Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent resource
This is an excellent resource for both Human Resources professionals and managers. It offers practical and useful advise as to the root of the reason for the non performance of an employee. I've used this book to assist managers in coaching and counseling sessions for many years.
Published on June 19, 2008 by V. Lesniak

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Start for Those New to Management
Reading Why Employees Don't Do What They're Supposed To...and What To Do About It is just one book out of a "set" that I checked out from our local library that I am currently reading my way through. My housemate was recently promoted to a general manager position at a national pizza chain and was supposed to receive on the job training...but typically, has received none...
Published on November 3, 2007 by Amy Aldrich


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Start for Those New to Management, November 3, 2007
By 
Amy Aldrich (Scottsdale, AZ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Why Employees Don't Do What They're Supposed To and What You Can Do About It (Paperback)
Reading Why Employees Don't Do What They're Supposed To...and What To Do About It is just one book out of a "set" that I checked out from our local library that I am currently reading my way through. My housemate was recently promoted to a general manager position at a national pizza chain and was supposed to receive on the job training...but typically, has received none. So, we thought it might be helpful to do some reading on the subject of leadership, management and supervision of employees. This is our second read and overall, I'd say it covers the basics and is a great lead off for doing a reading set (as we are) but this book would probably be useless to anyone who had had adequate management experience or for those who have already done extensive reading in this area.

Fourines leads off with the premise that there are essentially 16 reasons or "root causes" for conflict between employees and managers and he sets out to systematically explain, clarify and give examples for each. It might have been nice for the author to acknowledge that his moderate and positive approach to these issues and problems do not always work...and he offers no progression or escalation of steps beyond the very basics...so if you have one of the problems he's describing and the solution given doesn't work, the author really hadn't helped delineate what the progression from there might or should be. The writing here is simple, concise and accessible and the author makes his point very well (with the exception of escalation of problems beyond the scope given). We both enjoyed reading this and feel it's best used by those new to management who are not receiving mentoring or adequate on the job training as they are starting out. Long-time managers or those well read in this area might enjoy it as a reminder or refresher for the basics of management but won't find much else to inspire or learn in these pages. Ultimately I give Fourines book 3 stars...a good place to start, but don't stop here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent resource, June 19, 2008
This review is from: Why Employees Don't Do What They're Supposed To and What You Can Do About It (Paperback)
This is an excellent resource for both Human Resources professionals and managers. It offers practical and useful advise as to the root of the reason for the non performance of an employee. I've used this book to assist managers in coaching and counseling sessions for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful, interesting look at management and job performance issues, July 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Employees Don't Do What They're Supposed To and What You Can Do About It (Paperback)
This is a brief, but very informative book about: (1) how managers can better understand why employees are not doing their job duties properly or effectively, and (2) how managers can use that better understanding to carry out their managerial responsibilities more effectively.

The book: (1) provides a framework for managers to evaluate improper or inadequate job performance; (2) identifies 16 reasons why employees are not performing their job tasks properly or adequately; (3) gives concrete examples to explain and illustrate the 16 reasons; (4) compares and contrasts some of the 16 reasons that appear to overlap with other reasons; (5) offers possible solutions for each of the 16 reasons; and (6) presents a good argument for why managers need to engage in "preventive management" rather than react to performance problems after they occur.

One especially good aspect of the book is that its analysis and discussion can be applied to the evaluation of the performance of managers themselves, not just the performance of the employees being managed or supervised. Managers should keep in mind that the 16 reasons for improper or inadequate job performance are applicable to them just as much as to the employees they manage. Managers interested in learning ways to do their jobs better and more effectively should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, easy read!, February 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Employees Don't Do What They're Supposed To and What You Can Do About It (Paperback)
This book is a an easy read and a great resouce. Each chapter is short and to the point. I used this as a development and training tool for my management team. Great way to develop supervisors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best "Business" book ever., November 15, 2013
By 
Suzie Hunter (San Marcos, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Employees Don't Do What They're Supposed To and What You Can Do About It (Paperback)
I hate business books. They are generally impractical and pretentious. In order to puff them up to 300 pages, they start with three chapters of the authors talking about themselves and why and how they wrote the book, then one chapter that makes whatever point they want to make, then more three chapters talking about how much their method will help you.

This little book does none of that. It's points are clear, suggestions are practical, and it doesn't waste your time.

I've been using it to train Managers, both new and experienced, for over 10 years and it has proven its worth time and again. It is the ONLY "business" book I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debug employee problems simply, February 12, 2010
By 
P. Kahn (SF Bay area, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why Employees Don't Do What They're Supposed To and What You Can Do About It (Paperback)
I actually bought this book for my boss. He and I were having friction and he was frustrated. I found this book, and was able to itemize the reasons we were having problems. Goal was not understood, and steps to achieving goal were unclear.

A wonderful book to quickly categorize the primary reason an employee isn't doing what you thought they should be doing. Sometimes, it's the goal, sometimes, the management, sometimes the employee. The reasons in this book allow credit assignment to be made on these points, and proactive corrections determined. This is a basic book on my mgmt reference book bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coaching Feedback Follow-up, February 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Employees Don't Do What They're Supposed To and What You Can Do About It (Paperback)
Excellent follow-up to Dr. Fourines book coaching for improved performance book. The chapters are concise and easy to follow. This is a good reference book to bring into group after spending some time using the coaching resource. Book is short and may be read in an evening or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, May 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Employees Don't Do What They're Supposed To and What You Can Do About It (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book and did help me in focusing on how best resources could be streamlined to ensure better output from employees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Long term employees, aging workforce, long term poor culture, May 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Employees Don't Do What They're Supposed To and What You Can Do About It (Paperback)
This book is a great heads up for leaders and managers struggling to lead change in the workplace. Those constantly facing behaviour barriers, cultural and long term attitudes to any form of best practice change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, July 17, 2008
By 
This review is from: Why Employees Don't Do What They're Supposed To and What You Can Do About It (Paperback)
This is an excellent book to help you understand exactly what the title says. I bought a copy for everyone in my organization who interacts with staff-even if they don't directly supervise them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Why Employees Don't Do What They're Supposed To and What You Can Do About It
Why Employees Don't Do What They're Supposed To and What You Can Do About It by Ferdinand F. Fournies (Paperback - June 7, 2007)
$16.95 $10.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.