Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art Dolls & Softees
If you're interested in making that first cloth doll or going deeper and giving your cloth dolls more polish, this is the book for you. Marina covers everything from the essential tools and materials needed, the basics of doll making, costuming your dolls, and creating soft sculptures.

At the beginning, Marina explains that doll making is a very liberating...
Published on August 1, 2012 by L. Lowe

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Art dolls book.
This book was a complete waste of money and I promptly donated it to my local library. Don't waste your time or money.
Published 12 months ago by dancer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art Dolls & Softees, August 1, 2012
By 
L. Lowe (Central KS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enchanting Art Dolls and Soft Sculptures: Sculpting Crazy Quilting Embellishing Embroidery (Paperback)
If you're interested in making that first cloth doll or going deeper and giving your cloth dolls more polish, this is the book for you. Marina covers everything from the essential tools and materials needed, the basics of doll making, costuming your dolls, and creating soft sculptures.

At the beginning, Marina explains that doll making is a very liberating activity and it allows for flexibility as you work with the materials, so that all dimensions are approximate and not exact. Much of what Marina does relies on crazy quilting and embroidery techniques, and this was something I was very interested in, but the use of heavy embellishments can be used as little or as much as you desire.

There are plenty of patterns that cover free standing dolls, dolls framed in still life scenes, dolls as brooches, plus fancy fish, teddy bears, and even a country cottage. A gallery at the end of the book I found to be particularly inspiring. A template section is included as well for those of us who really need a starting point.

This book has everything that you need to get started making dolls and soft sculptures. You're only limited by what you can imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly Enchanting, July 29, 2012
This review is from: Enchanting Art Dolls and Soft Sculptures: Sculpting Crazy Quilting Embellishing Embroidery (Paperback)
This book combines two of my favorite things...doll making and quilting. The dolls are made of paper clay and the dresses and soft sculptures are crazy quilted. The layout of the book makes it easy to create a doll or sculpture as the how-to's include sculpting the head, hands, and feet from paper clay, making wire armature, filling out the body, and step by step crazy quilting.
There are eight cute projects to make including a little bear, a pretty wall hanging, crazy quilted fish, and a cottage storage box with a removable roof.
Also included in this book is a gallery of dolls by very talented artists that is sure to get the imaginative juices flowing.
This book is great for beginners and seasoned doll makers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent., July 24, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enchanting Art Dolls and Soft Sculptures: Sculpting Crazy Quilting Embellishing Embroidery (Paperback)
This book has beautiful pictures and creative ideas.I think its more on the primitive/folk art side and I really enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting Art Dolls, September 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enchanting Art Dolls and Soft Sculptures: Sculpting Crazy Quilting Embellishing Embroidery (Paperback)
This book contains good, detailed instructions with pictures. There is a list of tools, w/photos, Basics of doll making, sculpting tips w/pictures, a discussion on crazy quilting, eight projects, patterns and a gallery. The projects include dolls, fish,a teddy bear and an enchanted cottage. The dolls are made of clay with wire armatures, but the fish, bear and cottage are fabric.

I'm happy with the book and intend on making several, if not all of the projects. L. Dombrowsky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really "Enchanting", October 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enchanting Art Dolls and Soft Sculptures: Sculpting Crazy Quilting Embellishing Embroidery (Paperback)
I found it to be very clear and concise. One of the better craft books I have seen. I can hardly wait to start creating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative Dollmaking, October 7, 2012
By 
Sandra "sandra7" (Naperville, Illinois, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enchanting Art Dolls and Soft Sculptures: Sculpting Crazy Quilting Embellishing Embroidery (Paperback)
The projects in this book are very creative and very unique. The ideas can also be a jumpstart for creating your own unique style of dollmaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RBG, September 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enchanting Art Dolls and Soft Sculptures: Sculpting Crazy Quilting Embellishing Embroidery (Paperback)
I bought this book as reference for a summer project with my granddaughter. She is 8 years old and loves clay. I am looking forward to creating a doll with her. The information is simple enough and not intimidating at all for a first-time doll maker such as my granddaughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art Dolls and Soft Sulptures., April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enchanting Art Dolls and Soft Sculptures: Sculpting Crazy Quilting Embellishing Embroidery (Paperback)
This book was an enjoyable read. Lots of good information and ideas. I have alot of books on dolls and this was a great addition to my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enchantingly Envolved!, March 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enchanting Art Dolls and Soft Sculptures: Sculpting Crazy Quilting Embellishing Embroidery (Paperback)
The book is excellent or the serious doll makers. The ideas and techniques can be modified and simplified by an experienced crafter but its definitely not for the beginner. The fish soft sculpture is the icing in this book. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun book for doll making!, January 12, 2013
By 
Molly Martino "MoJo Buys" (Canton, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enchanting Art Dolls and Soft Sculptures: Sculpting Crazy Quilting Embellishing Embroidery (Paperback)
I was curious about attempting some of the projects in this book when I find the time. I found it entertaining & informative. It's sets off other ideas that come to mind & the processes listed can cover a slew of new imaginative projects all your own. I liked the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Enchanting Art Dolls and Soft Sculptures: Sculpting  Crazy Quilting  Embellishing  Embroidery
$26.95 $18.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.