Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still scaring up laughs.
After a long (13 years) absence since her first motion picture (1988's Elvira, Mistress of the Dark) the wise cracking horror hostess is back. Now it's the mid 19th Century, the setting Transylvania, the star none other than Elvira. While en route to Paris, to star in "Yes, I Can Can," Elvira and her robust French maid Zou Zou find themselves in creepy mysterious castle...
Published on August 26, 2002 by Patterson Lundquist

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Diva Of Deadpan Double Entendres: An Essential Upgrade For Fans, More Iffy For Others
If you don't know who Elvira (actress Cassandra Peterson) is, I'd certainly recommend that you find out before investing in this DVD reissue. Elvira fans will undoubtedly proclaim "Elvira's Haunted Hills" as a masterpiece of comic horror. Some less enthusiastic for the Mistress of the Dark shtick, however, might dismiss the movie as utter nonsense. In truth, the movie...
Published on September 29, 2011 by K. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still scaring up laughs., August 26, 2002
This review is from: Elvira's Haunted Hills (DVD)
After a long (13 years) absence since her first motion picture (1988's Elvira, Mistress of the Dark) the wise cracking horror hostess is back. Now it's the mid 19th Century, the setting Transylvania, the star none other than Elvira. While en route to Paris, to star in "Yes, I Can Can," Elvira and her robust French maid Zou Zou find themselves in creepy mysterious castle Helsebus.
A foolish choice to hitch a ride on a stage coach lands them in Weird Central, where the family is cursed, the Master of the House (played by Rocky Horror's Richard O'Brien) is a lunatic, and Elvira apparently bears a striking (like a frying pan across the head) resemblance to the House's late lady, Elura who was said to have committed suicide exactly ten years to the day. However one is lead to believe foul play was involved, that one happens to be Elvira.
Can Elvira survive this creepy castle and its inhabitants for two full days and nights? Will she escape and make it to Paris? Or will she suffer the same fate of Elura Helsebus?
---
This movie pays fiendishly fun homage to the old Corman/Poe, Vincent Price flicks of the 1950's. Complete with dramatic sets, secret passages, curses, wall entombment and even a pit complete with full swinging (and actually dangerous just ask Elvira) pendulum.
While Elvira fans will find this gothic romp a hilarious hay ride, non Elvira fans are sure to find something to enjoy. Besides Elvira's gravity defying pair this movie actually proves to hold up against today's market of CGI laden movies, with Hollywood big names and multi million dollar budgets.
All said and done, Elvira's Haunted Hills are definitely worth surveying. Mr. Price would be proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Diva Of Deadpan Double Entendres: An Essential Upgrade For Fans, More Iffy For Others, September 29, 2011
This review is from: Elvira's Haunted Hills (DVD)
If you don't know who Elvira (actress Cassandra Peterson) is, I'd certainly recommend that you find out before investing in this DVD reissue. Elvira fans will undoubtedly proclaim "Elvira's Haunted Hills" as a masterpiece of comic horror. Some less enthusiastic for the Mistress of the Dark shtick, however, might dismiss the movie as utter nonsense. In truth, the movie successfully serves up the Elvira brand of deadpan humor, double entendres, and mild sexual silliness all by spoofing the haunted house films of yesteryear. This is a cheesy homage to the exact type of movie that Elvira presented as a television horror hostess--and the tale fits her character persona comfortably. It won't necessarily be embraced by everyone--but its fans will be vocal and fervent. Already available on DVD, "Elvira's Haunted Hills" is getting a major upgrade for its ten year anniversary. And if you love the movie, you won't want to miss this one!

Elvira plays a buxom ingenue named Elvira (what else?) traveling through the Carpathian Mountains of Romania with her faithful maid (Mary Jo Smith). It's a treacherous journey, to be sure, but she must make it to Paris to captivate society with her dubious singing ability. After a bit of slapstick mayhem, she hitches a ride with a dashing doctor who takes her for a stay in a nearby castle. Bad mistake! The estate is inhabited by a deranged Lord (Richard O'Brien of Rocky Horror fame), his second wife, a plucky niece, and a hunky handyman. Elvira is the spitting image of the Lord's first wife. And as the circumstances of her death seem shrouded in mystery, Elvira's brassy presence is a bit off-putting to everyone involved. Of course, aficionados of this type of film will delight in the expected plot rendered through a new vision of silliness. It all comes to a boiling point in a riveting finale that takes place is a delightfully artificial dungeon. Will Elvira survive? It's anyone's guess.

The movie itself is a solid spoof. I wasn't falling out of my chair laughing or anything, but it is Elvira doing what she does best. The cast throws themselves into the wackiness with abandon. It's always good to see O'Brien, Mary Scheer is a hoot as wife number two, and Smith gets a lot of the best bits as the hapless but lippy maidservant. Those with the original DVD, this also includes the making-of featurette and O'Brien interview there. New and included also, though, is a delightful commentary track from the principle performers, a more revealing featurette, a few outtakes, and a photo gallery. Oh, and the movie looks great too. I'm a fan of Elvira but she has a nostalgic appeal for me that might be missing for modern audiences. This movie is a bit of a throw-back as well. If you aren't a fan of classic Hollywood horror, much of the astute parody will be lost. A cautious recommendation, therefore. You'll enjoy the film if you know what to expect. KGHarris, 9/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ITS WORTH BEING HAUNTED BY ELVIRA HILLS ONCE AGAIN !!!!!, October 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elvira's Haunted Hills (DVD)
The ten year anniversary edition of ELVIRA'S HAUNTED HILLS is an absolute must for fans - and many others too for that matter! Besides the gorgeous new print of this amazing camp parody there is a myriad of reasons why you'd want to own the new enhanced edition; mainly for the entirely new revealing and interesting featurettes that provide some awesome behind the scenes making of gossip behind Elvira's second feature film.

ELVIRA'S HAUNTED HILLS was made in Transylvania on a cobweb of a budget of a $1 million dollars in 1999 (or was it 2000?), as compared to the big studio ELVIRA MISTRESS OF THE DARK which cost $14 million back in 1987. You wouldn't have known it as the films sets, look, and atmosphere that was captured often excels Elvira's first feature and more than matches the films it pays homage to in gothic grandure. What has unfortunitely been missed by the casual fan and audience member who are not familiar with the source material from which it is pulled from is how well ELVIRA'S HAUNTED HILLS pays a campy homage to the Vincent Price, Roger Corman, Edgar Allen Poe films of the 1960s. To have the Elvira character forever imprinted in the 1850's period composite of the story/themes is absolutely perfect - the brilliance of this idea and how well it was pulled together often tragically goes unreconized to most viewers.

With all the new special features we learn of the many details, drama, and delirium that enshrowded this crazy cauldron of comedy. While it was mostly exciting and fun for the cast and crew we learn it was most strenuous for its star Cassandra (Elvira) Peterson. This being an independant venture meant that she wore many hats (witches no doubt!), and her work load never stopped as she was the producer, financier, writer, casting agent, Star, and a little of everything else. She manages all this on too little sleep, a chronic respiratory condition, and a poor diet consisting of potatoes and cabbages - all the while pulling off this labor of love and still managing to look fabulous all the time. She was 48 or 49 when she shot this and her loveliness and classic humor are still in full swing here; even more than even her most famous (and 100% natural) assets. Despite the maddness of the experience "Cassandra & Crew" created a terrific picture and it is all the more worthwhile in its new special enhanced edition. Much is to be admired here and spending time with the cast and crew was most entertaining, funny and informative to this often under appreciated adventure. While ELVIRA'S HAUNTED HILL'S isn't as consistantly funny or as outrageous as its predecessor, this outing is still most wonderful and is a complete must for the fans - and then some - HAPPY HALLOWEEN EVERYONE !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taken in context, this is well-done, January 7, 2006
This review is from: Elvira's Haunted Hills (DVD)
When I first rented this over the weekend, I thought it was bad. I expected something more like Elvira's Mistress of the Dark movie, which is fabulous. However, as I started looking at the special features of this film, I realized what the film was trying to accomplish and the budget that they worked with and it was actually a very good film when looked at this way.

Haunted Hills is a parody of old Vincent Price/Roger Corman movies. If you are a fan of old-school horror, this film will make so much more sense for you. Because I had not seen these movies when watching the film I was ready to trash it even though I generally love Elvira!

My only qualm was the scenes with Elvira and the stable-hand, Adrian. They wanted to make a joke about dubbed movies (and coincidentally the actor did not speak a word of English) so he spoke all of his lines in his native Romanian tongue and while it was funny in the first scene they had together, I got frustrated with it by the end of the movie. I kept hoping he would suddenly start speaking in English though I was amused that they kept the bit going through the whole film (then I learned that there was a good reason for it!).

I think part of the difference between this film and the last one is that the first film probably had a higher budget. Some of the actors were working on no budget/low budget as a favor to Cassandra and the director. Having financial support can go a long way into the quality of a film.

That being said, this has got plenty of Elvrira and lots of boob jokes and boob shots. The performance by the actor playing Dr. Bradley Bradley was very good and I also enjoyed the actress playing Lady Hellsebus. I also liked the costumes, though there were different period styles combined together.

So, if you are looking for a very contemporary horror-esque comedy you are not going to get this movie. It's very cliche because it really is trying to be very cliche. Once you understand that, the movie will be so much more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another fun, funny and long overdue Elvira adventure!, October 3, 2002
By 
This review is from: Elvira's Haunted Hills (DVD)
Finally! After 14 years, Elvira's second feature film debuts. It's quite different from her first, but equally entertaining. Setting out to spoof some of her favorite horror films, Cassandra Peterson and her writing partner John Paragon fuse elements of the classic Roger Corman/Vincent Price/Edgar Allen Poe films The House of Usher, The Pit and the Pendulum and The Tomb of Ligea into a campy farce - perfect fodder for Elvira's unique talents.
Elvira recruited Rocky Horror's Richard O'Brien as her co-star, and he gives a great performance as Lord Hellsubus. Rounding out the cast are several members of L.A.'s Groundlings comedy troupe, Mary Scheer and Mary Jo Smith. Heather Hopper is terrific as Hellsubus's doomed sister, and Scott Atkinson does an amazing job as the two faced doctor with both an aristocratic and cockney British accent.
The sets are enormous and detailed. The cinematography is virtually flawless, and there are several very well done special effects (and Elvira comments on them in the film...). Of course, Elvira's campy quips and physical humor are the stars of the show. There's also a great running gag with the stableman's bad English dubbing. All in all, this is a long overdue and highly enjoyable adventure. Well worth checking out, especially if you enjoy Elvira's first film, or if you're a fan of the Roger Corman Poe films. You might also want to read the Elvira series of paperbacks(if you can find them...), also written by Cassandra Peterson and John Paragon...Elvira Transylvania 90210, Elvira Camp Vamp, and Elvira The Boy Who Cried Werewolf....they are a lot of fun too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tenth anniversary of the flick's release with a new transfer and plenty of extras, October 14, 2011
By 
DVD Verdict (Santa Monica, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvira's Haunted Hills (DVD)
Brett Cullum, DVD Verdict --This edition features a brand new mastered visual and audio transfer that look and sound amazing. Elvira's Haunted Hills excels in design and cinematography, so it is nice to see a clear and accurate representation of the picture at its strongest. Colors are a touch vibrant on purpose as if the feature were treated for technicolor. It looks great and fun. Sound design includes the original stereo as well as a full surround track for elaborate home systems. Amazing to think this film cost 1 million to make rather than the 14 million spent on her studio film, because it looks and sounds just about on par with the earlier work.

The extras are overflowing, just like the top of Elvira's best dresses. A commentary track kicks thing off and includes Elvira herself, director Sam Irvin, as well as some of the supporting actors including Mary Scheer, Mary Jo Smith, and Scott Atkinson. It's a great listen with plenty about the production and what they were paying homage to. The original trailer is included. There is a "tell-all" featurette with the cast and crew talking about the project, which looks like it was recorded recently. Elvira appears as Cassandra Peterson for this, and she spills the beans on how everything went down. Also included is a making-of featurette that further explores the origins of Elvira's Haunted Hills; this was recorded a few years ago, probably for the original DVD. Thankfully we get an on-set interview with Richard O'Brien proving he is just as crazy as you'd expect. There are outtakes, which mainly include Elvira forgetting her lines and cursing like a truck driver as a result. A photo gallery showcases the publicity shots. Also gathered together are a whole collection of sneak previews of the first season of the revival of Movie Macabre

It's interesting that Elvira found a way to make a sequel to her 1988 feature thirteen years later by running off to Transylvania with Richard O'Brien. It's even better that she decided to make a smart and campy take on the Vincent Price and Roger Corman flicks from the sixties. It's a cool idea to insert the Mistress of the Dark into a film that she'd be making fun of if it were screened on Movie Macabre. Fans of Elvira will find plenty to love, and non-fans will probably not even make it past the opening credits anyways. This is a great little package which offers plenty of extras which easily eclipses the previous release, so an upgrade is in order. Elvira's Haunted Hills has never looked better and it has aged very well. This one is perfect for Halloween or any time you want a black comedy about a showgirl schlepping through a haunted castle. Elvira knows what her audience wants, and she delivers it all without any hesitation or apology. It's all just a knowing wink, a jiggle, and an impeccable knowledge of camp cult horror that gels perfectly.

-Full review at dvdverdict.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvira is BACK!....finally!!!, November 8, 2002
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elvira's Haunted Hills (DVD)
ELVIRA'S HAUNTED HILLS is the Mistress of the Dark's long-awaited followup to her beloved first time, 1988's ELVIRA, MISTRESS OF THE DARK. It has been well worth the wait, believe me!
In this loving parody of the Hammer and AIP gothic-horror films of the 60's, Elvira plays a busty entertainer circa 1851, who gets caught up in a tangle with the mysterious residents of the Castle Hellsubus. Vladimere Hellsubus (Richard O'Brien - THE ROCKY HORROR SHOW) takes a shying to Elvira when he discovers that she looks exactly like his dead wife Elura, who died under mysterious circumstances.
Together with her robust maid ZouZou (Mary Jo Smith), Elvira sets out to escape from Vladimere's evil house and pendulum, with her cunning tricks and her showstopping number "Le Music Hall".
Hilarious. Filmed entirely on location in Romania, the production values are lavish and Elvira looks as gorgeous as ever in the long-overdue sequel that will surely be relished by fans.
Also starring Scott Atkinson, Mary Scheer and Heather Hopper.
The DVD includes making-of featurette, trailer, Richard O'Brien interview and photo gallery. (Single-sided, single-layer disc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvira is ever amazing!, April 12, 2005
By 
First off,I have been a fan of Elvira's since her first movie "Elvira Mistress of the Dark" came out. I have always admired the spunky character. I told a guy I was dating once that Elvira was my hero and he replied back to me that she's not even real. Who cares! The character Elvira is a role model to me and I really look up to the person behind that character. She's gorgeous, spunky, has a cheesy and charming sense of humor, and she speaks her mind! Simply put, she kicks ass! Now, with that being said, I was really saddened at some of the reviews I've read here.. not only is "Haunted Hills" being cut on, but the lovely Elvira is being cut on for her age, playing the character of Elvira at her age, and the way she looks... ???? WOW!!! I did watch "Haunted Hills" and I've watched it quite a few times actually. This movie is a "feel good movie" and I enjoyed it thoroughly! Elvira has an amazing charm and it shines in "Haunted Hills" as well. Elvira looks wonderful and I'm not entirely sure of how the comments of how "bad" she looked came about. I will say that the lighting did seem bad at times in small parts of the movie, but ANYONE, regardless of age, won't look their best in bad lighting. I've had friends of mine say that they had a bad picture taken of them and said it made them look haggard or terrible and it was because of bad lighting.. etc. Yes, Elvira looks fantastic compared to some actresses half her age. Does it sound like I'm trying to fend for Elvira? Not entirely. I'm just pointing out some facts and how harsh some of those comments were.

To move on, it's quite possible that some were expecting "Haunted Hills" to be something similar to her first movie, and there lies alot of the disappointment... but who am I to say. I applaud Elvira for taking it upon herself to see this movie made. It's the cheesiest humor (which is Elvira all over and it's always worked for her!), fantastic settings, and it's just an all around fun movie! I won't go on about the scenes and characters since a few have posted already in detail about them.

I'm not an expert on the Elvira news, but it seems she's kind of dropped out of the spotlight since this movie came out. I think she continues to make public appearances, but other than that, I'm not sure. Out of my curiosity one day to see what's new with her, I did a little search on the net and found that there are some admirers of hers trying to get her a star on The Hollywood Walk of Fame. This woman deserves one for all the pleasant years she has given laughter, inspiration, shared her talent, and for just being Elvira! To anyone that did or didn't like this movie.. my words would be simply this: We see what we want to see. Everyone's tastes are different and that is just that. I don't cut on anyone for not liking "Haunted Hills", but I applaud the ones that did. I will always keep this movie in my collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rent it before you buy it, April 8, 2003
By 
Tim (NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvira's Haunted Hills (DVD)
This movie is somewhat funny and you do see a lot of Elvira's "twin peeks", but it is not as great as her previous movie Mistress of the Dark. Mistress of the Dark is a cult classic and its worth purchasing, but this hunted hills movie is laying right on the borderline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE QUEEN OF HALLOWEEN IS BACK - ELVIRA'S HAUNTED HILLS IS HILL-ARIOUS !!!!!, April 2, 2010
This review is from: Elvira's Haunted Hills (DVD)
For those not in the know, ELVIRA is the amazing creation of actress extraordinaire CASSANDRA PETERSON!!! Die hard fans have been waiting for a second vehicle for sooo long and will be rewarded with this wonderfully wacky parody/tribute of the 1960's Corman/Poe/Price horror films. ELVIRA'S HAUNTED HILLS is not a sequel to the much beloved 1988 camp classic ELVIRA MISTRESS OF THE DARK, but rather an entirely new an equally fulfilling celuloid romp. I find ELVIRA'S HAUNTED HILLS 1851 Carpathia the perfect realm for ELVIRA to be forever cemented in. We find our heroine surrounded in Gothic atmosphere haunting the same fogged hallways she used to host on MOVIE MACABRE, all the while spoofing too many Comedy/Horror genres and cliches to count. ELVIRA's in top form both physically and comically; as her impecable line delivery and enchanting gorgeous animated face once again crown her THE QUEEN OF HALLOWEEN - not to mention the humor genre Camp! The film has some hilarious moments and is a brilliant homage to the above mentioned people, films, and stories. Made on a shoestring budget and filmed in Romania; this movie nonetheless has some stricking sets, interesting location work, and a emotive soundtract featuring the Russian State Orchestra. We find ELVIRA on route to "gay paree" so she can do her "Yes I Can-Can" review with her French Maid only to get stranded at a haunted castle. There we have the crazed Lord of the castle (Richard O'Brian), his evil wife, his past dead wife who just happens to look exactly like ELVIRA, a Stable Stud, witty dialogue, and that rather nasty pit and pendulum in the dungeon. Sucked into a tornado of family disfunson, will Elvira and her French Maid ever get out of the creepy castle with their lives!?! My only resurvation about this work is that at times it could have a little more bite, and that the secend half needs a little more infusion of humor admits all the drama. Despite these minor grievances ELVIRA'S HAUNTED HILLS does have plenty going for it, and I think will please please her radically diverse fanbase. I just love this film and find it a hell of alot of fun - so I strongly recommend it to anyone who's in a campy silly cheeze-ball sort of mood! I'm gratful that it was ever made at all, as sadly the ELVIRA character has only stared in two featured films. Grossly underused by the Hollywood establishment, I can't help but think of all the great "Camp Extravaganzas" she could have done already that we could be enjoy today. On the sunny side enjoy the two films of hers we do have and let ELVIRA'S HAUNTED HILLS bring a little laughter into your world - UNPLEASANT DREAMS !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Elvira's Haunted Hills
Elvira's Haunted Hills by Elvira (DVD - 2011)
$9.98 $6.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.