Prime Music
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by Keystone Music
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Looks and plays as new. Disc is mark and scratch free. Booklet and artwork in great condition. No promo or cut-out markings.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Encore Encore-Farewell Tour 1979
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Encore Encore-Farewell Tour 1979 Extra tracks, Live

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Extra tracks, Live, June 6, 2000
"Please retry"
$11.98 $14.84

Amazon's Fairport Convention Store


Image of album by Fairport Convention


Image of Fairport Convention
Visit Amazon's Fairport Convention Store
for 148 albums, 4 photos, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 6, 2000)
  • Original Release Date: 1979
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Extra tracks, Live
  • Label: Rx Records
  • ASIN: B00004T91O
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #712,743 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Matty Groves/High Road To Linton
2. Orange Blossom Special
3. John Lee
4. Bridge Over The River Ash
5. Sir Patrick Spens
6. Mr. Lacey
7. Walk Awhile
8. The Bonny Black Hare
9. The Journeyman's Grace
10. Meet On The Ledge
11. Rubber Band
12. The Hen's March Through The Midden
13. Flatback Caper
14. Dirty Linen

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Mark Cloud on June 19, 2000
Format: Audio CD
Originally released as "Farewell, Farewell," in 1979, this was Fairport Convention's "final" record release before reforming in 1985. The line up of Simon Nicol, Dave Pegg, Dave Swarbrick, and Bruce Rowland was (and is) sadly underrated by most Fairport fans; the fact is, with the release of "Farewell, Farewell" and the previous studio outings "The Bonny Bunch of Roses" and "Tippler's Tales," they produced some of the finest work in the band's long history. OK, it includes yet ANOTHER live version of Matty Groves; but this one was notable for two reasons: it was Simon's first (and excellent) reading of it, and it featured Dave Swarbrick's astounding performance of Orange Blossom Special. Other highlights include Walk Awhile, John Lee, Journeyman's Grace and Meet on the Ledge.
The extra tracks on "Encore, Encore" are a joy. Rubber Band is a rare studio recording that takes an amusing and satircal look at Fairport's rather checkered history; while the live Hens March/Four Poster Bed achieves a dynamic only hinted at on the studio version. The new CD version closes with Fatback Caper and Dirty Linen, both excellent.
If you are convinced Fairport doesn't exist without Sandy Denny or Richard Thompson, well, you won't like anything they do (whether you've heard it or not) anyway. I hope they keep "Liege and Leaf" in print for you forever. If you are a bit more open minded, you really shouldn't be without this record.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By woburnmusicfan on March 19, 2002
Format: Audio CD
By 1979, Fairport Convention realized that it was never going to sell enough albums to be profitable, so the members decided to break up (a resolve that lasted six years). Having made that decision, they played a lively, lighthearted farewell tour, which is captured on this live album, originally titled "Farewell, Farewell". In addition to Fairport standards "Meet on the Ledge", "Walk Awhile", and the inevitable "Matty Groves", there are fantastic renditions of lesser-known songs like "John Lee" and "The Journeyman's Grace". And there's the funny rendition of "Bridge over the River Ash", which as Simon Nicol says, "does for the string quartet about what the Amadeus Quartet does for international high-board diving." The CD includes a studio single, "Rubber Band", that wasn't on the original album. The "Encore, Encore" version includes three extra instrumentals. There are some overdubs (when Nicol takes a guitar solo on "Journeyman's Grace", his rhythm part keeps playing) and this may explain the great vocal harmonies. This was the first Fairport album I ever owned, and 20 albums later, it's still second only to "What We Did on Our Holidays" in my heart.
(1=poor 2=mediocre 3=pretty good 4=very good 5=phenomenal)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in