Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine collection
What a great way to view the first half of her career all in one fell swoop. In National Velvet, of course, she plays young Velvet Brown, the most beautiful little girl ever born, with a love for her horse that knows no bounds. What a shame injury prevented her from playing in International Velvet for Bryan Forbes many years later, though Nanette Newman was very good in...
Published on April 20, 2005 by Kevin Killian

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Elizabeth Taylor Signature Collection
The tone is very bad on this otherwise good movie (Father of the Bride). The sound on VHS (tape) was much better. Hopefully the sound on the other movies will be of better quality.
Published on August 27, 2011 by 1Alexandra


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine collection, April 20, 2005
By 
Kevin Killian (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Elizabeth Taylor Signature Collection (National Velvet / Father of the Bride / Cat on a Hot Tin Roof / Butterfield 8) (DVD)
What a great way to view the first half of her career all in one fell swoop. In National Velvet, of course, she plays young Velvet Brown, the most beautiful little girl ever born, with a love for her horse that knows no bounds. What a shame injury prevented her from playing in International Velvet for Bryan Forbes many years later, though Nanette Newman was very good in the part as well. In FATHER OF THE BRIDE, Taylor is all of a sudden very grown up, and Vincente Minnelli really showcases her youthful beauty and high spirits and passionate nature. The movie is wonderful with details, and although it is really Spencer Tracy's story, both Taylor and her look-alike movie mom, Joan Bennett, have some great scenes and both look ravishing. Yes, Liz was all grown up but the movie doesn't really go to the place of sexuality in the same way that Richard Brooks' CAT ON A HIT TIN ROOF does. Taylor kind of wears that white slip, otherwise it looks like it's falling off of her, and Paul Newman seems suitably aroused, and yet the whole premise of the picture is that for some reason, and what could it be, he's just not up to having sex with her. It's a very funny movie despite its torrid plotline and the sterling performances of all concerned. While Taylor received the Oscar for BUTTERFIELD 8, the final movie of our quartet, she really should have been handed the statuette for her superior work in CAT. As Maggie she created an indelible image that ranks with her finest work (such as PLACE IN THE SUN and WHO'S AFRAID OF VIRGINIA WOOLF).

This DVD set is a good bargain and the films themselves have rarely looked better, though there is some flaking around the edges during early reels of BUTTERFIELD 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice fan for Lizzy, March 8, 2007
By 
Patrick Selitrenny (Switzerland a.k.a. Helvetia Felix) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Elizabeth Taylor Signature Collection (National Velvet / Father of the Bride / Cat on a Hot Tin Roof / Butterfield 8) (DVD)
Four excellent DVDs are contained in this box, This is Elizabeth Taylor's box, and although our fascination goes more to the boxed set of the Legendary Duo: Taylor/Burton, this nevertheless is a must buy too.

It covers almost thirty years of Liz Taylor's career, starting with "National Velvet" in 1944, followed by "Father of the Bride", the original version of 1950 which actually has Spencer Tracy starring in it, Elizabeth just having a secondary role there, cued by the mythical "Cat on a Hot Tin Roof" (1958) and ending with the melodrama "Butterfield 8", the only one in which Liz played opposite her own then husband: Eddie Fisher and co-starring Laurence Harvey in 1960.

The first two come in a full screen presentation (Cinemascope and Panavision widescreen presentations were only introduced in 1953). The other two come in their correct theatrical ratio.

There are no frills here, like specials, interviews or some other fluff, but the movies were decently transferred and the sound, although mono on all four, is fairly crisp and well polished.

Well worth its price if you asked me, and you did not...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of many wonderful collections, April 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Elizabeth Taylor Signature Collection (National Velvet / Father of the Bride / Cat on a Hot Tin Roof / Butterfield 8) (DVD)
I have always loved Elizabeth Taylor and the day I turned on my computer and seen movie collections going for sale, i grabbed some of my favorites. My formost favorite has to be Butterfield 8. Her acting in that movie was something I dont think a lot of people expected from her. If I could afford every one, I would have bought them that day! Of course there is still time. Not to mention the fact I must have received them in record time. Nicely wrapped, etc., in a matter of days. I sat down and had an Elizabeth Taylor day in fondness of her memory of one of the great actresses of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Taylor, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Elizabeth Taylor Signature Collection (National Velvet / Father of the Bride / Cat on a Hot Tin Roof / Butterfield 8) (DVD)
National Velvet alone is worth the price of the set. The young Taylor had a quality that the older taylor lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liz forever, December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Elizabeth Taylor Signature Collection (National Velvet / Father of the Bride / Cat on a Hot Tin Roof / Butterfield 8) (DVD)
It doesn't matter what the movie is all about. The inplortant thing is that the movie has Elizabeth Taylor as the main feature. And here, in this collection we have a number of wonderful examples of that memorable and great talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's Liz...What Else is There to Say?, November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Elizabeth Taylor Signature Collection (National Velvet / Father of the Bride / Cat on a Hot Tin Roof / Butterfield 8) (DVD)
Just ask my wife...she'll tell you: "It's Liz...What else is there to say?" It has her debut starring role: "National Velvet", the sweet, poignant (to any father of a daughter getting, or gotten, married)and still funny, classic: "Father of the Bride", and two great dramas. First, there's Tennessee Williams' "Cat on a Hot Tin Roof" with Paul Newman and Burl Ives; and lastly, but most especially, you get her Academy Award winning turn in "Butterfield 8". It's all good stuff for any classic films and/or Elizabeth Taylor fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!, January 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Elizabeth Taylor Signature Collection (National Velvet / Father of the Bride / Cat on a Hot Tin Roof / Butterfield 8) (DVD)
What can I say, I enjoyed the whole set. Elizebath Taylor has always been one of my favorited movie stars, so it goes to say, i enjoy all the movies she made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth Taylor Collection, January 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Elizabeth Taylor Signature Collection (National Velvet / Father of the Bride / Cat on a Hot Tin Roof / Butterfield 8) (DVD)
I am a fan from Liz's early work. I really love this package it was exactly what I was looking for when I order it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love elizabeth, March 4, 2010
This review is from: The Elizabeth Taylor Signature Collection (National Velvet / Father of the Bride / Cat on a Hot Tin Roof / Butterfield 8) (DVD)
my favorite movie in this is "butterfeild 8"
i think instead of "national velvet" this collection should have either had "suddenly last summer" or "a place in the sun"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Elizabeth Taylor Signature Collection, August 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Elizabeth Taylor Signature Collection (National Velvet / Father of the Bride / Cat on a Hot Tin Roof / Butterfield 8) (DVD)
The tone is very bad on this otherwise good movie (Father of the Bride). The sound on VHS (tape) was much better. Hopefully the sound on the other movies will be of better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.