Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Elizabeti's School (Elizabeti Series) School & Library Binding – July, 2002


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
School & Library Binding
"Please retry"
$7.99 $0.01

"Playtown: Airport" by Roger Priddy
Roger Priddy's passion for educating children through fun, informative books has led him to create some of the most enduring early learning books. See more
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

"Hop on Pop" by Dr. Seuss
This abridged version of the classic Beginner Book Hop on Pop introduces the youngest readers to the wonderful world of Seussian wordplay. See more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 5 and up
  • Grade Level: Kindergarten and up
  • Lexile Measure: 590L (What's this?)
  • Series: Elizabeti Series
  • School & Library Binding: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Lee & Low Books (July 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1584300434
  • ISBN-13: 978-1584300434
  • Product Dimensions: 0.5 x 9 x 10 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 13 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #294,487 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Fans of Elizabeti's Doll and Mama Elizabeti will welcome the third title in the series, Elizabeti's School by Stephanie Stuve-Bodeen, illus. by Christy Hale. Elizabeti looks forward to her first day of school but, once she arrives, she wonders what her family is doing at home.
Copyright 2002 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From School Library Journal

Kindergarten-Grade 2-Elizabeti is excited about her first day of school and her new clothes, but when faced with the noisy, busy schoolyard, she becomes reticent. A friend leads her into a game similar to jacks, and she is eager to try it. In the classroom, she has difficulty concentrating because of her homesickness. At recess, with the encouragement of an older girl, she enjoys dancing, and, back in the classroom, she easily masters the counting lesson. However, once she is home, she's convinced that she doesn't want to return to class. During the evening, Elizabeti so impresses her family with the knowledge and skills she's learned that she decides that although home is best, she will "-give school another try." This is the perfect story for sharing with young children, most of whom will understand the girl's bittersweet feelings. Her pride and sense of accomplishment in learning are a good lead-in for discussing the joy and purpose of school. As in the other stories about Elizabeti, her family life is rich in love and warmth, although it is apparent that the family is very poor. The predominantly watercolor and mixed-media illustrations help convey all the texture of family life in a Tanzanian village, just as they did in Elizabeti's Doll (1998) and Mama Elizabeti (2000, both Lee & Low).
Lynda Ritterman, Atco Elementary School, Waterford, NJ
Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information, Inc.

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
60%
4 star
40%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 5 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By Carol Sue on October 27, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book is educational in a number of ways. It shows the way an East African family lives. It deals with issues that transcend country and culture, of growing up and going to school for the first time. The illustrations are beautiful too--you can see the love in the eyes of the family members.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Ulyyf on July 28, 2008
Format: School & Library Binding
As you might guess, this book covers Elizabeti's first day at school.

She's nervous to show up, then she gets comfortable, then she goes home. Pretty standard fare, really, though I'm fascinated with the differences between her school and the ones in the US - and the similarities! It's true that people everywhere play jacks :)

One thing, though. After Elizabeti shows off the new things she's learned to her parents, it mentions that she'll "give school another chance". This is a reasonable sentiment, especially for this subject - but there was no mention of her being homesick after the start of class, nor any mention on the way home of her doubting how much she'd enjoyed her time in school that day. It just comes out of the blue. This could have (should have) been written more clearly.

Incidentally, for those interested in the subject, this book does show Elizabeti's mother wearing her baby sister, Flora.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Amazon Customer on May 20, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book has a nice story line and the pictures are very pretty! my son like to read it. I found it in the top 30 book your child must read!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Cathy on September 22, 2013
Format: School & Library Binding Verified Purchase
Such good values expressed. such a true story for the feelings that any young person anywhere in the world might have.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Anna Marie on April 18, 2009
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
My daughter and I really enjoy the Elizabeti books. The story is simple but real, and can be enjoyed by various ages.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?