Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Performance
I was there the night of March 25th 2007 and what an evening it was. I know that's cliche but of the 9 times I have seen him, this was the absolute best show I have seen yet. Not only did he play for 3 1/2 hours, but he rocked it out like only the greatest of all time can. To hear his voice now performing 60 Years On to open his 60th birthday was beautiful, and that was...
Published on September 8, 2007 by Weezy

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FIVE STAR concert, ONE STAR package
I owned the DVD package of this originally, knowing someday I'd upgrade to Blu-Ray. Well my musician neighbor and pal had a birthday the other day and I offered him my DVD. Showed him all the amazing cool archival extras. Then I went home and upgraded to Blu-Ray --

-- and LOST ALL THOSE AMAZING COOL ARCHIVAL EXTRAS. Note how Amazon slyly doesn't offer a...
Published on December 30, 2010 by NotTheOnlyFan


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Performance, September 8, 2007
I was there the night of March 25th 2007 and what an evening it was. I know that's cliche but of the 9 times I have seen him, this was the absolute best show I have seen yet. Not only did he play for 3 1/2 hours, but he rocked it out like only the greatest of all time can. To hear his voice now performing 60 Years On to open his 60th birthday was beautiful, and that was just the first of 33 songs! He played for the die hard fans Where to Now St Peter, Ballad of a Well Known Gun, All the Young Girls Love Alice, and many others we haven't heard live in well over 20 years at least. If you're an Elton fan, you most defiantely have to get this. You'll fall in love all over again. If you are just a casual Elton listener, this will make you really understand how wonderful he truly is, and hopefully get you to dig deeper into the archive that is Reg Dwight's music. I will never forget that night forever. It was simply amazing and now everyone will get to experience just how magical the evening was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here Is the Track List, January 20, 2010
By 
Benjamin (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Elton John: Elton 60 - Live At Madison Square Garden [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is an absolutely amazing performance by the Legend Elton John. This Blu-ray disc looks unbelievable and the sound could not be better. I am providing the track list of this movie, since Amazon does not have it. This Blu-ray disc contains the COMPLETE show, which is 33 songs total. Thanks for reading and enjoy!
1 Sixty Years On
2 Madman Across the Water
3 Where to Now St. Peter?
4 Hercules
5 Ballad of a Well-Known Gun
6 Take Me to the Pilot
7 High Flying Bird
8 Holiday Inn
9 Burn Down the Mission
10 Better Off Dead
11 Levon
12 Empty Garden (Hey Hey Johnny)
13 Daniel
14 Honky Cat
15 Rocket Man
16 I Guess That's Why They Call It the Blues
17 The Bridge
18 Roy Rogers
19 Mona Lisa and Mad Hatters
20 Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word
21 Bennie and the Jets
22 All the Girls Love Alice
23 Tiny Dancer
24 Something About the Way You Look Tonight
25 Philadelphia Freedom
26 Sad Songs (Say So Much)
27 Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me
28 I'm Still Dancing
29 The Bitch Is Back
30 Crocodile Rock
31 Saturday Night's Alright for Fighting
32 Funeral for a Friend/Love Lies Bleeding
33 Your Song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elton's Best Madison Square Garden Concert, February 18, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Elton may sound a bit more ragged as a singer these days, but this excellent DVD demonstrates why he and his partner, lyricist Bernie Taupin, must be regarded as one of the great songwriting duos in popular music. This commemorative DVD celebrates not only his 60th birthday, but also his 60th live concert at one of his favorite venues, New York City's Madison Square Garden. Drawing primarily from his early 1970s catalog, Elton and his current band - which includes long-time band mates guitarist Davey Johnstone and drummer Nigel Olsson - gave the audience a truly memorable show, which also featured cellist Martin Tillman and a New York City youth chorus. Among the highlights include memorable performances of such early Elton John classics as "Where to Now Saint Peter?", "Hercules" and "High Flying Bird", as well as more recent hits such as "Empty Garden" - his memorable tribute to John Lennon - "Sad Songs (Say So Much)", "Something About The Way You Look Tonight", and last, but not least, "The Bridge", from his latest album, "The Captain and The Kid". The bonus DVD includes live performances spanning four decades, including many with his original band, featuring the late Dee Murray on bass, along with Davey Johnstone and Nigel Olsson. Without a doubt, this is an absolute must for fellow diehard Elton John fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Bargain, October 3, 2007
When you throw in all of the bonus features, this totals about 4 hours worth of live performances. 90% Elton's hits are here in some form, many of them more than once. It also comes with a small booklet that contains about 20 pages of killer photos. In this day and age of aging rock stars cashing in on cheaply made and poorly executed "products", this one is a goldmine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the Elton John DVD worth owning! A Landmark., November 4, 2007
Past DVD releases from EJ have been frustratingly poor quality, and there wasn't much to choose from at that. The 4-disc box set included a decent performance in the youth choir set, but that exception, we've been handed terrible audio quality, incomplete setlists, etc.

This DVD makes up for all of that, and finally delivers the EJ concert that new and old fans can appreciate as the best of him in this phase of his career. It's every bit as landmark as his classic performance with the Sydney symphony twenty years ago.

As a longtime fan, the inclusion of less commercial hits such as High Flying Bird, Where To Now St. Peter, Ballad of a Well Known Gun, and a few others, is something special, especially since some of these have not been performed with the current band before, but the interpretations and performances are excellent.

The sheer number of songs performed (3 1/2 hours!) in the concert is remarkable. The hits are (mostly) all included-- Goodbye Yellow Brick Road and Candle In The Wind are the two that come to mind as as most likely to be missed by casual fans.

Elton's piano playing and the band fills are not the same old bits you might have heard if you attended any one of his concerts in the last ten years or so-- they have really made an effort to make this performance unique, and reasserted the band's and EJ's cohesiveness in the process. It's what you would expect from them at this stage in their evolution with no sense of jadedness. Amazing given the almost insane number of performances they have been churning out in recent years!

I am always amazed at the number of little interpretations within the details of some of the most repeated favorites. Elton's constant re-working and tweaking of the Rocket Man solo, for example, and if you've heard Your Song a thousand times live, I think you might hear it performed just a little bit different almost every time, including this concert's send-off finale. All of this makes the whole show compelling even for fans who have seen live him dozens of times before.

There are also some fantastic extras included. In all, over 5 hours of quality music and performances!

So, if you have been disappointed in prior DVD releases from EJ, or if you are fan looking for something new from him, this DVD is a sure favorite. It is easily the most definitive and entertaining release of any kind from him since his life and career were reformed in the early 1990's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sixty Years On!, May 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Elton John has produced a dozen or so concert DVD's, but this is the ultimate in entertainment. Recorded on his 60th birthday at his 60th performance at Madison Square Garden, this DVD excels in pure entertainment satisfaction. Over two DVD's you witness thirty-three classic songs from over the last five decades including such little performed gems like, "Hercules" and "Roy Rogers". The standards like, "Crocodile Rock" and "Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding" are also lent out in slightly new versions that more than please.

Unlike the Madison Square Garden show he previously released with shots of fans over-riding the stage show; this one showcases those people as well as dozens of famous political, musical and acting celebrities. Robin Williams and Whoopie Goldberg bring on a fantastic, "Happy Birthday" and Bernie Taupin, who never appears on stage, gives a heart-felt salute to Elton on his birthday. It's all amazingly good fun and very emotional.

The light show is fantastic and the sound is pin-point perfect with a large young choir singing backstage that enhances the performance like no other Elton John has given. It truly feels like the celebration in New York City that night was something very special.

That's not all. This double disc set also includes eighteen "live, rare & unseen" performances from over the years that are a stunning reminder of what a fantastic musician Elton John is. On top of that, there is a section called, "Elton's New York Stories" that includes four personal emotional song videos of Elton that just pack more of a whollop you would not expect.

The sound quality (DVD, dts, 5.1) is superb enough to hear audience members actually talking and the band never sounded more crisp. Add to that an extensive booklet of liner notes and you have a keeper of a Birthday celebration. Elton John - you are a spectacle of a celebration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS THE ONE!!, October 13, 2007
By 
D. MCGUE (Mililani, Hawaii) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Elton John. The DVDs I own are: "Rocket Man Number Ones", "One Night Only -- The Great Hits" and to "To Russia with Elton". Without question, this is BY FAR his best DVD. I cannot recommend it more strongly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERY night is allright for Rockin!!!, October 2, 2007
What an incredible package...
the concert celebrating his 60th ...birthday and MSG show...are great and filmed well performed well...just a thrilling collection of all time greatest hits and lesser played but still great songs!
the bonus stuff (vintage filmed performances through the years and with many early tv appearances) is a treasure trove for fans that frankly would be worth this price on their own!
and a nice fat booklet with a bunch of great pix...this is NOT a cheap money grab like so many DVDs...this is CLASS!
FABULOUS
I had almost forgot why I loved Elton as a high schooler in the 70's...he was our Beatles in that respect..
happy Birthday Elton..
Keep Rockin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FIVE STAR concert, ONE STAR package, December 30, 2010
By 
NotTheOnlyFan (Lost Without Complete O&A) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elton John: Elton 60 - Live At Madison Square Garden [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I owned the DVD package of this originally, knowing someday I'd upgrade to Blu-Ray. Well my musician neighbor and pal had a birthday the other day and I offered him my DVD. Showed him all the amazing cool archival extras. Then I went home and upgraded to Blu-Ray --

-- and LOST ALL THOSE AMAZING COOL ARCHIVAL EXTRAS. Note how Amazon slyly doesn't offer a track listing of the Blu-Ray but only on the DVD. Sure, you gain about 7 or so songs from the concert but you lose ALL THE AMAZINGLY COOL ARCHIVAL EXTRAS.

This is just awful. I thought the 'big deal' of Blu-Ray is that the capacity was ginormous. Okay, fine, and so WHERE THE HELL ARE THE EXTRAS? Now I have to buy the DVD AGAIN? Cheese Louise...

For those wondering if the Blu-Ray is worth keeping, yes, the quality is noticeably sharper. Razor sharp. Although there is a curious concert wide blur over Elton when they show him from the cheap seats. And the added tracks to the concert are an added treat.

But believe you me: I'm PISSED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Performance for the Ages, December 3, 2007
By 
Steven M. Gledhill (Oswego, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This performance was indeed classic Elton John. The concert is some three hours long. EJ tells the audience, "We're going to be here a long time. We had to throw out 20 songs." Considering songs like "All the Young Girls Love Alice", "Roy Rogers", "Hercules", "Holiday Inn", "Better Off Dead", and other deep album cuts made the set list, it leads me to wonder which songs got cut from the list? If the songs that were cut were his hits since the 90s then that's fine with me. But I certainly would have enjoyed more from "Goodbye Yellowbrick Road" and "Captain Fantastic".

It is an amazing performance with extended versions of most of his great songs. "Mad Man Across the Water" has some jazz-like piano from EJ, as does "Benny and the Jets" and "Rocket Man". "Rocket Man" is over 13 minutes long as EJ and Davey Johnstone get bluesy with a piano-guitar thing. My personal favorites from Yellowbrick Road, "Saturday Night's Alright..." and "Funeral for a Friend/Love Lies Bleeding" are the icing on the cake.

A reviewer or two have complained about the Brooklyn Youth Chorus kids. I thought they were fantastic. These kids ranging in age from maybe 10 years old through high school age could sing. There are dozens of them, and they are stationed above and behind the band. I found it kind of awkward that young kids are belting out "better off dead...better off dead" and "bitch...bitch". But it was cool that these kids were told to relax and have a great time out there as they were very lively and spontaneous, rockin' and groovin' to tunes decades older than they are.

The visual was fantastic and the audio almost top knotch. EJ's piano was recorded better than any other live performance, but once yet again Johnstone's guitar is considered a back ground instrument, for the most part. During the extended jam in "Rocket Man" he's echoing EJ's piano chops on acoustic but you barely hear it (When he went in electric he was more audible). His solos in "Love Lies Bleeding" are barely audible---aggrevating. When I saw this band around '80 or '81, I remember that Davey Johnstone's guitar was big time for 3 hours. You heard every note, if memory serves. They were a rock band that night, starting with his chops on "Funeral/Love Lies Bleeding" to open that show. Only the "Barcelona" DVD is Johnstone a bit livelier in the mix. My other miner complaint is the bottom end in the audio is lacking. You hear bass but you don't really feel it. The kick drum should be thumping me in the chest, and it's just there. Otherwise, like I said, EJ's vocals and piano has never been recorded better. Solid full audio mix with the kids as well.

Cameramen, throughout the event, located several celebrities in the audience, such as Michael Caine, Ozzy and Sharon Osbourne, Bill Clinton (minus Hillary---if he had a date, you couldn't see her), Elizabeth Hurley, and Anne Hathaway.

The concert is split over 2 discs, and the old live footage is split over the same 2 discs, which is odd. I know I have several complaints for a 5-star review. It's still a great buy, and a lot of product for the money. It must have been a phenominal night, and I heartily recommend the purchase of this show, even if you already own "One Night" from MSG. This is a superior performance over that one. There are no musical guests on Elton 60 to ruin the classics---a very good thing. What a treat this was to experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Elton John: Elton 60 - Live At Madison Square Garden [Blu-ray]
$24.95 $17.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.