Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mixtape which, mostly, succeeds.
Eminem is an enigma to the hip-hop world. Back in the day, when he was nothing more than an underground Detroit emcee pushing EP's to make a living, he was spitting lyrics on par with some of the game's most respected lyricists; I'm talking Nas, and Wu-Tang knowledge here. Infinite and The Slim Shady EP contained hardcore lyrics by a young emcee, who'd studied his craft...
Published on January 7, 2007 by Pablo

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Album
This album is an average rap album. It has moderate beats and lyrics. There is also a reasonable amount of filler. "You Don't Know" is a decent club banger and "No Apologies" gives us a glimpse and a reminder of the old eminem before his encore album.
Published on April 3, 2007 by J


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mixtape which, mostly, succeeds., January 7, 2007
This review is from: Eminem Presents: The Re-Up (Audio CD)
Eminem is an enigma to the hip-hop world. Back in the day, when he was nothing more than an underground Detroit emcee pushing EP's to make a living, he was spitting lyrics on par with some of the game's most respected lyricists; I'm talking Nas, and Wu-Tang knowledge here. Infinite and The Slim Shady EP contained hardcore lyrics by a young emcee, who'd studied his craft extensively; his vocabulary was superb, and his flow was one of the most polished, yet energetic anyone had heard at the time. He was poised for success, and success came to him, with the help of Dr. Dre. I have no problem admitting that The Slim Shady LP and Marshall Mathers LP were two of the best mainstream hip-hop releases of any era, and the level of lyrical dexterity Eminem displayed on those releases is often overlooked by poor, and flawed criticism. The Eminem Show was also pretty tight, but it showed that Eminem had begin to faulter; his subject matter had become redundant, and concepts like Hailie's Song failed miserabley. It was still more than solid, as a whole, but it showed that Em may've taken a step backwards. I think Encore more than solidified this belief; I don't care who would've released Encore, because whether it was Eminem, Nelly, or Kool G. Rap, that album would've come across as a steaming pile of ish.

It was horrible to watch Eminem's lyrical self-destruction; as much personal self-destruction as he put on wax, he had always remained a razor-sharp emcee, with superior wit compared to his contemporaries. People forget that while he's always been a media darling, the only reason he truly blew up in hip-hop wasn't marketing; it was skills. While many people say Eminem's overrated, and by his hardcore fans, he may very well be, he's actually underrated by the core of hip-hop heads. He has spit, admittedly and unfortunately, some garbage within the last few years, but that doesn't detract from the legacy he's created since the Infinite EP dropped. On The Re-Up, Eminem seems to have made a return to form; however, when i say Eminem's returned to form, I don't neccessarily mean he's back to his Slim Shady ways. Slim Shady is virtually dead; that persona has a very unlikely chance of ever resurfacing, because Eminem's grown far too much to ever return to the playful, yet malevolent demeanor that Shady had. Now, he's a disgruntled emcee who's just looking to solidify his spot as one of the best in the game; and honestly, for Eminem at this point, that's an entirely appropriate stance for him to take.

Throughout The Re-Up, on the track Eminem features, he brings his a-game, at least on the rhyme-side of things. Em's production is still a bit bland, and this album would've benefitted had there been less of Em's fingertips on it behind the boards. Nonetheless, while the production isn't phenomenal, it is more than solid; the Shady roster carry the bulk of this release, and do quite well. Now, honestly, the members of Shady Records aren't exceptional artists; Cashis has some great potential, but that's virtually it for now. Bobby Creekwater sounds eerily like T.I., if Tip were still an amateur. Creekwater is an average emcee, but unless he was holding something back on this release, I don't see a very bright future ahead of him. I've never really been a fan of Stat Quo, and while he does get two bangers on this release from Focus and Dre, he still doesn't step things up lyrically. The surviving members of D12(sans Eminem) all appear on this album, and none of them have stepped their games up; Proof was clearly the only one who was above-average in the group, and it shows on his posthumous cut, "Trapped." 50 Cent, having been out of the mainstream for a while now, seems rather hungry, and it shows on his rare appearances throughout this album. He doesn't steal the show, but he does provide some promise for his upcoming release, and possibly dropping something better than The Massacre was. Obie Trice is still the best emcee Eminem has signed, but sadly, just like on his last solo, he's also gotten some pretty poor production to showcase his skills with. If Obie had gotten some Alchemist, or Dre cuts on this release, it would've pushed it even further in terms of quality.

This is by no means a bad release; it's actually very good, and surprisingly so. For a mixtape, and yes, this is still a mixtape, it's a rare one that provides more quality than quantity; and with 22 tracks, there's a lot of quantity. It could've been cut down, for sure; rehash like the Smack That and Shake That(gets confusing, I know) remixes could've been done without, and really shouldn't have made it onto this release once it received national distribution. The Re-Up is a great compilation, and it shows that Eminem maybe back to form, but only time can truly determine that; for now, don't dwell on Eminem's stance in the game though, and pick up The Re-Up. More than solid, but not outstanding, it's a good release that should hold Shady fans over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eminem is back, December 5, 2006
This review is from: Eminem Presents: The Re-Up (Audio CD)
Eminem Presents The Re-Up started out as a mixtape project, but Eminem decided to release the album so the new artists, Bobby Creekwater, Stat Quo, and Ca$his would gain more popularity. And yes, it was a good idea, even though the album felt like it was made for Eminem and 50 Cent. The new artists actually did some decent songs, but Eminem and 50 Cent gave the best performance. The best songs were Public Enemy #1 and No Apologies. No Apologies is one of the most serious songs he's made since The Eminem Show. That song is a classic. Eminem and 50 Cent did much better on this than they did on their last albums. Hopefully, if they eventually make new albums, they'll be as good as this. It's worth listening to and if you're an Eminem fan, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eminem and 50 Carry This Project, December 5, 2006
This review is from: Eminem Presents: The Re-Up (Audio CD)
Eminem Presents the Re-Up is a decent cd. There are some serious FIRE tracks here. The lesser known acts on this cd do a decent job here. In my opinion, if they are truly the "featured" artist on this cd, then Eminem and 5o should have stayed away. These two outshine the new artists on this cd making it hard to listen to the new artist when 50 and Em's tracks are so hot. This is worth the buy just to hear these two! Why doesnt 5o cent always rap with this much heat?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Album, April 3, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eminem Presents: The Re-Up (Audio CD)
This album is an average rap album. It has moderate beats and lyrics. There is also a reasonable amount of filler. "You Don't Know" is a decent club banger and "No Apologies" gives us a glimpse and a reminder of the old eminem before his encore album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Grouping Of New Artist In 2006!!!!!, December 12, 2006
By 
This review is from: Eminem Presents: The Re-Up (Audio CD)
This album caught me COMPLETELY by surprise. I mean...Eminem is one of the most talented artists, PERIOD! I knew he we group together a killer squad, but DAMN! Honestly, I would usually skip the tracks that would have Bizarre on them, but I DIDN'T SKIP "Murder"!!! All of Eminem, D12, Obie Trice, 50 Cent, Stat Quo, Bobby Creekwater, Cashis, etc. held SHADY/AFTERMATH correct!!!! If this is what I'm to expect with the rest of what's to come from these artists, I will be satisfied for years to come. This album, no matter WHAT th'f#ck people say about its format, is one of my favorites of 2006, and I MEAN THAT!!!!! I RECOMMEND THIS ALBUM TO ANY SHADY/AFTERMATH FAN! YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is a good showcasing of Fresh Talent, January 29, 2007
This review is from: Eminem Presents: The Re-Up (Audio CD)
I have listened to this album straight about 5 times. Now I am not the biggest Eminem fan nor am I the Biggest 50 Cent fan but I can appreciate this album. It has diversity of artist and production. It does exactly what it was created and that is to show off the new Blood and also give shine to the entire Shady/Aftermath artist. Now not every artist on the Label is on it but D-12 (Including a snippet from Proof R.I.P), Obie Trice, "Mix tape Savage" Stat Quo, and new artist Bobby Creekwater and Cashis. The songs are good enough to listen to from beginning to end. There are obviously some tracks that are not as good like some of the track by new artist Bobby Creekwater and Cashis but this is strong attributed to the fact I personally haven't heard much of their material but they all carry their flow well and this is a fair showing on their behalf. I don't normally write review but after reading some of these I gotta comment "I would rather buy Justing Timberlake or K-F%d" First off Justin Timberlakes album is amazing musicly that kid is doing amazing things to disrespect him in the same line or even the same discussion with K-F%d show you really are missing a point. And the other review about Buying Ghost Face is right this album is a commercial release and is not Grimey Gritty street banger like Pretty Tony's album Supreme Clientele not Fish Scale. So to the hardcore rap fan who loves strong lyrics and doesn't care for production or huge names there is still some stuff to appreciate. Check my Rap sheets I love hip-Hop this is not the strongest showing of the new year but it is definitely a decent showing of Shady and the diversity if its Artist. 4 Stars it was better than average and it worth the buy to listen to some artist Spit some decent music that carry a beat and have a flow. It is worth the pick up. Listen to the snippets of the songs and you will find yourself bumping your head and after that open your ears and listen to the lyrics Fifty and Em haven't fallen off as others would accuse and Obie Is so underrated its a crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Shady mixtape, December 5, 2006
By 
This review is from: Eminem Presents: The Re-Up (Audio CD)
Eminem started this out as a mixtape but it got good buzz and he decided to release a full album showing off himself, D-12 (even Proof is on here (R.I.P.), 50 Cent & Lloyd Banks, Stat Quo and his new artists Cashis & Bobby Creekwater (like Stat Quo are nothin special) and a cameo by Nate Dogg & Akon. With 21 songs/freestyles you get a lot of material and a lot from all of the artists involved, 1 classic, 7 ok songs, and the other 13 are good and a few are real good songs. Production is pretty good and mostly handled by Eminem (10 of the 21 songs), Alchemist does 3, Witt & Pep and Rikanatti each do 2, Dr. Dre, Focus, Disco and Akon all do 1 song. A nice album to have for fans of the Shady camp.

#2 - 8 (eminem (dissin AZ for some reason as he's one of the best), stat quo, bobby creekwater, cashis)

#3 - 8 (obie trice)

#4 - 8.5 (bizarre & kuniva) -- nice beat

#5 - 7 (cashis)

#6 - 7.5 (eminem & 50 cent)

#7 - 10 (CLASSIC!! -- 50 cent, eminem, cashis, lloyd banks -- great beat)

#8 - 8 (eminem f/ 50 cent)

#9 - 9 (proof (R.I.P.) -- 16 bars)

#10 - 7 (swifty f/ kon artis)

#11 - 7 (cashis)

#12 - 6 (stat quo)

#13 - 8 (cashis & obie trice)

#14 - 8 (bobby creekwater -- nice beat)

#15 - 7 (stat quo)

#16 - 7.5 (akon f/ stat quo & bobby creewater)

#17 - 9 (eminem -- nice beat)

#18 - 8.5 (stat quo -- good beat)

#19 - 8.5 (50 cent -- remix of his "Ski Msk Way")

#20 - 9 (bobby creekwater, nate dogg, obie trice -- nice beat)

#21 - 8 (obie trice, kuniva, cashis, bobby creekwater, stat quo)

#22 - 9 (eminem)

Check all my reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets make one thing clear..., December 22, 2006
This review is from: Eminem Presents: The Re-Up (Audio CD)
This is not our grandpa's Slim Shady. What is going on with Em is that he is manuevering himself into the main stream of hip hop and gangsta rap. What use to be a unique and interesting sound for Em (slim shady LP through Eminem Show) is now tired silliness (encore, curtain call). When Em got into the game, a was BETTER than on top of his game, he was in a league of his own. I mean who rapped about the things that Em rapped about? Nobody right? The fact that he lit a fire under the the rap world fueled his success. The only problem with lighting a fire under hip hop, is that if it doesn't catch (I.E. Gangsta rap, Crunk music, Hyphy movement), your left looking a tad burned out, and frankly; wierd. Em realizes this and refuses to fall off, and shouldn't given that he IS the one of the best lyricists in Hip Hop today. Whether than make more and more music to be considered "Classic slim" by the shady faithful, and obscure by everyone else, Mathers answers his critics, his competition and the game with the Re-Up.

As a stand alone album, the Re-up features some exceptional talent. Theres the Pacs of the game and theres the "Mike Jones'" of the game, and these rappers lean viciously towards the Pac end of the talent stream. There is a certain swagger you are able to come with when your entire team is overacheiving on they're respective tracks. Easily distinguishable from the pack are Em and 50 which are respectively the most and least talented of Shady Records newest posse (I'll leave it to you to guess which is which). The rhymes are hard, even if some of the songs are dated. Just like in any other CD you have songs that are bangers and songs that coast. This album has more bangers than most, and proves that you can still blow out the bass without breaking out the 808 that many artists have become so fond of. Em's new found energy is complimented by his loyal and highly talented apprentices and coligues. Of these rappers, Stat Quo, Ca$his, and Bobby Creekwater uses the album as a launchpad, spitting some of the most memorable lines in the album.

Don't let the name fool you. This is closer to what you would expect from a G-Unit album than anything the Em faithful will endorse. If you liked "You don't know", the radio banger that served as the album's first single, than expect to be in LOVE with the rest of the CD. If it seemed more like a G-Unit joint featuring Eminem (which it wasn't by the way), than you may want to consider rethinking your purchase. Either way you go, understand that Em is in tip top condition, and his almost "crunk" since of energy is a refreshing addition to his already sick lyrical prowess. Just don't expect to have an OD and wristslitting party to the lyrics like you may have been able to do with previous Em Lps. Despite it being a new Shady and more guest heavy than any Em album on the shelves right now, it is gangsta rap at it's finest, and trunk bangin, mind blowing music greatness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eminem Presents: The Re-Up, December 17, 2006
This review is from: Eminem Presents: The Re-Up (Audio CD)
Eminem's latest project "Eminem Presents: The Re-Up" (2006) is a solid release. The highlight of this release for me was Eminem's exceptional closer "No Apologies", a powerful cut where Shady shines dropping some on point lyrics matched by an addictive beat. Eminem lets the critics know what he thinks of them, and shows that he can still rip up tracks with the same hunger he had as a young MC. Another favorite track of mine is the single "You Don't Know", 50 Cent, Ca$his,Lloyd Banks and Eminem deliver a killer collaboration, a cut to blast in the ride. Another memorable collaboration is an older released Eminem/Proof (R.I.P.) collab on the grimy "Trapped". The album's Remixes are decent but are not much different from the original tracks (IE Pistol Pistol, Ski Mask Way, Smack That). I am not that impressed with some of the up and coming MC's Shady is bringing in: Stat Quo, Bobby Creekwater, Cashis. All the same Eminem, and 50 provide highlight track's making this Mixtape a release worth checking out. 3.5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 50 is back?, December 5, 2006
This review is from: Eminem Presents: The Re-Up (Audio CD)
Any true hip-hop fan can tell you that fifty has fallen off since Get Rich or Die Tryin. But at least for the time being he's got my ear with this album. Eminem doesn't quite have as much relevant material as he used to but his presence on this album is enough to get it. As for the new artists, they are truly outshined by the Shady veterans. To me, the whole dirty south, ATL style doesn't mesh with Em and Fifty, so it just feels like these artists are being forced on the listener. Unfortunately the only Dre track on the entire album is a solo by Stat-Quo, but overall i would recommend this album to anyone that wants to hear some fresh, quality material from the Shady crew. When it comes down to it it's just a good filler until Nas finally drops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eminem Presents: The Re-Up
Eminem Presents: The Re-Up by Eminem (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.