Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutley Heart-pounding!
Napolitano has carved out a new genre, and it's called the thriller-crime-social justice novel. The pacing of this story kept me enthralled and looking out for the next twist and Napolitano does this without sacrificing an ounce of character. While the overall context of the story will undoubtedly draw comparisons to Patrick Quinlan and Dennis Lehane, Napolitano...
Published 20 months ago by B. Martinez

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good storyline, but weak ending . Characters needed to be more detailed to reach the ending..
The story could have had a more detailed ending.Story reaches a crescendo, but falls at the end. What happens to the characters?
Published 14 months ago by ann slovin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutley Heart-pounding!, October 21, 2012
Napolitano has carved out a new genre, and it's called the thriller-crime-social justice novel. The pacing of this story kept me enthralled and looking out for the next twist and Napolitano does this without sacrificing an ounce of character. While the overall context of the story will undoubtedly draw comparisons to Patrick Quinlan and Dennis Lehane, Napolitano masterfully weaves into his story the issues we avoid in everyday human experience, yet are equally disturbed by and curious about the evil depths of man. Where other exceptional writers have "dipped their toes in the water" of these tough subjects, Napolitano not only drives it at the center of his story, he also smacks right on the face. If there is only one book you plan to read in the next month, make it Cadillac River. You will be done reading it before you know it and will be haunted by what some characters do and will equally cheer a sigh of relief that there are still those who fight for justice and what is right. Cadillac River is a barn burner of a read and will leave you breathless. One thing is for sure, after reading this book you won't look at anybody, your family included, the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gutsy and redemptive, November 4, 2012
This review is from: Emily's Wish: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
There are some stories that are too painful not to be told. Jeff Napolitano's Cadillac River tells us one of those stories. It pulls no punches. It focuses on a sensitive topic, child abuse, one that bears witnessing in our culture. The novel has a physical immediacy that hooks me from the opening sentence. I feel the cold and smell the grit of life in an underworld we don't like to think about, much less enter: on the streets, or in a house that turns out to belong to the Mafia. I admire the writer's skill with POV nuances. The perspective shifts from key character to key character, but he makes sure we stay with him. A girl and a boy form a lasting friendship in a terrible environment. Their love transcends it. Their gang of four journeys toward redemption, an epiphanic moment in a river that cleanses them and changes everything. A gripping, suspenseful work of social justice has been written by Mr. Napolitano.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sincere, October 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
At first, a little harsh for my taste, but for some strange reason it pushed my buttons to keep going. I was surprised I actually kept reading. The characters in these kids reminded me of a few other movies with kids, so that wasn't a real unique thing for me, but the subject matter along with the mob story really set it apart. If you have the time for a new author with a creative, somewhat poetic style, halfway through and onward it got me hooked into what felt like a potential best seller and it's ending message was important enough to give it a shot. Probably more like a 4 plus-plus, but good message made it a five minus. Very different for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Broken Window, November 1, 2012
This review is from: Emily's Wish: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
This heartbreaker of a story shows the truths of two dysfunctional family products that mend together to create a spiraling love. Christian and Emily are just two young kids fighting for a normal life and it is their parents that try to ruin them. With a twist of revenge and what the Mafia can do, it's an incredible romantic tale that makes for a romance you root for, but these are never pretty. However, this could easily turn into an incredible series or even motion picture one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the book, November 6, 2012
This review is from: Emily's Wish: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
This was a great book..It was very interesting and I enjoyed reading it. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Internisting, November 6, 2012
This review is from: Emily's Wish: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
I see this as a New york Times best seller with ease by the end of the year. You read books, and they are all pretty good, but every once in awhile something really grabs you. It's hard to say why, or describe it, as I'm not the writer type, just a reader looking for stories like this one. The subject matter is pretty severe, so its also hard to have a happy face when writing about it, but this book is one that points out the troubles kids have today and the families who ruin them. Throw in the Mob and a car, and a river filled with hope, and you've got Cadillac River. This book makes a point about abuse that will last a lifetime for sure. And if you are the type that likes to get depressed every now and then only to feel happy afterwards, then for sure you'll be at peace with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Teenage Love Story, February 18, 2013
This review is from: Emily's Wish: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
First of all, I want to say that this book would make an awesome gift for any teenager (boy or girl). After reading it, I bought it for my 13 year old stepdaughter and then again for my 14 year old neighbor (who is a boy). Both thanked me for the great recommendation. I thought the book was very interesting- and I read that one reviewer mentioned it didn't hold his interest. I'm thinking perhaps he wasn't interested in the younger-aged characters? It would make a great story with adult characters too. But I thought the fact they were merely children made it for a much more interesting tale. So if you're looking for a more 'adult' story, this might not be your best buy. But if you're looking for something that both you and your teenage kid could find intrigueing- I highly suggest this book.

The book was written very well, and it did keep me reading to the very end. The characters (although in a 'mob setting') are very relatable. And the fact that the Mafia is incoorperated into this story makes it a thriller romance- which I find appeals to both genders of teenagers. The mob aspect keeps boys interested, while the romantic parts keep the girls intrigued. All in all a great buy for both teenagers and adults alike. I loved it and so did the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undiscovered Youth, January 2, 2013
This review is from: Emily's Wish: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
I feel so helpless after reading this, but hope that by sharing my thoughts, others will take a small moment of grace to make a difference in their own lives. These kids in this story bring back the memories of what it was like to live simply, and how the adults take it all away from them, yet they all must pay for their sins. I hope others feel the same way I did after reading this, that someone cares and can see it too, that things can be fixed from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating novel that goes through true friendship, love and challenge, December 19, 2012
This review is from: Emily's Wish: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
This is the breath taking dramatic story of Christian, Emily and Derek. A fascinating novel, a psycological approach on childrens' feelings and innocence that is cruelly lost in the world of grown ups.
It is a well written story with sharp dialogues and sustained action that keeps you alert from the beggining to the end. A perfect fictional study of the psycology of the children who have to grow up fast in a brutal and ugly society. An absolutely recommended novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, December 19, 2012
This review is from: Emily's Wish: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Cadillac River is an awe-inspiring piece of work leaving you on the edge of your seat wanting more of both author and character. It is brilliant, colorful, and absolutely an outstanding read. Within the first couple pages Napolitano unleashes his prolific style of writing that he does so well. Readers will love the journey that he takes them on through-out the book. Simply a gripping and triumphant piece...! This is one for your personal library, get your copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Emily's Wish: A Novel
Emily's Wish: A Novel by Jeff Napolitano
$6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.