Customer Reviews


399 Reviews
5 star:
 (341)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His BEST single CD Gospel collection!
Very powerful performances and of course Elvis' voice is unmatched. He was made to sing Gospel and he puts his heart into every performance. The only Grammies he won were for his Gospel recordings. I know there are many Elvis Gospel collections available, but this one is his best single CD Gospel collection! To top this one you would have to get the 2 CD "Amazing Grace"...
Published on March 7, 2007 by A Fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars no the best ELVIS gospel CD you can get for sure
no the best ELVIS gospel CD you can get for sure!!
Published 6 months ago by Rick


‹ Previous | 1 2 340 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His BEST Gospel collection!, June 14, 2007
Very powerful performances and of course Elvis' voice is unmatched. He was made to sing Gospel and he puts his heart into every performance. The only Grammies he won were for his Gospel recordings. I know there are many Elvis Gospel collections available, but this one is his best single CD Gospel collection! To top this one you would have to get the 2 CD "Amazing Grace" or the 3 CD "Peace in the Valley" set.

This release is slightly different than the original "Elvis Ultimate Gospel" CD released a few years ago. On this version they added two songs "In My Father's House" and "An Evening Prayer" and deleted "Miracle Of The Rosary"; additionally this edition includes two bonus tracks "I Believe" and "It Is No Secret What God Can Do". I guess you could say this is the Protestant version of "Elvis Ultimate Gospel". If you like Gospel music and don't want to spend a lot of money on multi-CD releases, I highly recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly "Ultimate" collection, May 31, 2004
By 
This review is from: Elvis Ultimate Gospel (Audio CD)
Elvis Presley had so many great gospel songs there are sure to be disagreements about which ones belong on an "ultimate" compilation. Most every Elvis fan agrees this is a great release and would just change a song or two... of course we all choose different songs. This goes to show this is a great, great release that does about as well as can be expected in showcasing Elvis' vast talent and conviction when singing the music he loved the most: Gospel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Wonderful, August 12, 2006
This review is from: Elvis Ultimate Gospel (Audio CD)
If you enjoy traditional Christian hymns, this is the album for you. Joyous, joyous, joyous music. Christian Gospel music gives you something that Christian Contemporary just lacks. Buy this album, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Gospel has never sounded as good., June 13, 2006
This review is from: Elvis Ultimate Gospel (Audio CD)
From the Grammy award winning 'How Great Thou Art' to the final song, the all-important 'Peace In The Valley' this new CD is 63 minutes of glorious Gospel music as only Elvis could sing.

The problem with Elvis Gospel compiles is that they always have to straddle 3 decades of music and so usually sound very uneven in both context and sound. However with a lovely balanced sound and a clever choice of tracks 'Ultimate Gospel' is close to perfect.

In the past I have often turned to the double CD 'Amazing Grace' for inspiration however 'Ultimate Gospel' has already become my firm favourite since it is a perfect hour that inspires contemplation, peace and a moving look into Elvis' soul. If you feel like a perfect slice of Elvis Gospel, do check it out you won't regret it - Elvis Gospel has never sounded as good.

The Elvis Information Network website exmaines it in detail song by song - But with the audio upgrades, this is the single Elvis Gospel CD that is really worth tracking down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, March 25, 2004
This review is from: Elvis Ultimate Gospel (Audio CD)
Excellent (and super-sounding!) single-disk collection of Elvis' greatest gospel performances for those who cannot or will not spring for the multi-disk complete collection.
Track listing :
1. How Great Thou Art
2. So High
3. Amazing Grace
4. Crying In The Chapel
5. You'll Never Walk Alone
6. Swing Down Sweet Chariot
7. Milky White Way
8. His Hand In Mine
9. I Believe In The Man In The Sky
10. Where Could I Go But To The Lord
11. If The Lord Wasn't Walking By My Side
12. Run On
13. He Touched Me
14. Bosom Of Abraham
15. Lead Me, Guide Me
16. Joshua Fit The Battle
17. If We Never Meet Again
18. I, John
19. Reach Out To Jesus
20. Who Am I?
21. Help Me
22. Miracle Of The Rosary
23. Take My Hand, Precious Lord
24. Peace In The Valley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus is the Lord and Elvis is the King, it's marvelous tracks, March 12, 2006
By 
Tyler Reece (burnsville, mn United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis Ultimate Gospel (Audio CD)
Aside from Rock 'n' Roll, Elvis got in touch with his spiritual side and recorded gospel in which he won grammys only for that. Now you can own this fantastic collection of gospel hits like "How Great Thou Art" "Crying in the Chapel" "Swing down Sweet Chariot" "So High" "where to Go but to the Lord" "Amazing Grace" and Many more hits. It's very lively music with great spiritual lyrics, It's a must have if your an Elvis fan, Elvis will get you in touch with your spirtual side with this great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimately Great!, April 22, 2004
By 
A. Joiner (Houston TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis Ultimate Gospel (Audio CD)
If you truly enjoy hearing Elvis' beautiful voice, this album is the greatest! Gospel is where Elvis truly shines.
I recommend this album to the young, and young at heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD you will listen to., November 12, 2004
By 
Danette Stankovich (Monessen, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis Ultimate Gospel (Audio CD)
I love this CD and listen to it often in my car. There is no one quite like Elvis and the musicians of today will never compare to him. His voice is just amazing on this CD and there are many songs on the CD that you will not hear elsewhere. I especially enjoy the piano accompaniment in the background also. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Collection!, March 31, 2004
This review is from: Elvis Ultimate Gospel (Audio CD)
This is the best Elvis gospel collection. It has all the songs that are hard to find on his new CD's. Songs like 'How Great Thou Art', 'So High', 'Amazing Grace', 'I, John' and my favorite 'Joshua Fit The Battle' just to name a few. The CD also has Mastered original versions. Very much worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opening Another Door, May 20, 2005
This review is from: Elvis Ultimate Gospel (Audio CD)
Making a simple list of the songs here should not bring a positive "helpful" rating. BFD. Nor should time be wasted on dismissing Elvis as a sinner; really! He WANTED to be good, maybe he got lost,but he was NOT just being pretentious. I grew up near Memphis some years behind Elvis, hearing the same music as he did over the airwaves. Just as he introduced most white Americans to black music (which, trust me, was heard almost exclusively on BLACK stations unpatronized by most Sinatra- or hillbilly-loving listeners), he also brought these old-time gospel songs to his fans. They were sung by popular gospel singers and quartets well-known in the Bible Belt. This package of music is a rare look into the music of a certain time and place and you also get the Grammy-winning "How Great Thou Art" which brought a packed community center of fans who had come to hear "Heartbreak Hotel" to their feet at a 1972 concert I attended. (He sung the last part of it a second time). Give this one SIX stars. Get educated; get inspired. And just LOOK at the weird things that the "reviewer" who condemns Elvis' morals, reviews. Then sneer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 340 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Elvis Ultimate Gospel
Elvis Ultimate Gospel by Elvis Presley
Buy MP3 Album$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.