Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvira is awesome
I was very excited to find the new Movie Macabre on TV not too long ago. This collection, along with the other Movie Macabre DVD sets, is perfect for those who love a good bad movie. Elvira is as witty as ever. Check it out! You won't be disappointed!
Published 19 months ago by Burns

versus
40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars beware
This set is priced right, but beware. The movies are censored and lets face it we love these movies for the the good parts. No naughty bits here, they blurred all the nudity parts. I was very dissapointed so wanted to warn others like me that watch these movies for the reasons I do that you will have to look elsewhere. Sorry cruel world!
Published on November 22, 2012 by J D Witter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars beware, November 22, 2012
This review is from: Elvira's Movie Macabre: Mega Movie Marathon (DVD)
This set is priced right, but beware. The movies are censored and lets face it we love these movies for the the good parts. No naughty bits here, they blurred all the nudity parts. I was very dissapointed so wanted to warn others like me that watch these movies for the reasons I do that you will have to look elsewhere. Sorry cruel world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvira is awesome, June 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elvira's Movie Macabre: Mega Movie Marathon (DVD)
I was very excited to find the new Movie Macabre on TV not too long ago. This collection, along with the other Movie Macabre DVD sets, is perfect for those who love a good bad movie. Elvira is as witty as ever. Check it out! You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for Elvira, negative 10 for greedy dvd producers!, August 27, 2012
By 
Trewthe (Indaenhyle,USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Elvira's Movie Macabre: Mega Movie Marathon (DVD)
As a person who has paid full price for all the titles listed in this set, i wonder why not be original and add something new to this set?Wonder if they are gonna fix the sound issues on I Eat Your Skin? Knowing that eventually this set will be less than $20.00 and thinking about what i paid really leaves a bad taste in my mouth, love Elvira, as my bank account can attest to, but this makes me NOT wanna buy the titles as they come out and just wait for them to be sold in bulk like this set, at a HUGE discount.So good news for new buyers and big screw you to loyal customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Completists, May 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elvira's Movie Macabre: Mega Movie Marathon (DVD)
Elvira is flexing her.... um.... muscles again to show us she is still Mistress of the dark.

Not quit as good as her Giant Monsters set, this set has alot of movies in it that some of us have owned before in other forms... mine being Mystery Science Theater 3000. Elvira throws her spin on these movies and it is a hit and miss situation. I found myself at times wishing she'd pop-up and do a joke more in these as i have been through some of these movies a few too many times and it can become hard to maintain interest. It is hard to rave about it since MST3K seemed to make them "more" watchable due to steady Riffing and purchasing some of her older Shout Factory titles alongside this made comparing hard to ignore.

It is a nice set, and having them all in one regular sized dvd case is nice for space. I applaud her for still doing a great job even with fewer writers than MST3K used i am sure. As far as rewatching...well, these at this point rely heavily on Elvira's set pieces which are good, but i can just as easily pick up the MST3K version and watch it instead. I would give it a lower rating especially due to these being movies i own 4 or 5 times on other dvd sets, but i feel that wouldn't be fair comparing it to Mystery Science Theater.

This is a difficult set to judge and as i said i am also buying it alongside older shows of hers. Most of them being more interesting due to the fact i have not seen the movie a million times in multiple boxsets i also cannot shake the feeling that i'd rather have her old stuff put on dvd again since it looked like Shout Factory just gave up due to sales.

So final verdict, decent set but i was more impressed with her work on Giant Monsters Set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvira's Busting Bargain!, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elvira's Movie Macabre: Mega Movie Marathon (DVD)
Elvira really delivers in this12 movie set. From the horror classic Night of the Living Dead to I Eat Your Skin to Scared to Death you are treated to Elvira's wit. Now some may complain that any nudity in this set is blurred out but Elvira is for campy horror fans. You want nudity go watch porn. If you want a bargain and great horror movies treat yourself to this set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elvira's Movie Macabre: Mega Movie Marathon (DVD)
I love ellvira.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elvira's Movie Macabre: Mega Movie Marathon (DVD)
i love elvira
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Scarier, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elvira's Movie Macabre: Mega Movie Marathon (DVD)
I liked her in Compacted Movies, so I don't have to Search for Elvira.
Makes more room on the shelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Elvira's Movie Macabre: Mega Movie Marathon
$34.98 $21.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.