Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly Funny Movie
I don't know if you'd want to add this to your permanent comedy shelf, but it is a fairly funny movie. I found some memorable characters and could certainly laugh at the way a few of the employees took their 'low level' jobs so seriously, as if training for the Olympics. There were also some very revealing truths to the working class that helped raise the amusement level...
Published on January 25, 2007 by Chrissy K. McVay

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formula
This was an enjoyable film. My big problem is that it is a standard formula film that I have seen a dozen times over. They really added nothing new to the equation. You have a likeable slacker who lives with his grandmother and works a nowhere job for a Sam's Club type company. You have a mean nemisis who is the head cashier. Enter a new employee, a drop dead...
Published on January 20, 2007 by RG69


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formula, January 20, 2007
This review is from: Employee of the Month (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
This was an enjoyable film. My big problem is that it is a standard formula film that I have seen a dozen times over. They really added nothing new to the equation. You have a likeable slacker who lives with his grandmother and works a nowhere job for a Sam's Club type company. You have a mean nemisis who is the head cashier. Enter a new employee, a drop dead gorgeous girl and the slacker takes it on himself to win her over by being a good employee and become employee of the month. He then has to battle the mean nemisis with a bunch of gags with his group of strange friends. Then at the end, he has a misunderstanding with the girl when some of his lies and deeds come out. But in the end he redeems himself and all is good. Cook is good in the role. I would have like to see him ad lib some more and make the movie more his own. Simpson is okay, her big contribution to the movie is various low cut tops. Dax I thought was great with his Pedro like boxer. A fair budget and decent acting save this one. I would rent it first rather than making a blind buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars `The Universe Always Has A Plan Zack", January 18, 2007
This review is from: Employee of the Month (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I can't believe I'm saying this but I must. I enjoyed watching `Employee of the Month' starring Dane Cook and the infamous Jessica Simpson in this light-hearted comedy/romance about finding love and selling in bulk. I didn't intend to watch this film because I thought it was going to be yet another vehicle for Miss Simpson to giggle and jiggle her way to the top of the Hollywood food chain. However I was eventually swayed at my daughters insistance and agreed to a viewing.

It definitely was not what I expected. Dane Cook was quite enjoyable in the part of Zack, box boy at the local Super-Club mega store and Jessica Simpson played it straight and somewhat subdued in her role as Amy, the stores new cashier.

Obviously there's nothing deep or profound here, just good, clean fun that the whole family can enjoy. Watch and see who's the greatest cashier of them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly Funny Movie, January 25, 2007
This review is from: Employee of the Month (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I don't know if you'd want to add this to your permanent comedy shelf, but it is a fairly funny movie. I found some memorable characters and could certainly laugh at the way a few of the employees took their 'low level' jobs so seriously, as if training for the Olympics. There were also some very revealing truths to the working class that helped raise the amusement level. Worth watching at least once.

Chrissy K. McVay - Author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "This is an '81 Honda! How dare you!", October 9, 2006
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
So now add EMPLOYEE OF THE MONTH to the ongoing list of slacker movies. No, it's no CLERKS or OFFICE SPACE, but, nevertheless, I found it quite charming and certainly convivial enough to give it three stars. The acting efforts of stand-up comic Dane Cook and Groundlings alum and Cook's movie nemesis Dax Shepard propel the movie and give it its comedic gusto. The rest of the cast, including some so-called professional funnymen, vary from congenially effective to tepid.

Most of us can relate, at some point or another, to people suffering the woes and aggravations of wasting away in a dead end job. We've all felt that overriding sense of boredom and career unfulfillment. Imagine toiling away at a Costco-like superstore as the lowest of the low, the much lamented position of Box Boy. Dane Cook plays Zack Bradley, a likable, laid back box boy at the Super Club ("where buying in bulk is our God-given right") who was quite content to let the glory go to cocky, super go-getter Vince Downey (Dax Shepard), the "fastest cashier in the Southwest Region." That is, until he falls for new cashier girl Amy Renfrew (Jessica Simpson). Her personal file indicates Amy will only date employees of the month. So Zack decides to be that employee of the month but then has to contend with chief rival Vince, who has held that position for 17 months running. And if Vince gets it for the 18th time, he'll break the Super Club record and will win the grand prize of a brand newish 2005 Chevy Malibu. Will Zack be able to summon some reserve of ambition and achieve this oh-so-lofty goal? Will Dax Shepard steal the movie away from Dane Cook? Will Jessica Simpson ever get past acting on a vapid level?

Every now and then, I feel like veering away from Oscar caliber type movies and getting down and dirty, cinema-wise (and, no, I don't mean those kinds of movies). I'm probably gonna go check out THE DEPARTED in the following weeks, but, tonight, I was in the mood for some crude, unPC shtick. I mean, what do you expect from this B-level cast and from Dane Cook? Rated PG Bill Cosby stylings? C'mon, now. This is pretty much the low-brow stuff that I thought the movie was gonna have, and I'm pretty content after having seen it. It contained enough chuckle-and-laugh-out-loud-worthy moments and enough shots of the nicely-endowed, scantily-clad Jessica Simpson that I didn't feel I wasted my money. Folks wandering into the theatre in search of Shakespearean styles of thespianism are in the wrong freakin' place. EMPLOYEE OF THE MONTH is fully a frat movie, its core audience predominantly composed of juveniles and juveniles-at-heart. It does strive to be sweet at times and even attempts to drive home a message late in the flick (which I actually think proved to be more of a detriment to the film).

There are some things that the movie missed out on. Casting, for example. Amy Smart would've been perfect for this role (although, she's perfect in any role) and would've done so much more with Amy Renfrew than Jessica Simpson did here. The word is still out on whether Simpson can act, but there's no doubting that she looks fine. Come to think of it, Ryan Reynolds probably would've also improved on the Zach Bradley role. And I've never been an Andy Dick fan. Guy is too out there and, worst of all, is NOT funny. The film also suffers from not taking enough chances (you could sense Dane Cook biting his tongue in many of the scenes), and the ending was definitely too smaltzy. The humor is also not mined enough in Andy Dick's blind-as-a-bat character, who toils away in the eye-care department. Same goes for the character of Gary Ross, the domineering dwarf.

But, fear not, this comedy flick does offer some nice touches. I liked the idea of a secret hangout located on top of one of the towering, warehouse-like piles of store stock supplies, the concept of the store manager (named Glen Gary) being afraid of his big brother (named, Glen Ross, who turns out to be an imperious dwarf), and Efren Ramirez as Vince's sycophant lackey. Dane Cook, while not Ryan Reynolds, still is very serviceable in the lead role and you almost buy into his 180 degree redemption from a deadbeat to a responsible citizen. And Jessica Simpson does look VERY hot. And, with respect to the other actors, Dax Shepard is truly the one to watch in this film. The combination of arrogance and insecurity he instills within his role makes Vince Downey the most well-rounded character in the movie.

So, kudos to Dax Shepard, Dane Cook, Harland Williams, Efren Ramirez, and - fine! - kudos also to Jessica Simpson. Slackers of the World, unite. Go down some suds, scarf a steak sandwich, and get yourself to the nearest cinema and revel in the low-rent but funny experience that is EMPLOYEE OF THE MONTH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Employee of the Month, February 6, 2007
This review is from: Employee of the Month (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
This was OK not as funny as the trailer made it out to be but it was ok, the film did'nt focus as much on Jessica Simpson as the trailer made out it would but ok for an everning in with nothing else to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scan this....or don't, January 20, 2007
By 
g1984gle (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Employee of the Month (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I think Dane Cook is funny, but not so funny here. I felt like someone hit him over the head with a sledge hammer a few times to dumb down his comedy for this flick. There were definitely a few LAUGH OUT LOUD moments in this film, and Andy Dick should take the credit for a few of them, but other than those few moments, this film is boring. The script tries to get all romantic on the viewer, and for one scene, it works (Jessica and Dane getting sweet about big ears), but it's really just a flat comedy about Costco and trying to scan items really fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny parts, overall not bad. As expected., February 6, 2007
By 
Wiseguy 945 (Cedar Rapids, IA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Employee of the Month (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
As expected, a pretty good movie. Not nessecarily a "must see", but a good entertaining comedy that you could rent or buy here cheep on amazon for some good laughs. I expected maybe a bit more over the top from Dane cook. It seemed a bit layed back for even him. I can't even really flaw jessica simpson in this movie, it wasn't a very demanding role and she filled the part well enough. So check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flat Out Smokin'!, February 12, 2007
By 
R. A Rubin (Eastern, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Employee of the Month (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
All right -- just shut up! This is not Schindlers List you morons. It's a light comedy, just bordering on dumb, but with far more heart than any Will Farrell extravaganza.

Jessica Simpson is flat out smokin', so her bright, ah smile is all a man needs for fine viewing. But maybe you're not man enough for Jessica; okay, so you got that problem, hey, nothing wrong wit that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attention all shoppers...!, June 10, 2010
By 
Jingle Bell Rock~N~Rolla (Detroit Rock City, Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Employee of the Month (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I just had to write a little review for this movie after I saw that it is only averaging a 3-star rating. What's up with that? This is a great comedy and one of my favorites. It is silly, but cute and light-hearted and a lot of fun. It has a great cast too with Dane Cook being his normal nutty self, and Dax Shepard, Harland Williams, Andy Dick, Tim Bagley, Efren Ramirez, and Jessica Simpson as employees at a big box store who are all competing for employee of the month. Dane is very funny and Dax is great as the foil to Dane's slacker box boy who is trying to gain favor and respect from Simpson by being nominated employee of the month.

I thought this movie was so good that I'd really like to see the cast return again for a sequel. I read somewhere that Dane Cook is interested in doing a sequel to it, but whether that ever happens is up to Hollywood. Either way, if you are looking for a good comedy to enjoy, definitely give Employee of the Month a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, February 16, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Employee of the Month (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
It had its funny moments, not the best movie I've ever seen though. Its got Jessica Simpson in it - I didn't expect much... lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Employee of the Month (Widescreen Edition)
Employee of the Month (Widescreen Edition) by Gregory Coolidge (DVD - 2007)
$9.98 $6.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.