative word here. Since I'm using my DirecTV DVR, and DirecTV encrypts the HDMI signal, I used the component cables to connect from the DVR to the Elgato. Then, HDMI from the Elgato back to the TV. And lastly the USB cable from the Elgato to the computer. As soon as that's done, and the software booted up, voila! You have the same feed playing on your computer as on your TV. Just hit the big red button to start and stop recording, and that's all there is to it.

Lastly, if you need to do some minor editing, the software has that capability as well, so if you're on the fence, just go ahead and buy it, you won't be sorry.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on February 28, 2014
Very easy to install. Download the required s/w and you are ready to start capturing!! At the beginning the video was a bit jerky but in few seconds it smoothened out. Audio lag was observed. I'll tweak it once I connect it to my 16GB six core AMD. I'll post detail review later.

Recoroding interface is easy and lots of single click social networking sharing options.
review image
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
TOP 100 REVIEWERon June 23, 2014
The last game capture device I bought was a Dazzle (by Pinnacle) and boy am I glad I upgraded. This Elgato one is very high quality and has a ton of capture options, including my most coveted 1080p capture. There are a couple features I will admit that I wish it had, but for the price I feel quite happy with everything it does offer.

Pros:
[+] Supports every gaming platform I tried connecting: Xbox One, Xbox 360, PlayStation 4, Wii U, Wii, GameCube, N64, SNES, and of course basically any device that outputs in analog. Depending on what you're doing, some HDMI devices will not work when they are HDCP encoded, so you can't try to put a Blu-ray in your Xbox One and capture from it. Not a big deal to me since I really did buy this for game capture.

[+] Supports all of the most-common capture resolutions: 1080p, 1080i, 720p, 480p, 480i

[+] Out of the box has support for HDMI in as well as component/composite in, as long as you have updated their game capture software (free) to the latest version. It's especially cool that the same component adapter can be used for composite input by just plugging the yellow video cable into the red component slot.

[+] The free included software is quite nice, and while not perfect, WAY better than Pinnacle's included capture software that I previously used with my Dazzle. It seems stable and has never stuttered or produced a bad video. I haven't used the editing portion of it much, however, as I prefer to capture the video from there then import it into Adobe Premiere/After Effects.

[+] Capture quality. My 1080p videos look amazing! The quality of each frame looks just as it does playing uncompressed on my TV. And there are many selectable quality options to choose from in case you want to sacrifice some quality for lower file size. I put the slider somewhere between the middle and high quality, and it still looks nearly perfect!

Cons:
[-] Only supports up to 30fps, so while many games output in 1080p60, you will only capture in 1080p30. If you're uploading to YouTube, this shouldn't be a deal-breaker though as YouTube currently doesn't support 60fps anyway, and they will get transcoded into 1080p30. But I'm sure in the future they will support that and it would be nice to have this device be more future-proof with 60fps support.

[-] Don't forget to close the capture software. I unplugged the capture device from the USB input and left my laptop. Then I came back several hours later to find it running hot as heck. Even if you disconnect the device and there is no active video feed to your PC, it will run up your CPU just the same and prevent it from falling asleep. So you need to remember to close out the software all the way when done using it.

[-] Doesn't support S-video input out of the box. They have an adapter listed on their website you can buy to add S-video support, but it is currently out of stock and I can't find it for sale ANYWHERE (not amazon, ebay, etc).

[-] Can't be used for live streaming or to game on your laptop/PC. The video capture feed has a delay of about 5 seconds (even if you are just feeding it 480i). So the "live feed" preview is completely unusable if you want to look at that instead of a separately connected display device.

Conclusion:
Not perfect, but for the price, really pretty satisfied! I'm hoping sometime soon they can release an updated device that addresses the four cons I listed above, and they would easily have another sale from me, even if they priced it higher. I can't find any device at any pricepoint that does everything I want yet, so for the time being, this seems to be the best option out there.

UPDATE 2014.06.26!
YouTube just announced coming 48 and 60fps support, so just like I mentioned above this is one unfortunate thing the Elgato won't be able to take advantage of. Hopefully by time YouTube actually releases higher fps support there may be an upgraded capture unit I can buy. 1080p60 capture would be awesome!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on December 17, 2013
The set up is the easiest thing in the world. The editing software is smooth and simple.

Pros:
- Great Quality
- Small in size
- Easy set up
- Comes with HDMI cable
- Can record last 5 minutes if you forgot to press record
- Can record commentary along with footage
- Can live stream

Cons:
- If you really are into editing videos, you will need your own editing software. The software that comes with this only has a few features. You can split clips, rename clips, screenshot clips, and that's basically it. You can't even make clips into a montage.
- The commentary is a great feature. But you can't edit your voice once it's recorded. So if you farted or sneeze and wanted to cut that out, it will be stuck there.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on May 17, 2015
Great product works beautifully
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on June 7, 2012
From Matrox Mini, to miscellaneous PVRs, to Roxio's (anemic SD) offering, the gadget landscape is littered with "not quite there" products for game capture. Let's get this out of the way: I SUCK AT GAMES-I am a n00b in perpetuity. Yet I play them obsessively. But as a video editor by trade, I have been interested for a while in dipping my hand in Machinima. The Elgato unit is just what the doctor ordered! It is, pardon my French, pretty much "retard proof". The UI is super simple, clean and elegant. (I can't speak to the editor as I use Media Composer or Adobe Premiere to edit.) Not only can I use this baby for Xbox and PS3 captures, but for PC to PC captures. For folks playing GTA 4 (or Crysis) with GPU-heavy mods (like iceenhancer for GTA), here's a way to get your (near) photo-realistic Liberty City stories made! I have successfully tested the capture on 4 different Windows 7 machines: 2 laptops, 2 desktops. Yes, like all other game capture files, there is a bit of image softening, but nothing a simple sharpen filter can't fix. The image and audio pre-capture tweaks are a nice touch. And the longer mini-USB to USB cable is much appreciated. Even with the included short HDMI cable and the aforementioned USB cable, you can set your capture laptop on the sofa next to you while fragging a swath through Halo.
(For all those who offer up FRAPS as a cheap alternative for PC gaming capture, have you actually checked your frame rate while using it? On a 3+Ghz quad-core/Sandy Bridge rig with 24 gb RAM, my fps in games like GTA -even without iceenhancer mod- rarely stays at 30 or even gets to thirty. The same goes for Crysis, Dead Space, Deus Ex Human Revolution and a whole bunch of others.) The icing on the cake? IT'S BUS POWERED!!! No lugging around wall warts with this baby. All you also-rans trying to make these devices, surrender now. Game over. (I don't give out five stars easily.)
1010 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 1000+ answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.