Customer Reviews


1,231 Reviews
5 star:
 (892)
4 star:
 (243)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,773 of 1,796 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not very fuzzy
This product is probably what you think it is. One of those loud, crinkly, reflective "space" type blankets. They're fairly cheap, and you get a lot of them. They're very useful for keeping a person warm if you know how to use them.

Some people complain that it doesn't keep them warm at all. This is most likely because they aren't using it properly. There are...
Published on March 15, 2011 by Brian Ames

versus
295 of 314 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They only send 1 not 10 blankets
I bought this because it would have been a good price for the 10 blankets that are advertised. Amazon only sent 1 blanket though. I realised after reading all the 1 star reviews that this is a very common problem Amazon has with this blanket. Some of the higher rated reviews say they were sent 9 blankets instead of 10, lucky you. I have checked "helpful" for all the 1...
Published 9 months ago by Jason Trotta


‹ Previous | 1 2124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,773 of 1,796 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not very fuzzy, March 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emergency Mylar Thermal Blankets
This product is probably what you think it is. One of those loud, crinkly, reflective "space" type blankets. They're fairly cheap, and you get a lot of them. They're very useful for keeping a person warm if you know how to use them.

Some people complain that it doesn't keep them warm at all. This is most likely because they aren't using it properly. There are better articles for this information than this review, but essentially.. This blanket prevents heat-loss from radiation (which is how the majority of our body heat is lost). Radiation is when heat radiates away from its source. This is where the product shines: it allows hot pockets of air to form between you and the blanket. It doesn't do much to protect against conduction since it's so thin. Conduction occurs when heat transfers from one place to another by touching. When you grab an ice-cube, you are losing heat because of conduction. Similarly, if you are in a very windy area, while the blanket itself is wind-proof, the cold air can get under and inside the blanket, stealing away your warmth.

As such, when using this blanket, you should squat down and wrap it around you. By laying on the bare ground, there is no "dead air space" for the hot air to collect so, by the process of conduction, your body looses heat through the ground. This product works really well as a sort of "base layer" type of blanket. If you have a sleeping pad and sleeping bag, line the insides of your sleeping bag with one of these and you'll be toasty in no time. Just be sure not to start sweating too much, because of hypothermia and stuff. Even without those fancy sleeping bags, one of these covered by a wool blanket will keep you very warm. Just remember not to wrap the blanket to tightly around you. It is instinctive when you want to get warm, but it'll decrease the effectiveness and may rip it since it's so frail.

Five stars because it does what it is intended to do. And while it's quality isn't super, and it isn't made out of top-notch ballistic nylon, it isn't being marketed as if it were. It is intended to be a cheap, disposable cover to be used in emergencies, and it does that job wonderfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


793 of 807 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I had my doubts...but not anymore, March 22, 2011
By 
D-dot (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emergency Mylar Thermal Blankets
I purchased this product (Emergency Mylar Thermal Blanket pack of 10) to put some in my wife's car, my car, and an emergency kit. I have never used one of these before and I thought that they would just be an "okay if I have to" use. Boy was I wrong! I took one out at night (45 degrees F) to test it. It kept me delightfully warm, not hot, but a comfortable warm. I did not feel like I was wrapped in plastic wrap which I thought I would feel. I also tried to push my feet through it (holding on with my hands and with two feet pushing as hard as I could) and all it did was stretch a little but nothing serious. However once it is punched (with a knife on purpose on my part), it will continue ripping fairly easily. Over all this is an excellent, very light weight, cheap price to not freeze in a crumby situation.

FYI The blankets I received are made by B-H Supplies, a 52" by 84" (not 54" by 82" if it matters) and holds in 90% of body heat. Also it sounds like tin foil when you are moving around. My father added that in his survival training they said use two, one for the floor so your body heat does not escape into the ground and one around you while covering your head for maximum warmth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


329 of 345 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price!, February 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emergency Mylar Thermal Blankets
I purchased these to make emergency kits for my families cars. They are not expensive and could save their life if they break down.

My brother used a few to line a dog house he made. He turned them so the heat from his dog would stay in the dog house. My mom used one as a sun shade in a garage window. She turned them around so the heat would reflect back out the window. You can still see outside but people can not see in. Great little gifts for people and have many uses.

edit:
A warning (in response to a post I received). Please make sure there is nothing between the blanket and the glass of the window if you are going to use them as a sunshade and/or for privacy. These little guys reflect a lot of heat and anything between them and the glass could be damaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


295 of 314 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They only send 1 not 10 blankets, October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emergency Mylar Thermal Blankets
I bought this because it would have been a good price for the 10 blankets that are advertised. Amazon only sent 1 blanket though. I realised after reading all the 1 star reviews that this is a very common problem Amazon has with this blanket. Some of the higher rated reviews say they were sent 9 blankets instead of 10, lucky you. I have checked "helpful" for all the 1 star reviews of people who only received 1 blanket instead of the advertised 10 in the hopes of moving those reviews to the top of the list and encourage everyone else to do the same. No one else should have to be a victim of this scam. I hope Amazon stops removing my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


146 of 153 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor packing, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emergency Mylar Thermal Blankets
item clearly says pack of ten, yet I only received one blanket for $8.19
Wanted these for prizes for a Civil Air Patrol party and now we go without because someone can't count to ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


137 of 144 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 NOT 10, September 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emergency Mylar Thermal Blankets
This does NOT come in a pack of 10 only recieved 1 and as I look at all the reviews i have found out i am not the only one with this problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


134 of 143 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Price...., December 27, 2011
This review is from: Emergency Mylar Thermal Blankets
These should be in every car, home, back pack and Family Preparedness Kit in the world.I camp often in the mountains of Colorado and there is always three or four in my packs. I get two and tape them to the inside of my tent one on each side me on nights when the temperature may be a little cooler. I sleep like a baby, warm and toasty. You can also use for reflecting the camp fire towards you too, I place one behind my chairs by the fire on days when I car camp at one of my little hide away spots. Also great if you are stranded and need to be spot from an aircraft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mylar thermal blanket, February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emergency Mylar Thermal Blankets
This delivery was prompt- HOWEVER- I have opened 3 so far and all of the 3 are not cut properly and are torn on one side. If you have ever worked with his item you know that it will tear very quickly if there is the slightest cut. The first is in the garbage and the other 2 had to be taped. I have to assume that the other 7 are the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mylar for windows, July 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emergency Mylar Thermal Blankets
I hung the mylar emergency blankets between my windows and blinds. It does a great job of keeping the house cooler. My upstairs rooms which usually were 84 degrees in the evening are now down to 80. My air conditioner doesn't have to work as much.
They are also good for putting over a cooler on a picnic to help keep the ice longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PACK OF 10?, July 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emergency Mylar Thermal Blankets
We ordered this "pack of 10" so we could make up earthquake emergency packs for our family in Japan.

We received a pack of 1!

Totally useless, and replacement was not available for this item.

What a waste of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Emergency Mylar Thermal Blankets (Pack of 10)
$39.99 $6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.