Start reading Emerson's Brother on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

Emerson's Brother [Kindle Edition]

Philip Lee Williams

Kindle Price: $20.00

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $20.00  
Paperback $18.36  
Literature & Fiction Books for $1.99 Each
Now through March 11, select literature & fiction Kindle books are $1.99 each. Browse the full selection to find your next great read.

Book Description

Few people know that Ralph Waldo Emerson had a mentally challenged brother. Now, in a deeply moving novel in letters, noted writer Philip Lee Williams imagines the last year of this brother's sad but transcendent life as he lives with a farm family in Massachusetts. Emerson's Brother shows how this brother, Bulkeley, deals in his own way with many of the themes Waldo did, including nature, self-reliance, and love.

Writing letters to his brother and friends such as Henry David Thoreau, Bulkeley Emerson aches with the need to express himself, trapped as he is in the prison of his own genetics. Though Bulkeley's journey toward the end of his life can be agonizing and filled with unfilled longing, there is a quiet acceptance, too, as he nears his time to become part of nature itself.

Editorial Reviews

Review

This fascinating novel about the least-known Emerson brother brings to life the Transcendental currents of the time and shows how hard it was, for all the Emersons, to live up to the expectations of their forefathers. Fans of Henry Thoreau and Waldo Emerson, as well as anyone with a brother, will find this novel an emotional recreation of an important period and place in our history. --Review By: Joel Myerson, Carolina Distinguished Professor of American Literature, Emeritus, University of South Carolina and co-author of The Emerson Brothers: A Fraternal Biography in Letters - September 30, 2011

About the Author

Philip Lee Williams is the much honored author of sixteen published books, including three non-fiction works and two volumes of poetry. He won the 2004 Michael Shaara Prize for A Distant Flame, and in addition to a Governor s Award in the Humanities, is a member of the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame. In 2011, his The Flower Seeker: An Epic Poem of William Bartram won the Books & Culture Book of the Year Award. He lives with his family in Oconee County, Georgia.

Product Details

  • File Size: 281 KB
  • Print Length: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Mercer University Press (May 15, 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00851H0J0
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,126,702 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

More About the Author

Philip Lee Williams is the author of 19 published books, including 12 novels, four works of non-fiction, and three volumes of poetry. His books have been published by such presses as St. Martin's, W. W. Norton, Random House, Grove Press, Ballantine, Dell, Viking/Penguin, and Mercer University Press, as well a number of other smaller and university presses.

Philip's autobiography It Is Written: My Life in Letters, came out in September 2014 from Mercer University Press. A new volume of poetry The Color of All Things: 99 Love Poems will be out in March 2015. It is the winner of the Adrienne Bond Award for Poetry.

His latest novel, Emerson's Brother, was published in May 2012. It is about the mentally challenged brother of noted American writer Ralph Waldo Emerson. His 1000-page novel, The Divine Comics, was published in November 2011 by Mercer University Press. This book is a modern re-imagining and updating of Dante's fabled Divine Comedy.

The University of Georgia Press republished his Michael Shaara Prize-winning novel A Distant Flame on April 1, 2011.

Williams's The Flower Seeker: An Epic Poem of William Bartram, came out in 2010. It was named Book of the Year by Books & Culture Magazine.

In May 2007, he received the Governor's Award in the Humanities from the State of Georgia during ceremonies in Atlanta, and in June of that year he was for the second time named Georgia Author of the Year, this time in the essay category in a program at Kennesaw State University. He has since been named Georgia Author of the Year twice more.

His most recent nonfiction book, nature essays called In the Morning: Reflections From First Light, came out in the fall of 2006 from Mercer University Press. He is a featured author in a textbook about Georgia authors for the state's eighth graders that was released in the fall of 2008.

His novel A Distant Flame was published by St. Martin's Press in September 2004. In April 2005, it was named winner of the Michael Shaara Award as the best Civil War novel published in the United States in 2004. Williams received the award in Boston in June 2005. The book was also named, by The Georgia Center for the Book, one of 25 books that "All Georgians Should Read." It came out in a trade paperback edition in November 2005.

His books have been translated into Swedish, German, French, and Japanese and have appeared in large-print editions as well. A number of his books have been optioned for film by such people as producer Richard Zanuck, director Ron Howard, and actress Meg Ryan. He was hired by M-G-M to write the screenplay of his own book, All the Western Stars, though the movie has not yet been made.

Two of Williams's unpublished manuscripts have also been optioned by producers in Hollywood.

Williams has also published poetry in more than 40 magazines, including Poetry, Press, Karamu, the Cumberland Poetry Review and many others. He has published essays and short stories, and one story, "An Early Snow," published in 2000, was nominated by The Chattahoochee Review for a Pushcart Prize.

An essay of Williams's appeared in the fall 2010 issue of The Georgia Review.


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category