Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 9, 1997
This is a one volume comprehensive work of American history from American Exploration to the first term of the Clinton Adminstration. This book has been divided into three major categories: A Basic Chronology of American events and life, a Topical Chronology of specific events such as population trends, American expansion, government, and thought and culture. The last part of the book comprises short biographies of 450 notable Americans. I believe that Mr. Morris has strived to write this book in an easy to read and understandable format, while keeping with a comprehensive scope of American history. The book portrays to be an invaluable resource to teachers, history scholars, as well as the average person. Being a history major, I would not only recommend this book as a reference tool, but this work should be included on a "must have" list of books every home library should have. Mr. Morris has done a superb job with this 7th edition
0Comment26 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2005
II am a professional corporate historian. I research the corporate histories of many companies. I have very few things on my desk that are permanent, of which, three are books--the Chicago Manual of Style, the newest Merriam Webster's Dictionary, and the Encyclopedia of American History (7th ed). Whether you are a professional in the history field, a history "buff" or just an amateur social scientist, this is a book that you need to own. The four sections of this book are extremely helpful when looking for grand historical events or the smallest tidbit of information. While the internet is great for finding some of these items, this book is the most comprehensive volume of American History ever put together. I highly recommend this book--it is worth the money.
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2001
I have a previous edition (1953) of the Encyclopedia of American History. It has been in our family forever (well since 1953!) All my siblings used it going through Junior High through College and at age 45 I'm still using it, so is my 20 year old daughter. I had to buy the newer version because the original one I have stops before the Korean War!. Excellent resource for students. Gives you the ability to quickly reference any event. An absolute must for any household with children.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2004
As a student of American history, I have not seen a better book that gives you an overview of American history. No this encyclopedia will not go in-depth on everything you want, but is merely a general look at our nation's history. If you want an in-depth study you do need to look for a book that deals with that issue, but if you want a good general book, this is the one to get. I believe it is a must get for any student of history, especially American history. And if you just like American history as a hobby, this book is still a must get.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2003
The Encylopedia of American History is a wonderfully detailed and comprehensive reference book on almost everything to do with American history. Practically every conceivable aspect of America's history is within these pages; if you have a query concerning anything about the USA, then look no further than here. Neatly laid out in mainly chronological form, the book varies through subjects from politics, military, literature, science and many more. The biographies section contains brief biographies of over 400 influential Americans, from presidents and scientists to Stephen Spielberg. Whether you want to become a walking reference on American history, or are already familiar with the subject and require a reliable reference source, then this book is for you.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Encyclopedia of American History by Richard B. Morris is an outstanding source of information for the student of history or the professional educator. It contains factual information for the consensus historian. It is not revisionist. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2002
Individuals interested in purchasing an American History book for the sole purpose of quickly researching a specific historical happening need to look no further. Scarcely illustrated, this is a fully encompassing text which provides a brief description of each event. Most descriptions range in length from one-quarter to one-half of a page. For example, it required less than two-hundred words to recount the assasssination of President Kennedy. Lengthy historical events such as the Vietnam War are also discussed in a concise manner. The Vietnam War required seven pages, including the full page map, to educate the reader. Those interested in an American History book that can be enjoyably read cover to cover must look elsewhere. Brief, fragmented event depictions cause the reader's attention to quickly wane. This book is being awarded four stars for its use as an encyclopedia.
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2013
Back in the 60's I had the 2nd edition as a reference book for school. A flood took my copy, and I was so thrilled to find this at Amazon. It only goes as far as Bill Clinton, but is great for those who love American History.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2014
Too bad they stopped publication in the 1980's , great resource book. and very good details on all aspects of U.S.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2015
One of my most often used books as a social studies teacher!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.