Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate super food!
If you already know about wakame, then you don't need to read this review. If you don't, you should, because this is one of the greatest and most versatile staples you can keep in your kitchen. Wakame is a mild, slightly salty, tasty seaweed that is full of nutrients and flavor. However, you'd starve to death if you tried to live off this, because it has almost no...
Published on December 5, 2009 by Bee Guy

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deceptive packaging and fraudulent description on website
The package clearly reads "PACIFIC WAKAME"- but the website claims that the product comes from Shandong Province- not exactly a pristine place for aquaculture as the province, for one thing, has a population of over 90 million. Moreover, Shandong has no shores on the Pacific, only the Yellow Sea and Bohei Sea. The product sold here is produced from "the...
Published 7 months ago by ChocolateMaven


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate super food!, December 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emerald Cove Silver Grade Ready-to-Use Pacific Wakame (Dried Seaweed), 35-Ounce Bag (Grocery)
If you already know about wakame, then you don't need to read this review. If you don't, you should, because this is one of the greatest and most versatile staples you can keep in your kitchen. Wakame is a mild, slightly salty, tasty seaweed that is full of nutrients and flavor. However, you'd starve to death if you tried to live off this, because it has almost no calories. There are a number of ways you can prepare this. As a soup base, it's quite awesome - just simmer a half cup in a pot of water, add miso, soy sauce, or ponzu, and then spike it with frozen shrimp, thin sliced pork, or whatever else you'd like to toss in. Add a dash of sriracha and sesame oil, and you've got a great-tasting low-calorie soup that beats the pants off anything you can get in a can. If you want some carbs in there, add any kind of noodle you like, from vermicelli to udon. Because the wakame itself adds so much flavor, you don't really need to overload it with sodium-laden soy sauce - just add enough for a little more flavor. My favorite use it to use it as an instant salad - just add water! Place a cup or two of wakame in a bowl, and add 2 volumes of ice cold water. Place it in the fridge, drain the next day, and you've got instant salad to last the whole week. I add thin shredded daikon, carrots, cilantro, and whatever meat I have on hand: frozen shrimp, leftover chicken, canned salmon, even taco meat that didn't make it into shells. Add a sauce made of soy or ponzu with a little rice vinegar, fresh ginger juice if you have it, and a little splash of sesame oil. Top with toasted sesame seeds and you've got an awesome seaweed salad that costs pennies to make, has flavor for days, and very little calories. This bag might seem enormous when you first get it, but once you discover its many uses, you'll use it up faster than you ever thought possible - I go through 3-4 bags a year.

More wakame trivia: don't worry about depleting the world's supply, as wild wakame is considered one of the top 100 invasive plants, and has even established itself in San Francisco Bay. Wakame also contains the chemical fucoxanthin, which Japanese scientists claim can enhance fat burning - this may be true or not, but given its low caloric content, it'd be hard to get fat eating this stuff anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Strips---Pieces Ready for Recipes, February 21, 2009
By 
Thiggy (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emerald Cove Silver Grade Ready-to-Use Pacific Wakame (Dried Seaweed), 35-Ounce Bag (Grocery)
This is a fairly large bag of Wakame---a good price for the amount. The product is not strips, but is small individual dehydrated pieces ready for rehydration. No cutting or chopping required unless you want smaller pieces. When rehydrated, it turns nice and green with the typical rehydrated Wakame texture. This is a quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deceptive packaging and fraudulent description on website, April 25, 2014
By 
ChocolateMaven (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emerald Cove Silver Grade Ready-to-Use Pacific Wakame (Dried Seaweed), 35-Ounce Bag (Grocery)
The package clearly reads "PACIFIC WAKAME"- but the website claims that the product comes from Shandong Province- not exactly a pristine place for aquaculture as the province, for one thing, has a population of over 90 million. Moreover, Shandong has no shores on the Pacific, only the Yellow Sea and Bohei Sea. The product sold here is produced from "the closest point to Japan in China"- actually the entire Korean peninsula sits between Shandong and Japa so the seaweed you're getting from Emerald Cove is from waters that get the agricultural and industrial pollution that pours out from both China and Korea. Very disappointing to learn all this after getting my shipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The brand and name is deceiving, the product is produce in CHINA, November 5, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emerald Cove Silver Grade Ready-to-Use Pacific Wakame (Dried Seaweed), 35-Ounce Bag (Grocery)
The product does not state clearly it is made in China. I thought it was from Japan. They should state the country of origin clearly since for food products it is important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yay seaweed, August 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emerald Cove Silver Grade Ready-to-Use Pacific Wakame (Dried Seaweed), 35-Ounce Bag (Grocery)
Wow this bag is huge! It will easily feed me for the next 6 weeks, and I eat about a cup (dried) per day. Good quality, really happy with the purchase. Annoyed that they packaged it in a monster box with tons of foam, though. So much for carbon footprint reduction eh Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars from CHINA, not returnable, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emerald Cove Silver Grade Ready-to-Use Pacific Wakame (Dried Seaweed), 35-Ounce Bag (Grocery)
I wasn't sure if I should review this since I have not and will not taste this. I just wanted to warn people that it comes from China. It looks like perfect little pieces for putting in soup though. I am so disappointed. How did I miss this? I would feel better if it was atleast certified organic (like my last bag from this company) but it's not. Now what do I do with this huge bag?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I wanted only more of it than expected, November 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emerald Cove Silver Grade Ready-to-Use Pacific Wakame (Dried Seaweed), 35-Ounce Bag (Grocery)
I love seaweed; it's low calorie, high fiber, and highly nutritious. Wakame tastes great and I really didn't have a clue how much 35 ounces really was until I got this. Be prepared that one ounce is a lot of seaweed once it rehydrates. I add this to miso soup, rice, and I even just eat it by itself. You can also eat it dry, but I can't since I'm on a low sodium diet. For anyone else on a low-sodium diet be aware that if you boil a good amount of water, remove from heat and add the seaweed, most of the salt ends up in the water and not the seaweed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONLY REVIEW YOU NEED !!!, November 3, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emerald Cove Silver Grade Ready-to-Use Pacific Wakame (Dried Seaweed), 35-Ounce Bag (Grocery)
This huge bag of Wakame is the best deal i could find anywhere on the internet .I searched world wide and this is definitely the best bargain out there. Although much less refined and flaky/leafy as some of the more ridiculously priced stuff the amount you get for the money more than compensates. I mix a teaspoon in my morning protein shake and after only letting it sit in there for a couple minutes and a few stirs its soft and hardly noticeable .When i got mine i took some out of the large bag and put it in a big bowl to break and crush it to make it finer /smaller pieces ,which takes a little work ,it would be easier if i used an electric food processor or something like that but i don`t mind doing it by hand. It comes in just a little bigger pieces than i want to try and drink down in my shakes. It comes very clean looking and it`s very well dried. I really like it and will buy more in a year or two when this bag is gone. LOL it`s really a BIG bag !! I laughed when i took it out of the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHERE has this been all my life?, March 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emerald Cove Silver Grade Ready-to-Use Pacific Wakame (Dried Seaweed), 35-Ounce Bag (Grocery)
Let me get something straight, right from the get go. FOR ME, after experimenting, BY FAR the best way to get this ready for consumption, is to add CHICKEN BROTH and NOT WATER. Find a container large enough for 3 cups of dried kelp and a full 32 oz container of chicken broth, put the dried kelp in first, and pour the broth on top, (I let it soak in the fridge over night). I initially tried simply plumping it up with water, as one reviewer recommended. Suffice it to say it was like trying to eat the Pacific Ocean, as that is precisely what it tasted like. By soaking in the chicken broth, it is not only palatable, but down right tasty. Thus far, I've only used it as a (sublime) soup base, but the possibilities are seemingly endless. What are you waiting for? Take the plunge! It will have you smiling like the proverbial Cheshire cat :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellen Buy, March 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emerald Cove Silver Grade Ready-to-Use Pacific Wakame (Dried Seaweed), 35-Ounce Bag (Grocery)
My first venture into purchasing freeze-dried Wakame, I have been very pleased with this product. I bought it primarily for making Miso soup. It is certainly good enough for other uses as well. Hydrated, this turns into nicely sized, pretty green, squarish pieces. The taste is excellent and it is not at all salty. After hydrating it, I just give it a quick rinse and voila - ready to be added to my miso! This is an enormous bag and should last quite a while. I would definitely but this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.