Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Elusive Fan: Reinventing Sports in a Crowded Marketplace
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars15
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$18.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 17, 2016
Revolutionary. The ideas in this book transform how sports marketing is done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2015
this was a gift for someone else. im guessing they liked it since they were excited to receive it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
;-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2014
great information and history of sports
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2014
Use this book in my Sports Marketing Class - works out great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 28, 2014
Rein and his associates start out from the premise that the sports world is changing for a multitude of reasons including: increased competition for the fans attention and money, the decreasing social aspects of going to the ballgame, and technology that means fans don't have to physically go to the game to watch it, along with the increasingly individualized nature of sports itself presents a major challenge to those who make a living off of live game attendance.

I really enjoyed the section discussing the history of sports-fan relationships from the Monopoly generation through the Highlight Generation because it really puts the later discussions of rebranding strategies into proper context. The levels of fan involvement and explanations of how fans make decisions is perhaps the most useful thing for sports management types because I've been to a number of venues where teams just don't get that aspect. It is not Field of Dreams "You may build it, but we don't have to come."

Then came the scenarios at the start of each chapter, which nearly derailed several of the earlier chapters. I felt like they really undercut the authors general ideas about fan decision-making and the entire idea of reaching out to the Elusive Fan. What fan in this economy has $2000 dollars to jet across the Atlantic for soccer matches? That might be the type of fan you want as a sports manager, but he would be a far easier get then the average fan. The average fan will be lucky to afford the cheapest seats at a minor league baseball or hockey game. Often watching on television or online is a necessity for the average fan. Rich people will not be the savior of sports. Just ask the many teams and leagues that have folded.

Rein et al. redeem themselves in later chapters by producing a logical common sense approach to rebranding whatever the sports product is. I also enjoyed this part of the book because it does not require a fancy degree in marketing or sports management to comprehend. While I believe that the general premise the authors lay out in the book is correct about the changing nature of the sports world and the challenges, one will need to sort through the mystifying scenarios of the first few chapters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2014
Ill give it 3 stars because the authors put in some effort, but not much here you couldn't learn by reading the trades. No real insight. Linking your brand to your marketing effort? Brilliant! .... It reads like some college course on sports marketing ....Just alot of" tired , recycled sports cliches applied to business from the 90's...if your desperate for information then by all means buy it. If your looking for real insight your probably not gonna find it here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
This is a good solid book about sports marketing (also applicable, as other reviewers have noted, to entertainment marketing). A couple of the hypotheticals presented are a little hokey, but that's not unusual. On the (mildly) down side, I don't like the Kindle reader on my laptop as well as I do the Nook reader (the latter is considerably easier to navigate and more "book-like"). Cloud Reader is a useful feature, but I prefer Nook's user interface.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
The Elusive Fan is more than just another book on sports marketing. It emphasizes the importance of the connection between the brand and its different levels of fans, which is often overlooked in sports marketing textbooks. In addition, it reads very smoothly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
Great book to read if you want to understand "branding" the fan and your sport product. Book was in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse