Customer Reviews


941 Reviews
5 star:
 (701)
4 star:
 (172)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


129 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If a McDreamy is a wish your heart makes
Some day my prince will come
Some day we'll meet again
And away to his castle we'll go
To be happy forever I know

(Lyrics from Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs - Some Day my Prince Will Come)

"Enchanted" begins in an animated land named Andalasia, with a young girl named Giselle (Amy Adams) meeting the prince of her dreams, Prince...
Published on December 2, 2007 by Amanda Richards

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars thin but entertaining fantasy
***1/2

"Enchanted" is a fish-out-of-water tale that is also an homage to "Snow White," "Sleeping Beauty," "Mary Poppins," and countless other Disney classics that have come before it. Here, a fairy tale princess (Amy Adams) crosses over from the world of animation to the world of live-action, without losing her cheery disposition and otherworldly charm in the...
Published on May 21, 2008 by Roland E. Zwick


‹ Previous | 1 295 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

129 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If a McDreamy is a wish your heart makes, December 2, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Some day my prince will come
Some day we'll meet again
And away to his castle we'll go
To be happy forever I know

(Lyrics from Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs - Some Day my Prince Will Come)

"Enchanted" begins in an animated land named Andalasia, with a young girl named Giselle (Amy Adams) meeting the prince of her dreams, Prince Edward (James Marsden) and preparing to live happily ever after. Andalasia, and large parts of the movie are based on a combination of the Disney worlds of Snow White, Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty, so of course you can count on the appearance of an evil stepmother-wicked witch (Susan Sarandon) to put an end to all the wretched happiness.

As soon as Giselle comes within striking distance of the castle on her wedding day, the witch (disguised as an old hag) zaps her into another world where "happily ever afters" and true love apparently haven't existed for years - present day Manhattan.

Switching to live action, Giselle tries to understand the New York state of mind, and falls into the arms of a McDreamy guy named Robert (I don't have to tell you who the actor is, now do I?) While Giselle begins getting acclimatized and introduces herself to the local wildlife, a rescue party from Andalasia also uses the Manhattan transfer, and soon the streets of New York are stormed by a CGI chipmunk, a prince in search of his missing damsel, and a henchman with a funny accent (Timothy Spall).

If you're a fan of fairy tales, and in particular Disney tales, you'll love the little touches like poisoned apples in the Big Apple, Beauty & the Beast ballroom dancing and glass slippers, but this updated magical, musical, funny fairy tale will be a treat for the whole family.

A definite "YES" for family entertainment, and one you probably should buy when it comes out on DVD. Rated: 4.5 stars

Amanda Richards, December 2, 2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Fairy Tale Gets a Reality Check, November 21, 2007
By 
What would happen when an animated fairy tale princess found herself in our physical world? This question is the basis of "Enchanted," a Disney film addressing the fairy tale clichés so effectively that it's practically a parody. The film begins in the animated world of Andalasia with the opening of a storybook; a voiceover narration says the obligatory, "Once upon a time ..." before we're introduced to Giselle (voiced by Amy Adams), a peasant girl who, of course, lives in a quaint little cottage in the middle of the woods. As you might expect, she thinks of nothing but finding her one true love, going so far as to make a princely mannequin while singing brightly. To top that off, she's friendly with practically every creature inhabiting the forest, and they all pay her a visit as she sings. When she's almost eaten by a troll, the dashing Prince Edward (voiced by James Marsden) rescues her, and the two immediately decide to get married.

But Edward's evil stepmother--Queen Narissa (voiced by Susan Sarandon)--refuses to give up the throne and vows to stop the wedding. Disguised as an old hag, she lures Giselle to a magical well and pushes her in. The well is actually a kind of inter-dimensional portal between Andalasia and our world, and according to Narissa, it's a place, "where there are no happily ever afters." Giselle emerges from a manhole in the middle of New York City. Amidst the confusing, frightening hustle and bustle of everyday living--in which people are rude, conniving, and fast-paced--a now-live action Giselle bumps into divorce attorney Robert Philip (Patrick Dempsey) and his six-year-old daughter, Morgan (Rachel Covey). They take her in, although Robert is more than a little anxious about the situation; from his point of view, a delusional woman in a fluffy white princess dress is roaming the streets of Manhattan. Morgan, on the other hand, is thrilled, believing that a real princess has entered her life.

As she prances around with all the grace and joy of the perpetually perky, Giselle gradually learns a few important things: (1) people in the real world don't break out into song for no apparent reason; (2) people don't like it when their curtains are used to make a dress; (3) it isn't appropriate to call forth birds, rats, and roaches to help tidy up; and (4) love is not as simple as meeting one day and marrying the next. Or is it? She and Robert share interesting conversations on the nature of relationships, his stance being that they're incredibly complicated, her stance being that they don't have to be. Considering his failed marriage and his new relationship with a woman named Nancy (Idina Menzel), it's easy to see where he's coming from. Real life is nowhere near as simple as life in Andalasia, a place where Giselle is allowed to be naÔve and trusting.

As far as Prince Edward is concerned, he follows Giselle into Manhattan and begins his heroic search. He's just as naÔve about our world--he mistakes a television for a magic mirror and a bus is a foul metal beast, and he believes he can unsheathe his sword at will. He also speaks in typical Prince Charming lingo, his words boastful and one-tracked. And much like Giselle, he, too, will break into song for no apparent reason. He's accompanied by a Pip, a chipmunk who has lost his Andalasian ability to speak English. Pip constantly tries to warn Edward about Nathaniel (Timothy Spall), Queen Narissa's sniveling weasel of a henchman. Under the guise of being helpful, he does whatever he can to steer Edward in the wrong direction, and most of the time, he succeeds. Will Edward find Giselle? Will they share True Love's Kiss and live happily ever after? Or is her relationship with Robert is more complex than she would like it to be?

As you can probably tell, this film has fun toying with the classic formula of the Disney fairy tale, the most prominent being "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs." So many of its plot devices are spoofed in "Enchanted," from the love struck young maiden to the wicked queen to the brave prince. Yes, even the poisoned apple is reused, and I think it's obvious which characters are involved in that regard. But there are other elements of parody at work here, not the least of which is music composed by Alan Menken. Menken is known for scoring a number of Disney's films during its late twentieth century renaissance: "The Little Mermaid"; "Beauty and the Beast"; "Aladdin"; "Pocahontas"; "The Hunchback of Notre Dame"; "Hercules." Given this track record, I can't think of anyone better suited for the job.

And then there's the final fifteen minutes, which features an impressive computer-animated dragon; a story like this always ends with a climactic fight between the hero and the enemy, and the hero is always supposed to rescue the enemy's captive. But just who is the hero in "Enchanted"? Who is the enemy's captive? The answers aren't all that surprising, but they still make for something entertaining. That's pretty much the way the entire film works--"Enchanted" is a film that's perfectly aware of what it wants to accomplish, and it pokes fun at itself while simultaneously paying homage to the formulas Disney films have followed. Thank goodness it has a sense of humor; this kind of storytelling could only work for so long before starting to get silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of DVD and (lack) of Extras, March 7, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"Enchanted" (2007) has to be one of my favorite Disney movies in years; it is a return to the type of classic movies that were produced under Walt's supervision, but it also acknowledges the times we live in without being too negative. Right off the bat, I was amazed to be able to watch a film that had no profanity and other than the topic of divorce, hardly any adult situations. Of course, there is some 'wink-wink' adult humor that will go over the head of children, but even that is pretty tame. How refreshing to know that an excellent movie can be made without looking like the 10pm news or a tawdry reality show. PLENTY of fun references to vintage Disney films, and a number of cameos by some Disney favorites.

The film begins as a typical classic Disney animated film would; Julie Andrews narrates the story of Prince Edward (James Marsden) from Andalasia, who must find his true love to marry, and his evil stepmother Narissa (Susan Sarandon), who does not want to step down from her throne and will do whatever she can to thwart Edward's search. Enter Giselle (Amy Adams), a maiden of the forest with plenty of animal friends. She too is searching for her true love, and through song and fate, Edward & Giselle meet, fall in love, but are separated by Narissa, who sends Giselle out of the toon world and into the harsh reality of present day New York City. While Edward and Giselle attempt to reunite, a hardened divorce attorney, Robert (Patrick Dempsey) & his daughter attempt to help her along the way. Giselle's positive attitude and belief in true love has a profound effect on Robert, who has apparently been embittered by his own divorce (what actually happened to his first wife is somewhat nebulous, and basically left open for interpretation). Robert is already seeing someone; Nancy (Idina Menzel) is the romantic girl he has been dating for the last five years. No plot spoilers here; you will have to see how it all comes together.

This film rests on the able shoulders of Amy Adams; in the role of Princess Giselle, she could have easily done a parody of Snow White, Cinderella, and the other Disney Princesses. However, she brings warmth, charm, humor, and great emotion to her character; she is totally believeable. James Marsden again shows off his tremendous vocal talent, and as a toon Prince, he gives a letter perfect performance. Although he is a little one-dimensional at times, it works perfectly with the plot and how the movie progresses. Dempsey also does a wonderful job in his role, with just the right amount of bitterness; it is very apparent that he underneath he believes in romance but what happened with #1 has forced him to change. The only weak link in the cast is Sarandon, which is a shame. She is one of our finest actresses, and yet her characterization just misses the mark for me; she lacks the power and evil that we expect from a Disney Villain; in the climax of the film, she almost appears to be yawning through her part. It is the power and force of a Disney Villain that makes their "fall" so enjoyable; evil must be very evil for the triumph of good to be truly satisfying. Still, it hardly detracts from the overall product. The songs in this film will stay with you after you watch the movie...in a good way. Rarely have I immediately been overcome with the desire to purchase the soundtrack from a film in recent years. Overall, a definite 5 stars for this movie.

The DVD is a different story; although there are extras, it does seem like Disney skimped on them. The highlight is the behind-the-scenes look, "FANTASY COMES TO LIVE," at 3 sequences: "Happy Working Song," "That's How You Know," and the Ballroom finale sequence. Seeing the layering of the CGI effects and Amy Adams having to "act" to nothing ("Happy Working Song") gives an even greater appreciation of her talent. You will also learn that one of the dancers from "Mary Poppins" has a cameo in the "That's How You Know" number. There is also an "extra," PIP'S PREDICAMENT: A POP-UP ADVENTURE, that tells the tale of Pip's alerting Edward that Giselle was no longer in Andalasia. MAYBE very young children will find this amusing, but personally, it was a little on the lame side. There is also a "Hidden Mickey" that is basically a promotion for the Bluray version of "Enchanted." The deleted scenes are fun to watch, as is the blooper reel. Neither are very long though. The Carrie Underwood music video for "Ever Ever After" is also included.

I am sure (or at least I hope) there will be a 2-disc special edition in the near future. So, for this 2008 Widescreen edition, I give it 4 stars instead of 5 due to the lack of extras. The movie itself still packs a wallop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightfully fractured fairy tale!, May 29, 2008
By 
Steven Hedge "Movie Fan" (Somewhere "East of Eden") - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is a delight from beginning to end. It really is a film the whole family can enjoy. My 11 year-old was "enchanted" by it, my 16 year old son was laughing hysterically, and my wife and I were never bored once.

This film falls into the "fractured fairly tale" genre much like The Princess Bride which is a difficult genre to produce successfully. To add to the difficulty level this film also tackles the switch over from cartoon world to the real one. "Enchanted" succeeds here as well. The cartoon world is a tribute in style to the old fashioned cartoons we all grew up with, but the comedy and approach of the cartoon component works and is in funny balance to the real world scenes.

Amazon and other reviewers have done a good job summarizing this film and with the traditional elements of most Disney classic cartoons, there isn't much I can add here, so here is my hits and misses approach:

The Misses:

(1) The ending goes a little over the top with effects and seems a bit out of place, although it's still fun and interesting.
(2) The songs are good, even above average in spots, but not nearly as good as prior Disney efforts.

The Hits:

(1) It's a great marriage of cartoon and real world storylines.
(2) The film nails the fractured fairy tale genre right on the head.
(3) The story is engaging no matter what your age is. My whole family truly loved this film.
(4) For the genre this film has terrific acted. Amy Adams is someone anyone one of us would want to marry (or adopt). Her role of the misplaced Princess in New York City is difficult to get a handle on without grating on one's nerve, but she manages to get us to love and adore her. Patrick Dempsey is simply perfect in his role and who would ever think that James (X-Men Trilogy Marsden could sing and act so lightheartedly. Of course, Susan Saradon as the evil witch is perfectly cast and she manages to not go over-the-top as Glenn Close did as Cruella DeVille in 101 Dalmatians. The supporting cast of both familiar and unfamiliar faces are wonderful in their roles. This film is perfectly cast and makes one wonder why there isn't an Oscar category for casting as the person who did it for this film would surely have won it.
(5) Good blend of cartoon, real world, and special effects (even if the end goes a bit wild).
(6) The humor in this film will have you on the floor laughing until your stomach hurts. I kid you not, this film is absolutely hysterical as it pokes gentle fun as Disney's more traditionally family films. Some humor is a bit contrived in a few spots, but many seem like ad libs too.

I can't speak enough good things about this film. This is one to treasure and watch with your family over and over again. I'm sure that I will always find something entertaining in this film even on my 100th viewing.

Respectfully Submitted,
Steve Hedge, May '08
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snow White Gets a Taste of the Big Apple, November 25, 2007
In `Enchanted' two worlds collide: The real world and the animated world. This has been done before. We've seen Tom and Jerry tap dance along with Gene Kelly, and we certainly experienced this fusion in 'Who Framed Roger Rabbit' and later with 'Space Jam'. This time the two worlds are separate, but they meet into one another. As if pop-up books spring characters from children's fantasy stories and brought them live to the modern day world. How would we react? Just the way they do in the movie. People in New York City would wince at Shakespearean actors on the loose and in their way during a busy work day. Much like they did in the movie `Elf' Elf (Infinifilm Edition) with Will Ferrell and James Caan, only better. And as it is with that recent Christmas classic, the meeting is meant to make the world we know a better place. That's why the enchantment works so well.

If you want to bring wide-eyed innocence to the screen, I know of few better ways than to have Amy Adams (`Junebug') play Giselle, a Snow White or Cinderella figure who escapes the evil witch, Narissa (here wonderfully performed by Susan Sarandon in a role we're used to seeing Glen Close or Tilda Swinton play) from the magic kingdom, Andalasia. She's betrothed to Prince Edward (bka "Charming" or James Marsden of `Hairspray` fame) and on the run through a starry expanse that reminded me very closely of a portal used in one of the later `Myst` games. ("Destiny" is his horse, which is to say there isn't too much subtlety here.) And, as each character goes through the symbolically significant portal, a man-hole cover, one easily forgets that this trajectory is a close reading of the focal point of 'Being John Malkovich'. Nevermind all this, however, for no matter how familiar certain elements may feel, the thrust of this film is certainly fresh and inviting.

The witch wants to dissolve their nuptials and has the portly Nathaniel to chase her down. On the allies' side is a chipmunk messenger who has good intentions, but a poor success rate with only charades as his communication method. Running into Giselle is Robert (Patrick Dempsey) a jaded single father who is a prosperous, but floundering attorney. She needs him to shelter her from the rude awakening of a rainstorm on a bad side of town, and he needs her to give him a new outlook in life. He's about to give his hand to Nancy, much to the chagrin of daughter, Morgan.

One of the great merits of this movie is how they suspend our disbelief to the events that occur. Marsden, Adams, and Sarandon bring the otherworld with them in ways that preclude any notions that over acting prima donnas are spilling their way into Central Park and beyond. Particularly Adams' wide-eyed innocence sets up that her displacement can bring real joy and revitalization from the past without seeming facile or saccharine. (Or when it is shown to be wildly unreal, there's plenty of good humor to poke fun of it all when they break into song.)

Once Narissa catches up with them, we begin to see that there really is decency we can draw upon in our own world and a menace that exists in their world that is worse than our own. Innoculated with chivalry and romance, all the dirt and grime of city life are given a face lift along with our spirits. Just like 'Across the Universe' Across the Universe before it, 'Enchanted' is an experience of love and music transcending the dingy mean-spiritedness that is all too often identified as reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars thin but entertaining fantasy, May 21, 2008
By 
***1/2

"Enchanted" is a fish-out-of-water tale that is also an homage to "Snow White," "Sleeping Beauty," "Mary Poppins," and countless other Disney classics that have come before it. Here, a fairy tale princess (Amy Adams) crosses over from the world of animation to the world of live-action, without losing her cheery disposition and otherworldly charm in the process.

On the day she is to be wed to her long-awaited Prince Charming, the beautiful Giselle is tossed out of the storybook kingdom of Analasia by a jealous evil queen (Susan Sarandon) who has no intention of letting some pretty little upstart usurp her throne. When Giselle finally finishes falling, she lands smack dab in the middle of a live-action Manhattan that is only a tad less immaculate and a shade less colorful than the cel-animated world she calls home. The plucky heroine is both dazzled and a bit confused by this strange looking world where the people don't seem quite as friendly or optimistic about life as the inhabitants of Analasia. Giselle is befriended by an unromantic, decidedly commitment-phobic divorce attorney (Patrick Dempsey) who doesn't know quite what to make of this odd, undoubtedly deranged creature who, when she isn't inspiring critters to help her tidy up the apartment or breaking out into full-throated, spontaneous song, is extolling the virtues of true love and declaring her undying faith in happily-ever-after endings.

Most of the fun of "Enchanted" lies in watching this almost impossibly cheerful, utterly imperturbable former cartoon character going up against the harsh realities of the real world (as harsh as the "real world" in any Disney film can be, that is), yet maintaining her sunny disposition throughout. The filmmakers have devised some spot-on parodies of the typical Disney musical number, replete with high-pitched warbling, a chorus of singing animals, and lyrics that reflect an unquenchable conviction that all is for the best in this best of all possible worlds. At times, the idea of the film is better than its execution, opting, as it often does, for silliness and strained slapstick over sophistication and wit. And sometimes, even the concept itself falls flat, as when we are left to ponder whether these creatures, with their weird behavior and exotic garb, would really be all that out of place in Times Square. And, regrettably, the filmmakers couldn't resist throwing an utterly superfluous, CGI-generated dragon into the mix at the end.

Yet, for the most part, the movie is clever, bright and beguiling, and boasts a wonderfully ditzy performance by the lovely Miss Adams that brings the whole sugarcoated confection to life. The material many be stretched a bit beyond its breaking point, but "Enchanted" casts a spell over its audience anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saying This Movie is Enchanting is Just Too Easy, March 21, 2008
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Giselle (Amy Adams) is your standard, run of the mill animated woman. Breaks out into song? Check. Carries on conversations with animals? Check. Dreaming of true love's kiss? Check.

Prince Edward of Andalasia (James Marsden) is also dreaming of finding his true love. At the orders of his evil step mother, the queen (Susan Sarandon), he is kept occupied chasing trolls. That is until one day when he overhears Giselle singing. Its love at first sight, and the two plan to wed the next day.

Step Mommie Dearest doesn't take this lying down, however. Disguising herself as an old hag, she pushes Giselle into a "magic wishing well" that will really destroy all her dreams by sending her to some place where dreams never come true - New York City.

Meanwhile, there's Robert (Patrick Dempsey). Robert is a single father living in New York City who is about to propose to his girlfriend of five years. A divorce lawyer, he is bitter and cynical.

When Giselle and Robert meet accidentally, Robert tries to get out of helping Giselle, but he can't seem to get rid of her. He can't decide what to make of this strange woman. And Giselle certainly doesn't get him or the real world.

But Prince Edward isn't taking the disappearance of his sweetheart lying down. He sets out through the magic well to find Giselle. As more and more fairytale characters keep coming to our world, what will happen? Will any of these characters ever be the same again?

This is such a unique film. It starts out with traditional 2-D animation. But as the fairytale characters enter New York, they become flesh and blood people. And that's when the spoofing really starts.

See, the characters expect the rules of their world to apply to ours. As a result, this movie does spoof certain Disney movie moments (and there are lots of references to those animated movies if you know what to look for). Yet the movie spoofs the genre in general more then any specific story, which makes things work well. In fact, one of my favorite moments was Giselle singing "Happy Little Working Song" as the animals in Central Park help her clean Robert's apartment. Yet this movie has its serious moments as it compares real life and fairytales. It never gets preachy and is very well done. The plot is fairly predictable, but it is a fairytale, so that's no surprise.

Robert and Giselle, as the two main characters, are the most developed. The others just aren't given any emotional development. And that's not a slight against the actors. Everyone does a great job. The animated characters are delicious over the top in our world, but it never gets annoying and works well. The animal characters usually look pretty realistic, but occasionally do look computer animated. Either way, it never really bothered me.

I wish I could stop here, but I can't. While this movie doesn't go overboard with them, there are a couple adult references thrown in. Yes, they are funny. But they aren't exactly subtle. They may lead to some questions after the film is over, so be forewarned.

Having said that, this is a movie that parents and kids can certainly enjoy together. It's got a great theme and plenty of laughs and action. This movie will entertain anyone who watches it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's like you escaped from a Hallmark card or something.", January 21, 2008
Leave your cynicism outside the theater and enjoy "Enchanted," starring the talented Amy Adams. She is captivating as Giselle, the lovely, wholesome, and naÔve young woman who is convinced that all she needs to make her life complete is her one true love. Alas, Prince Edward, aka "Prince Charming," has a rather unpleasant stepmother, Queen Narissa, played with raucous glee by Susan Sarandon. Narissa wants to thwart the lovers so that she can keep the throne for herself. She hatches a diabolical scheme in which she sends Giselle to a far-off place where innocent people are eaten for lunch--New York City.

"Enchanted" adheres to the conventions of the "fish out of water" genre, which was used successfully in such films as "Elf" and "Splash." Giselle emerges from a manhole wearing her tiara and an ornate wedding gown. Luckily for her, she runs into a kindhearted divorce lawyer, Robert Philip (Patrick Dempsey), who is bewildered and bewitched by this strange creature. Besides having a ridiculously optimistic outlook on life and a sickeningly sweet disposition, Giselle has a way with animals (including rats, pigeons, and cockroaches--this is New York, after all) who help her clean house and run errands. Robert's daughter, Morgan, is soon smitten with Giselle; this sweet and pretty lady represents everything that a little girl dreams of in a mother. Robert's girlfriend, Nancy, who has a more down-to-earth and practical disposition than Giselle, is less than entranced by this interloper whom she senses may be a rival for Robert's affection.

The director, Kevin Lima, wisely encouraged his performers to play their parts straight, with nary a wink at the audience. Bill Kelly's witty screenplay pokes fun at such fairy tale clichés as the wicked stepmother with her arsenal of poisoned apples and the plastic, square-jawed prince gallantly wooing his fair damsel. Among the many amusing visuals: Giselle uses curtains and other fabrics that she finds in Robert's house to make cutesy, off-the-shoulder dresses; a chipmunk accompanies Giselle to New York and keeps popping up in odd locations to warn her of the danger that she's in; Giselle strolls in Central Park with Robert and everyone bursts out in merry song.

Amy Adams is adorable as she tries to adjust to an urban environment as well as the realities of modern romance. James Marsden is an appropriately vapid Prince Edward and Susan Sarandon camps it up as the vicious queen. The gorgeous Patrick Dempsey nicely evolves from a bitter realist to a man falling under the spell of a beautiful and soft-hearted woman. The music and lyrics by Alan Menken and Stephen Schwartz are charming, and the animation is effectively eye-catching. "Enchanted" is great fun. Kids, take your parents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, March 10, 2011
This review is from: Enchanted [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Whether you have kids or not, this Disney movie is a delight for people of any age. The characters are top-notch led by Amy Adams who amazes me in her portrayal of a to-be princess who's a fish out of water in NYC. Her performance is so charming, so sweet and just plain believable that it really makes you happy watching her and the story. I can't say that about a lot of films including Disney movies.

The rest of the acting is perfect with a story that is quite entertaining. The musical numbers are great too with Amy involving some cool film effects using animals in the scenes. And they don't over-do the music in this one which can drag a film down at times.

You won't be disappointed in this movie and I recommend it on blu-ray if you don't own it. Either way, you'll be happy you bought this gem of a flick.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Once upon a time...", December 12, 2007
By 
Melissa N. (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I absolutely adored this movie, and I can't believe the Walt Disney company actually made it! "Enchanted" is a hilarious film in which a classic Disney fairytale collides with modern-day New York City. Prince Edward meets his true love, Giselle, in the fairytale world of Andalasia. Unfortunately, the prince's wicked stepmother doesn't want him to get married because she will forced up to give up her position as queen. Evil Queen Narissa pushes Giselle down a magical wishing well, and the poor princess-to-be ends up in a New York City sewer (where she also ceases to be animated).

Needless to say, Giselle (Amy Adams) and her fairytale mentality don't mesh well with the big city lifestyle. Fortunately, she runs into Robert (Patrick Dempsey), a kindhearted lawyer whose young daughter convinces him to lend Giselle a helping hand. Robert's kindness ends up causing a major rift between him and his girlfriend (Idina Menzel), and when Price Edward (James Marsden) finally arrives in the Big Apple to rescue his true love, Giselle realizes that her "happily ever after" story isn't all it's cracked up to be, and her heart may actually belong to someone else.

This is a fantastic film that celebrates (and slightly satirizes) many classic Disney animated films, especially "Snow White" and "Sleeping Beauty." It's such a clever film, and the concept of fairytale characters walking around New York City in the year 2007 is every bit as funny to watch on-screen as you can possibly imagine. I really enjoyed the twist with Giselle's happily ever after ending, which I didn't see coming at first but suited the film perfectly. "Enchanted" also benefits from an outstanding cast. Dempsey and Marsden are excellent, and Susan Sarandon delivers an entertaining performance in the role of Queen Narissa (although I wish she'd been given a bit more screen time). However, this movie belongs to Amy Adams, who is absolutely brilliant and deserves an Academy Award nomination for her performance. She is amazing!

Overall, "Enchanted" is a very enchanting movie that deserves a place of honor in the Disney vault! Children and adults will adore this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 295 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Enchanted [Blu-ray + DVD]
Enchanted [Blu-ray + DVD] by Kevin Lima (Blu-ray - 2011)
$20.00 $9.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.