Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Addition to the Family
ETW has been a pleasure to play.

Economics/Development - Economics and trade are both somehow more complex and yet easier to understand. Much better than previous editions in the TW family. You are not only able to know where your goods are going and how they are getting there, but you have much more ability to develop trade resources and economic...
Published 17 months ago by Christopher Perry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Okay
The overall flow of the game was tad disappointing.
I've tried it a few times, but it doesn't grab me like Rome 1 or Medieval 2 does.
Published 9 months ago by Darren


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Addition to the Family, July 17, 2013
By 
Christopher Perry (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Empire: Total War Collection [Download] (Software Download)
ETW has been a pleasure to play.

Economics/Development - Economics and trade are both somehow more complex and yet easier to understand. Much better than previous editions in the TW family. You are not only able to know where your goods are going and how they are getting there, but you have much more ability to develop trade resources and economic infrastructure. The system of raiding trade routes is satisfying, and you can see the financial impact of blocking trade to an enemy. Unlike previous TW games, settlement growth is not confined to the one city per province model. Rather you have a regional capital where you recruit troops and build/expand buildings, and scattered about your province you have villages that crop up and eventually develop into towns or ports and you can determine what type of town you want, based on needs and goals. This for more interesting play AND adds an added element to warfare, where the goal might not necessarily be outright conquest of a territory (or you might not be strong enough to take the capitol), but you can disrupt research, destroy farms, damage the economy and create religious and social unrest by attacking other settlements in a region. It's no longer enough to just defend the city but the entire region as well.

Land Warfare - Is familiar enough and intuitive with earlier TW games.

Naval Warfare - Is difficult, especially when you control multiple ships. Luck plays a much greater role than in land warfare, in that wind and wave can impact your shots, and sometimes you lose a mast, or catch on fire, or just freaking explode. But it's an interesting challenge!

Agents - Gentlemen and Rakes are an interesting change and, I think, totally appropriate to the setting. There are discussions on the TW forum about the utility of the agent characters for different purposes, but I like the way they are employed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Okay, March 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Empire: Total War Collection [Download] (Software Download)
The overall flow of the game was tad disappointing.
I've tried it a few times, but it doesn't grab me like Rome 1 or Medieval 2 does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this game!!!, October 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Empire: Total War Collection [Download] (Software Download)
I have played 73 hours so far. It's addicting. I don't even watch tv anymore. It is especially easy to download from amazon, no need for a cd/dvd to load, and you can download it as many times as you need. If you are a strategy game lover than this is for you. It plays similar to Civilization except that when 2 armies meet you actually can control what happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good genre game, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Empire: Total War Collection [Download] (Software Download)
I liked Rome total war and this further improved the legacy of these turn base strategy games. I would recommend to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, April 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Empire: Total War Collection [Download] (Software Download)
I think I played about every country and would keep playing it. enjoyed the game a lot and look forward to many more battles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The game is great. Naval battles, July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Empire: Total War Collection [Download] (Software Download)
Steam was a bit of a hassle. The game is great. Naval battles FTW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Installation, December 20, 2012
This review is from: Empire: Total War Collection [Download] (Software Download)
The game key is delivered instantly.
But for some random reason, Steam won't acknowledge the key.
My other game works fine, there's only problem with this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game, May 16, 2013
This review is from: Empire: Total War Collection [Download] (Software Download)
This game rocks! There is strategy and all the elements of war. This game is even educational. You are able to take on the view of a military commander and instead of worrying about the economy there are two types. Skirmishes, and Conquest. Conquest has a economic factor while the skirmishes is also more of a Age of empires without the economic factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't what I expected, October 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Empire: Total War Collection [Download] (Software Download)
Thought it would be more like the interface like the other total war games. Instead seriously disappointed me. Wish I could go back in time and stop myself from downloading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST TOTAL WAR!, July 4, 2013
By 
Mario A. Laborem G. (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Empire: Total War Collection [Download] (Software Download)
If the strategic RTS games are your thing, please not think about it. Just buy it. It's THE BEST. Your only problem will be the time... you lost your free time for many months!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.