Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon July 12, 2009
"Elsewhere" focuses on long-time best friends Sarah (Anna Kendrick) and Jillian (Tania Raymonde). Though both grew up in the same small Indiana town, the two girls are total opposites. Sarah is a topnotch student and athlete, while Jillian is an underachieving troublemaker. Both girls want desperately to break free from boring small-town life, but Sarah is shocked to discover that Jillian has started meeting anonymous men through the Internet in order to find someone who will show her some excitement. Soon after this revelation, Jillian disappears, leaving behind only her journal and a video message sent from her cell phone. Determined to find her friend, Sarah enlists the aid of Jasper (Jon Gries), resident computer genius, who secretly has a crush on her. Their search, however, leads them to discover why no one wants Jillian found.
"Elsewhere" has elements of assorted thrillers in which innocents get involved in circumstances way above their heads. As the film progresses, suspense heightens and there are a few good scare moments. Ms. Kendrick does a competent job. You believe her as bright, level-headed, and thoughtful, and she does convey that all-important thriller movie ingredient -- escalating fear. Bonus features include deleted scenes, photo gallery, director and producer audio commentary, and a making-of featurette.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 24, 2016
Welcome to the dark world of cyber stalkers. Sarah (Anna Kendrick) is what you would call a good girl. Her friend, Jillian (Tania Raymonde) is what you would call a bad girl. Sarah THINKS she wants to be a bad girl like Jillian, but finds that it doesn't hold the appeal for her as it does for Jillian. Thankfully, Sarah runs into a "normal" every day good guy named Jasper (Chuck Carter) whom she finds far more endearing than the bad boy types who would be apt to hang out with Jillian.

One day, Jillian disappears. Sadly, nobody other than Sarah seems to care. Weird things start to happen when she searches for Jillian (I'll not say anything more than that). The fact that Jillian has hundreds of "cyber buddies" is a clue, but a vague one. Thankfully, her buddy Jasper is there to help Sarah through the travail of trying to figure out what happened to her friend.

In 2 words, Anna Kendrick is elegance personified. Her performance is nothing short of captivating & if you're anything like me you'll find yourself wanting to "dive into the movie" to rescue her character. This is a far cry from horror movies where you're typically inclined to look upon the characters as nothing more than ax murderer-bait.

All in all, this is a good movie that focuses on a very serious issue: children & teens who go missing. We always hear about high profile cases, but not so much about children who don't come from well-to-do or affluent families. Jillian always wanted to get out of the small town in Indiana where she grew up. Sadly, she finds that the big wide world is far more malevolent than she imagined it to be. U2 fans will be inclined to recall to mind the song from THE JOSHUA TREE called MOTHERS OF THE DISAPPEARED.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2009
Teens seeking suspense and many an adult viewer looking for something different will find the movie ELSEWHERE an avid show. Sarah and Jillian have been long-time best friends although very different. Sarah is shocked to find her friend has started meeting anonymous men over the internet in search of excitement - and when Jillian vanishes, she and her friend search for their missing friend and the reason why nobody in town seems to want her found. Deleted scenes, audio commentary with the film's director and producer, and a featurette enhance a gripping saga highly recommended for teen to adult viewers.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
I love the actress Anna Kendrick, she so hot and sexy!!! She is in the movie most of the time, and I don't think she wasn't ever in a scene. lol So, if you really like her, as much as I do, you want to watch this. She'll bring her funny charm with her.

All right, what is this movie about? Well, it's about a girl, Janet, who went missing 5 years ago. And, the town never really cared it, and didn't really do or look for her. Then, later, we find that many girls went missing over the years too. Now comes Sara (Anna Kendrick) and her best friend Jillian. Jillian is one of the slutty girls that comes from a poor negligent family. Sara is one of those nice, over achiever girls that comes from a wealthy family. They both work at the same store and goes to the same school and are best friends.

Now one day, Jillian goes missing. And Sara, is the only person in the whole town that seems to care about it. She wants to find out what happened to her best friend. After some time, Sara thinks Jillian is in super trouble, because she got this weird video message and then this weird text from Jillian's phone.

Now, Sara has a friend name Jasper, and he really likes her. She needs his help because she can't do it alone. Jasper doesn't really want to help her, but does it anyways because he likes her so much. ( I think he should had man up and asks Sara for things too, if you get my drift. Wink wink.) Jasper comes in handle because he works at the school's library, and he allows Sara to use the computers there with open access because he knows the password. Sara can't use her computer at the house because her comp has tracking software on it and doesn't want her mom knowing what she has been doing.

So with Jasper help, Sara knows that Jillian uses this a unknown profile on myspace site and that Jillian uses to meet dudes. Sara log onto try Jillian's account and starts to find out information. She has to search through a sea of over 1000s of dudes, and it could be anyone. She needs to find out who is the kidnapper, or who knows anything about Jillian's where abouts.

Eventually, Sara does finds the kidnapper, but it may be too late as the kidnapper already knows who Sara is too. In fact, the kidnapper already knew what she was trying to do, while she was researching him all along. I will stop at this. If I keep on writing I will give away everything about the movie.

Now, if you want to know what I thought about the movie with spoilers, keep on reading!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spolier section below:

I thought the movie was actually pretty good. It was better than I expected for sure. I thought it would just be one of those B movie that made no sense, and it had Anna Kendrick in it. I actually liked it though. I only didn't like some things that the movie didn't explain well. Why was Sara was getting strange dreams about that missing girl? How would it later be related to Jillian going missing too? Was Sara some how getting future visions? So, Sara has powers? Later on, I don't know why they didn't tell us what happened to the missing girls. We know they were dead, but what happened to them? Where were their bodies? Then, the movie just ends. I hate not knowing what happened. It made the movie feel so quick and bad with their quick ending and no details.

Like I said before, only watch this, if you really like Anna Kendrick!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2015
This movie was pretty f*ed up.. Definitely had my mind thinking 20 different things at once, and it's not very predictable until towards the end. I actually liked it! I bought it because of Anna Kendrick and then saw a few other good actors were also in it. There's a lot of foul language and teenage stuff, so I don't think it's meant for anyone not in their teens or early 20's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2014
I brought this movie because I'm a fan of Anna Kendrick but don't waste your money. I've watched it twice and I still don't understand what's happened, it started out slow and it really had no purpose. This was one of her first movies, so I understand why it was crap.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2014
Got it to see Kendrick in her first lead role. Don't know why this isn't more well known. Sure it's an indie film, but it is really well done, and has box-office draw actors in it... at least now they are. Love that the tiny 5'2" Kendrick is paired up with her 6'4" co-star guy. Adorable. And Kendrick doesn't give a bad line... doesn't feel like she's acting. Well done. And DaBitch and her mom really play their roles well... the mom really looks like she lives in a trailer park. The creepy Tod daughter is perfect as mousy Mole Girl, who then shows the darkness inside her... believably.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Don't get me wrong, I actually liked this movie though it brought nothing new to the table. The weakness of this movie lies in its resorting to the usual cliches inherent in the genre, but it's strength lies in the credible acting and the well-paced plot.

The story centers on Sarah [Anna Kendrick who played a bit role in Twilight as Bella's classmate], an average teen who works part-time in a diner. Her best friend Jillian [Tania Raymonde from Lost] is a sort of wild teen vamp who comes from a white trash background. Jillian is addicted to meeting men online with a provocative moniker "Dirtygurrl". When Jillian goes missing, Sarah tries to convince the local sleazy cop that something is wrong, all to no avail. No one seems to care about a girl that has been courting trouble for a long time, and it is left to Sarah, and her computer geek friend Jasper to figure out what really happened. Along the way, they have to deal with some teen bullies, a rather mysterious father-daughter pair, and a woman who has been tagged the town loony [her daughter disappeared years ago but she still puts up posters of the missing girl all around town], and of course exploring the world of online dating.

Compared to some rather lackluster teen offerings lately such as "Sarah Landon and the Paranormal Hour" and "The Haunting of Molly Hartley", this is actually a pretty decent thriller with credible acting by the leads. The one thing I didn't care for were the cliches peppered throughout the movie [such as some scenes that reminded me of earlier teen classics like "Scream" etc], and some incongruencies [finding the weeks' long missing teen's cellphone still charged???], but other than that, I would rate this movie an entertaining flick for it's genre. It had some genuine moments of suspense that had me cringing in parts. There is no nudity or gore here.

The DVD comes with extras such as movie trailer [I think this was a direct-to-DVD release], 22 mins of deleted scenes, a making-of feature, a photo gallery, and a director's commentary.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2013
I really makes me want to spit when I see a promising idea go down in flames because the writer has the galloping dumbs.

Here's the scoop. Sarah (Anna Kendrick) and her friend Jillian (Tania Raymonde) work in a sundry shop in Goshen Indiana. Sarah is straight-laced with a lawyer mom in a nice house. Jillian is a wild one with white trash mom who's on welfare and hawks herbal product via phone. Jillian starts looking for dates on-line and one day goes missing. Sarah is more worried about the disappearance than is Jillian's mom and enlists the help of a local brainiac to try and find her.

There are way too many lapses in logic here, and some of these lapses failed in movies they were in in earlier years. They didn't work then and they don't work now. If I'm in a small room with someone trying to hide behind a half-closed door four feet away, I will sense them or see them at some level. And if someone is trying to break through a door to get me with a Godzilla sized knife I'm not going to sit there wondering if this is going to happen. I'm heading for a safe place. There were some cheap jump scares other goofiness abounding.

This was made as Anna Kendrick was hitting the big time. She's about the best thing going here. But most of the other actors were on par with the material. The direction and music score were good enough. This just failed at too many points in the script.

This is watchable. Just try not to make your scalp bleed as you're scratching your head trying to wade through the dumbness.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 25, 2010
This movie was better than I expected, but only because it preyed on my fears of what teenagers really do when their parents aren't around! All of the teens in the film fit a specific cliche: earnest, hardworking, responsible Sarah (Anna Kendrick); class slut and wild child Jillian (Tania Raymonde); nerdy, earnest and cute Jasper (Chuck Carter); jerky jock Billy (Paul Wesley); timid, devout Darla (Olivia Dawn York); and every other archetype found in high school movies. While no one is a standout, the teen cast was able to fill their roles convincingly. The music in the movie is geared towards a teen crowd, but I really liked the song choices (mostly rock and punk). The last track played during the closing credits was very well chosen/written and kind of summed up the whole film in a song.

The creepiest thing about this movie is the fact that the plot is actually really believable. Teenage girls have been going missing in a small town for years, but no one is looking for them. All of the girls were poor and went a little crazy with alcohol, boys, drugs or any combination of wild behavior. Only the town drunk and crazy woman (who is the mother of one of the missing girls, but didn't notice her daughter was missing for 3 years because she was too drunk) even notices a pattern emerging. When Jillian goes missing, Sarah makes it her mission to find out what happened to her. When Jasper asks Sarah why she keeps looking, Sarah's response is pretty chilling. She says that if most of us went missing, our parents would be looking for us, our siblings would be looking, the police would be looking and more. But Sarah is the only one looking for Jillian. Jillian is one of those girls who falls through the cracks. Everyone assumes that she finally got tired of living in a small town and ran away from home. The police won't start a search without a parent requesting it, and Jillian's mom is too drugged up and messed up to even make the trip to town. Sadly, this is true in our society today. There are a lot of young girls and boys who go missing and are never really looked for or no one even notices that they are gone. This is what gave the story its chill factor for me.

So the plot is pretty believable and the details are pretty scary. Sarah's mom is involved in a big case at work and really doesn't know anything about her daughter's life. Jillian's mom doesn't care about her daughter so long as she brings home the money she earns working part time at the cafe. These girls are learning about boys, having sex, drinking at parties, and Jillian has a web page where she is known as "dirty girl" with explicit photos to match. It is really sad to see that no one cares about her and that she is allowed to run wild and do things that she probably would have regretted if she had the chance to grow old. The policeman that Sarah has interactions with is corrupt and threatens Sarah both physically and verbally if Sarah doesn't stop investigating Jillian's disappearance. The whole town doesn't even really notice and or care that Jillian is gone.

The only down side to the story is that it was pretty easy to figure out who was kidnapping and killing the girls. Since Sarah did not have any police support, though, she had to connect the dots for herself and find the proof to go along with it, which took her a while. The last 10 minutes or so were pretty creepy and intense as Sarah and Jasper confront the killer. This is a decent thriller, nothing special or noteworthy, but a good movie to watch around Halloween time or just on a night when you feel like scaring yourself a bit.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.