Emblaze (Embrace Book 3) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $16.99
  • Save: $5.95 (35%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 11 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Emblaze (Embrace) has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: The item shows wear from consistent use, but it remains in good condition and works perfectly. It may be marked, have identifying markings on it, or show other signs of previous use.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Emblaze (Embrace) Hardcover – March 5, 2013

81 customer reviews

See all 16 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$11.04
$8.64 $2.93

100 Young Adult Books to Read in a Lifetime
100 Young Adult Books to Read in a Lifetime
Amazon's editors chose their list of the one hundred young adult books to read, whether you're fourteen or forty...Learn more
$11.04 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 11 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Emblaze (Embrace) + Endless (Embrace) + Empower (Embrace)
Price for all three: $33.30

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

In this third title in the Embrace series, 17-year-old half-human, half-angel Violet Eden is struggling more than ever with feelings for her Grigori partner, Lincoln, and with keeping her secret life from her father. Meanwhile, vengeful Exiles’ leader Phoenix kidnaps Violet’s best friend Steph. Saving Steph could enable Phoenix to unleash Hell on Earth, which would result in freeing his powerful mother, Lilith, and in his domination of both humans and angels. Soon the Grigori crew travel to Greece on a risky, dangerous mission to stop Phoenix before it’s too late. Violet remains an engaging, contemporary protagonist whose narrative details her dilemmas and challenges—both the supernatural and everyday kinds—including trying to elude Phoenix’s dangers (and mesmerizing charm) and refining her unique gifts. This is another absorbing read that blends mythology, action-suspense, and romance, and it’s filled with diverse returning and new characters, from loyal pal Spence to austere Grigori Academy seraph Josephine. With an ending that could potentially change everything for Violet, series fans will eagerly anticipate the next installment. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Shirvington’s Embrace series is hot, hot, hot. So hot, in fact, that the CW network is adapting it into a television series. Grades 10-12. --Shelle Rosenfeld

Review

"If you've managed to miss out on this must-read, now's the time to catch up." - Entertainment Weekly's Shelf Life

"Violet remains an engaging, contemporary protagonist . . . this is another absorbing read that blends mythology, action-suspense, and romance . . .Shirvington's Embrace series is hot, hot, hot." - Booklist

"Violet remains a compelling heroine, and another surprise ending will surely leave readers wanting more." - Kirkus

"An amazing addictive book! Loaded with suspense and passion, action and romance, Emblaze will have you up all night.
" - RT Book Reviews

"I freakin' LOVE this series and it just keeps getting better & better (if that's even possible)." - Book Passion for life

"Emblaze is fast-paced and positively addictive, and I easily devoured the novel in one sitting. There was no way I could set the book down until I knew what happened to Violet, Lincoln, and Phoenix!" - Midnight Bloom Reads

"Well-written with a huge wowza factor, I dare you to not get caught up in this tale!" - Young Adult Books Central (YABC)

"Author, Jessica Shirvington, has done it again. . . I could not tear my eyes away from this unforgettable follow up to Entice." - Chapter ByChapter

"This is a series that continues to get better with each and every installment, delving deeper into the thoughts and feelings of all the characters as the battle between Grigori and Exile reaches its turning point . . .We conclude our time with Violet in this book at a turning point in her fight, riveted to every word spoken and praying our eyes are deceiving us when they reach the last sentence, loving how addictive these books have become and already craving the next fix." - Supernatural Snark

"You won't be able to put [it] down . . .perfect for fans of The Vampire Diaries." - Seventeen
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Embrace (Book 3)
  • Hardcover: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire (March 5, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1402268467
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402268465
  • Product Dimensions: 1.5 x 5.8 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.3 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (81 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #736,290 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Stephanie Ward on April 4, 2013
Format: Hardcover
'Emblaze' is the third book in the Violet Eden Chapters, a young adult paranormal/fantasy series that continues to follow Violet Eden as she grapples with fate - only this time Phoenix is trying to kill her and resurrect his mother, Lilith, from Hell. With the fate of the world in her hands (along with her friends and backup from the Academy), Violet must push aside her volatile emotions toward her partner and soul mate, Lincoln, and prepare to face the biggest and baddest exile yet. Will Violet have what it takes to stop Phoenix before it's too late? Will she be able to contain Lilith and save thousands of innocent lives? And what will all this cost to Violet and her friends?

I just have to note first off that I am a HUGE fan of this series and I've been impatiently waiting for this book to release since I finished the last one (which feels like forever ago). This is one of the most thrilling, action packed, amazing series I have ever read - and it only seems to get better. Most series seem to fizzle out over the course of their books, with the characters getting boring and the plot lines getting old. NOT the case with this series! 'Emblaze' lived up to my high hopes and then flew right past them all. I love Violet as a main character. She's strong - both physically and emotionally - but she has serious issues. She knows it and everyone else knows it. She struggles a lot with her feelings and desires for Lincoln - there are parts in the book that my heart really went out to her about their situation. Then there's the whole weight of the world on her shoulders thing - she's trying so hard to manage this special destiny that nobody really knows about but won't let her forget either.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Beauty but a Funny Girl on March 28, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Oh. My. So many things. When I finished this book, I just kind of sat there for a bit. Just sat there and processed... everything.

Emblaze is probably my favorite of the series - thus far. There is so much character development, plot bombshells, questions answered, and questions asked.

Violet's dad starts getting all parental: "you're grounded," "where have you been and where are you going" type deal. I commend Violet for taking it in stride as I myself was thinking "Hum, no. She's 17 and you can't start this now. Too little, too late." However, at the same time, I liked seeing him care. I mean, yes, he cared before but now we seeing that he cares. There was one scene where Violet and her dad are talking on the phone and it's getting very emotional (I got a little choked up) and I happy to see communication on both ends.

What can I say about Spence? He has become such a great friend to Violet that I just love him. They have this brother/sister relationship that I just adore. And I'm just going to throw this out there... I like Onyx. I do. I think he's becoming an asset to the ground and he amuses me. He's completely different from his character in Embrace (and I don't just mean the fact that he's human) and he's gone from being a drunken lay about to a functioning (and occasionally helpful) individual.

Confession time. I've switched teams. Yes, I was fully on Team Phoenix for the first two books and Emblaze made a Team Lincoln out of me. Of course, it doesn't help Phoenix that he's being a complete butthead. He does still have a few redeeming qualities, and I loved the chapter from him Point of View, so I'm more of an 70/30 with Team Lincoln in the lead.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
Review courtesy of Dark Faerie Tales.

Quick & Dirty: This series is quickly becoming one of my favorites. Emblaze was so action packed, filled with steamy romance, forbidden love, and an amazing cast of characters. Once I started I couldn't put the book down.

Opening Sentence: She didn't have to see him to know he was there.

The Review:

Violet's life has been a roller coaster ever since she found out she was a Grigori, which means that she is part angel and part human. She seems to attract exiles like a magnet and they just keep coming for her. Violet is very powerful, but she has just started learning how to use and control it. There is a big fight coming and she needs to be prepared if she expects to come out of it alive. Things are really rough right now between her and her Grigori partner Lincoln. They happen to be soul mates and are madly in love, but if they act on their feelings it could eventually destroy both of them. But staying apart is proving harder than either of them dreamed. Their souls yearn for each other so much that it is physically painful at times to resist. Can they stay apart and survive the pending doom coming their way?

Phoenix is an exile that Violet once cared about, but he betrayed her and now he is trying to do the unthinkable. He wants to open up the gates of Hell and release his mother Lilith. In order to do this he needs to get his hands on the scriptures that the Grigori currently possess. He is ruthless and will go to any lengths to get them, even hurt people that Violet cares about. It doesn't take Phoenix long to realize that he will also need Violet if he wants his plan to succeed.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Emblaze (Embrace)
This item: Emblaze (Embrace)
Price: $11.04
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?