Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for the money
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:10 Mins
I got this for a Foscam F18910W. The package came really fast. I chose to hang it on the corner of my house I built a corner bracket to mount it. Looking at the construction I saw what other reviewers were talking about so I didn't take any chances even though it is under an eave. I put a little silicon around the top seam and drilled a weep...
Published 12 months ago by cory

versus
26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not to bad =)
first off, i must say that the shipping is really quick,and that this dome is built well for what it is.
with that being said, there are a few things that i didnt like {not really bad, but unexpected}
CONS
-the bracket arm that actually suports the dome is made of PLASTIC {not metal}, tho it has small metal suport plates on the end that attaches to the...
Published on January 7, 2012 by Chris Swiontek


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for the money, July 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7" Outdoor Dome Encloser for Loftek Foscam Wansview Apexis Cctv Surveillance Security Wireless Ip Camera (Electronics)
Length:: 1:10 Mins

I got this for a Foscam F18910W. The package came really fast. I chose to hang it on the corner of my house I built a corner bracket to mount it. Looking at the construction I saw what other reviewers were talking about so I didn't take any chances even though it is under an eave. I put a little silicon around the top seam and drilled a weep hole in the globe to let out any water that may get in side. As far as mounting the camera inside there was no mounting hardware that came with the housing just a metal plate that mounts in the housing. if the camera is mounted flat on the plate you will not see much. the way I fixed that was to use a 1/4-20 x 4 toggle bolt with a nut on the other side to put the camera as close to the globe as possible, this worked out quite well. now as far as the infrared illumination the camera has with the globe on is useless. but that is not the fault of the housing maker. All I can do is turn off the infrared unfortunately that makes the foscam cameras useless at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Dome Enclosure, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7" Outdoor Dome Encloser for Loftek Foscam Wansview Apexis Cctv Surveillance Security Wireless Ip Camera (Electronics)
I've had this unit up on my garage for about a year now, with a Foscam pan-&-tilt camera inside it. The camera has been safe and secure inside, and sees the surveillance area with perfect clarity. The enclosure has protected the camera from high winds, rain and hail, snow, and extreme subzero and 100+ degree temperatures. It stays clean and dry inside the dome. It is made of plastic, but the base plate and the mounting plate inside are sturdy steel. It was easy to assemble and mount on the garage wall, as well mount the camera inside.

Tip: You might want to get a couple IR illumination flood lights for using this enclosure with a Foscam camera or one of the many knock-offs of Foscam. I had to put up a couple IR illumination flood lights to illuminate the area at night, because the IR lights on the camera reflect off the inside of the dome and must be turned off. However, that is normal for that type of camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not to bad =), January 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7" Outdoor Dome Encloser for Loftek Foscam Wansview Apexis Cctv Surveillance Security Wireless Ip Camera (Electronics)
first off, i must say that the shipping is really quick,and that this dome is built well for what it is.
with that being said, there are a few things that i didnt like {not really bad, but unexpected}
CONS
-the bracket arm that actually suports the dome is made of PLASTIC {not metal}, tho it has small metal suport plates on the end that attaches to the wall ,for structural support.
-the mount plate only has 2 screw holes in it to suport it {add the weight of the dome plus the weight of the camera you choose to put inside,and it just doesnt feel very solid} YOU'LL want to drill more holes n the wall plate to hold this enclosure securely.
-NO GASKET BETWEEN THE CLEAR COVER AND THE DOME! so i added a small beed of silicon around the edge where it goes together to keep it from filling up with water in the rain. {first time i mounted this ,it rained,and the clear dome wis 1" full of rainwater. the foscam i put inside it was ok tho. ever since i added the the silicon beed around it,its been fine ever since and water-free =)

its a cheep dome that can be shipped very quickly. i will probably order again when i need a dome realy quick for a job site,
but if time allows,id use something else.
but hey, its a $70 dome. what do ya expect=)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waterproof and intimidating., April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7" Outdoor Dome Encloser for Loftek Foscam Wansview Apexis Cctv Surveillance Security Wireless Ip Camera (Electronics)
This case works great for my pan/tilt Zmodo camera(s), it's proven fully rainproof so far and it has a certain intimidation factor from it's shear size... this thing is rather big (about the size of a basketball), but it makes it that much more authoritative looking to any suspect characters that wander onto your property.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well made but maybe a little over priced., November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7" Outdoor Dome Encloser for Loftek Foscam Wansview Apexis Cctv Surveillance Security Wireless Ip Camera (Electronics)
Well made but maybe a little over priced since it's all plastic. I used the enclosure to mount a Foscam indoor camera for outside security.

You will need the VideoSecu 1/4" x 20 Threads Swivel Security Camera Mount or make you own mount. The camera mounts upside-down but that is not a problem as the software can be set to flip and mirror the image. You cannot use the Foscam's built-in infrared as it reflects on the inside of the dome and blinds the camera. I used three CMVision IR30 WideAngle IR Illuminators mounted above the enclosure to provide infrared light. The system has been through a few rain and wind storms and seems to be fine. It's still working.

If you don't already have a camera you may want to consider buying a Foscam FI8919W Outdoor Pan and Tilt Wireless IP Camera since it would be ready to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works Well with the Foscam FI8918W, September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7" Outdoor Dome Encloser for Loftek Foscam Wansview Apexis Cctv Surveillance Security Wireless Ip Camera (Electronics)
I used this enclosure on my back porch with the indoor Foscam FI8918W. I mounted the enclosure under my upper deck on the 2x8 header board and ran the power cord through the wall to my kitchen circuit. I use the WiFi, which work just great. The Foscam FI8918W does fit well in the enclosure, with a little imagination. You have to use the camera's mount and then make it work with the enclosure mount. But in the end it just works perfectly. I also RTV'ed it in all the critical places and even built a Rain Hat for it under the deck out of Metal Flashing. Looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outdoor Dome - Simply Perfect, April 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7" Outdoor Dome Encloser for Loftek Foscam Wansview Apexis Cctv Surveillance Security Wireless Ip Camera (Electronics)
This is exactly what I was looking for. The camera works great. I have had no issues with water. As mentioned in another review, the IR functionality does not work with the dome because of the reflection but I didn't need it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the Price, October 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7" Outdoor Dome Encloser for Loftek Foscam Wansview Apexis Cctv Surveillance Security Wireless Ip Camera (Electronics)
I purchased two of the guys and they work great. Did not have any trouble with filling with water like other users, they even went through a few tropical storms. I live in So Florida so they are out in the hot sun all day with Foscams in them. I never had any problems of the cameras shutting down because of heat, even in July and August.

I believe the water issue is due to the arm that holds the dome to the structure. I would say if it is not level water would follow down the arm into the dome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7" Outdoor Dome Encloser for Loftek Foscam Wansview Apexis Cctv Surveillance Security Wireless Ip Camera (Electronics)
It's a good outdoor camera enclosure dome. The only complaint I have is that the screw holes on the wall mounting arm are weak and came cracked on both the enclosure domes I bought. I had to use some PVC glue to beef it up. After all the whole camera and the big dome is hanging off from this arm outdoors with wind blowing over the dome. That could put a lot of pressure on the screws holding the arm to the wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very strong, good quality, May 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7" Outdoor Dome Encloser for Loftek Foscam Wansview Apexis Cctv Surveillance Security Wireless Ip Camera (Electronics)
thick plastic, strong and very big. It has a slight tint on the dome. I was pleased at the quality. Not five stars since it isn't perfect, size, price,no way to use the LED's without reflection and no gasket (though this may not be a problem) The plastic arm was a concern for some reviewers but it seems strong enough to me. I would have thought there is a better option (fit wise) for Foscam but apparently not for this price range. It is still a really a good buy in my opinion.

Please click "yes" if this was a helpful review
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.