Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for the children
As librarian in a Pre-K through 8th grade school library, I am occasionally asked by students to buy certain kinds of books. The number one request this year was a dog breed book, not a book about dogs, but specifically dog breeds. I looked at all the books available on Amazon and discovered that "Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds" best met our needs. From the time the book was...
Published on July 19, 2008 by Judy K. Polhemus

versus
31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a question of clarity, accuracy, and visual completeness
We bought this book to help us decide which breed would be best suited to us, and it was very helpful in that regard. It provides a two-page spread on each dog, discussing history, temperament, exercise requirements, health concerns, two photos, and a diagram pointing out aspects of breed physique (conformation). Finally, there is a chart that awards points from 1 to 5...
Published on March 27, 2008 by transponder


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for the children, July 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds (Hardcover)
As librarian in a Pre-K through 8th grade school library, I am occasionally asked by students to buy certain kinds of books. The number one request this year was a dog breed book, not a book about dogs, but specifically dog breeds. I looked at all the books available on Amazon and discovered that "Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds" best met our needs. From the time the book was processed and checked out to the boy who requested it, the waiting list remained steady. Once checked out, the book was relinquished only because of threats by the Library Dragon.

All of the preceding paragraph is background to say how valuable this book is and how much students love it. If you or your family are ready to obtain a dog, this book certainly will provide you with information in making good choices.

The first chapter begins with the Dog Family and moves to the Family Dog, asks how good the breed is with children , and how to use the Breed Profiles. Then most of the book is taken by the specifics of the various breeds of dogs. Divided into classes, dogs belong to the sporting group, hounds, working dogs, terriers, toys, non-sporting group, and herders.

When a book contains over 150 breeds of dogs, the viewer will see almost infinite varieties of some breeds. For example, American Staffordshire Terrier and the Bull Terrier resemble each other. Do you know the Glen of Imaal Terrier? Or the Kerry Blue Terrier or Irish Terrier, Lakeland Terrier? The Manchester Terrier looks like a small Doberman Pinscher. The Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier is one of those with long hair covering his eyes. He's from Ireland.

The Working Group are "those dogs that put their bravery or brawn into the service of humans." They can be guard dogs, protectors, sled dogs, cart dogs, and rescue dogs. They are known for their intelligence and hardiness (105). Each breed gets a two-page spread.

Here's the Komondor, the large dog that has cord-like tassels for fur. The breed originated in Hungary, where it is still plentiful. It was used as a sheep herder and is being bred for that use in the United States now. However, because of its cords, it must live in a cool climate. Its positive qualities are affection, friendliness, good watchdog, and a great protector. Its negative qualities are its unfriendliness toward other dogs and strangers, and low heat tolerance.

Each two-page spread contains sub-articles on history of the breed, temperament, upkeep, health, form and function, At a Glance chart, an illustration showing the standards of the breed, plus a posed, competition-like photograph and a close-up showing the nature of the dog.

The last section of the book contains a glossary of medical conditions, illustrations of dog anatomy, and an index.

This is a book to sit down with and spend an hour at a time, just browsing the interesting articles, looking at photographs, and picking up useful information for now or later concerning dog breeds. "Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds" is simply a great book to have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good breed information, but lacking in presentation, April 27, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds (Hardcover)
I have an older version of The Encyclopedia of the Dog by Bruce Fogle, and here's how they compare: Dr. Fogle's book has many more breeds, but one complaint I heard was that the information it provided on the breeds was not always accurate (I can't verify this, I'm not a vet). This book here by Dr. Coile is supposedly very accurate, but has fewer breeds (only the AKC it seems); however, I knew that before I bought it so I can't complain. Very few people own or can obtain non-AKC breeds, so reading about them would just be for pleasure for most people. That said, Dr. Coile provides more information for each breed, giving 5-scale ratings for 13 different characteristics (tempermant, grooming, heat/cold tolerance, exercise needs, etc), health concerns, breed history, etc. However, the pictures they provide aren't nearly as professional looking as the ones in Dr. Fogle's book, if that matters to you. Also, the binding is cheaper in this book. One important difference, though, is that this book contains no other information aside of about the breeds. Dr. Fogle's book, in contrast, provides the history and use of types of breeds (such as hounds, herding dogs, hunting dogs, etc, not just a particular breed), anatomy, evolution, care, training, etc. Dr. Coile provides none of that. So, if you just want a book to help you pick out an AKC breed and need accurate, more detailed breed information then this book is the better choice; but for general interest and pleasure, Dr. Fogle's book is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a question of clarity, accuracy, and visual completeness, March 27, 2008
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds (Hardcover)
We bought this book to help us decide which breed would be best suited to us, and it was very helpful in that regard. It provides a two-page spread on each dog, discussing history, temperament, exercise requirements, health concerns, two photos, and a diagram pointing out aspects of breed physique (conformation). Finally, there is a chart that awards points from 1 to 5 according to how much a dog demonstrates, or lacks, a particular quality. The structure of the book is thus very sound.

However, I do have criticisms of the book. First, the ratings chart, awarding points for sociability, cold tolerance, trainability, and so on, does not always seem to match the written description of temperament or exercise requirements. This sense of disjunction is reinforced for me by my own knowledge (gained since choosing a Boxer last year) of specific breeds, since I often find myself agreeing with the written statement but quibbling with the number rating: I just don't think, based on my experience and other reading, that those numbers are especially reliable. To name one instance that I'm very familiar with, I think that Boxers are actually friendlier to strangers and other dogs than the number rating would suggest: it gives a 3 rating, where I would make it a 4 (and I live in a neighbourhood bursting at the seams with dogs, including several Boxers).

Similarly, the Boxer rating for 'watchdog ability' is a 3, but I wonder why: my dog knows when a delivery has been put by the door, or when anyone approaches, or even when the local cats are across the street. If there is a degree of watchfulness greater than this, such that a 3 is merely average and 5 is extreme, how so? Being more of a barker doesn't seem to me sufficient to up a dog's score, and this could all be misleading to someone trying to make decisions on the basis of the ratings. Most people that want a watchful dog would be well pleased with a Boxer, but the rating suggests instead that they are just OK in that department. But again, whether you agree with the specific ratings or not, they themselves don't seem to agree completely with the text.

Another flaw is that, while each breed has two photos to represent it, some breeds are represented by only one individual. Going back to the Boxer again as my example, only a fawn Boxer is shown--apparently the same dog. It would have been more helpful to have a second photo of a brindle coat (dark streaks) and/or different white markings (flashing). Further, many dog owners these days prefer Boxers and other dogs with uncropped ears, but only cropped ears are shown, even in the diagram. That is just a refusal to show the dog as most non-show people see it! The problem is not just with Boxers; several other breeds I think are not represented with sufficient variety of photographs.

In sum, this is a good book but it is far from being the best, and leaves much scope for competitors in a popular subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colorful and informative, July 8, 2006
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds (Hardcover)
This is a great overview of AKC breeds. There are 2 full color photos (not drawings) of the dogs. I refer to this book all the time. It covers the history of the breeds, statistics, temperment,personality, health isuues, and much more. I bought one for me and one for my sister. I highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two paws up, way up!, November 9, 2006
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book which provides just enough insight and expertise for casual dog fans and owners without overdoing it. More intense, information-hungry dog aficionados might want more but that's not what the book delivers. The quality of the pictures is outstanding and give an accurate representation of the dogs appearance, although there aren't too many (if any, as I recall) of the depicted breeds as pups.

The rating system for strengths and weaknesses of each breed is an extremely effective way to quickly educate the readers, especially on types they may not be familiar with. I'd give the book a five star rating, but then Dr. Coile would have nothing to shoot for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best dog breed books, April 4, 2006
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds (Hardcover)
I had been looking for a book of dog breeds but none quite measured up to what I was wanting. there are many that include lots of information about dogs in general, like health care, training etc. but this made the section on breeds smaller.

I like this book because it devotes two pages to each breed mentioned. It provides a pretty good history, good pitures, and a handy "at a glance" chart. While I still wish the temperment section would include more info (some breeds only have 2 sentences) it provides more info than any other book I have found.

Overall, this is perfect if you just want information on the breeds in an easy style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Informative Book, April 26, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds (Hardcover)
Even this book only lists about 150 breeds of dogs and it is based on just dog breeds, it is a pretty good book. I am trying to find the right dog for someone and have used the great overall section of each breed to find that the Havanese fits her best. The breed pages include history, AKC ranking, family, area of origin, date of origin, original function, today's function, other name, temperament, upkeep, health (including major concerns, minor concerns, occasionally seen, suggested tests, life span, and a note for some breeds), energy level, excersize requirements, playfulness, affection level, friendliness toward other dogs/other pets/strangers, training, watchdog, protection, grooming, cold/heat tolerance, weight, height, form and function, and fanally, an illustrated standard. It will help you a lot in picking the right breed of dogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sufficient Help for Amateurs looking for a pet, December 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds (Hardcover)
Briefly, purchased this product as we are looking at buying our first family dog. The pictures are good, often giving at least 2, if not 3, views of the dogs (not puppy pictures). The information is well organized and helpful, easy enough for an 8 year old to read. There are nice summary graphs for each type of dog, offering quick references for things like "ease of training" and "grooming requirements". Overall, it accomplished its task of providing us with some good basic information. While I did not cross reference every breed, we researched those most interesting to us using other sources, and this book's information was compatible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, September 9, 2007
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds (Hardcover)
one of the best dog books out there, and believe me i've read quite a few. i think what i liked best was that each dog breed was given a review on a number of different qualities. 5 stars being the highest. they were judged on energy, "hair care", friendliness towards people and other animals, among many other things. being a dog lover and avid dog guide book reader, i thought i knew just about all there was to the different dog breeds, but this book proved me wrong. i learned more about dogs in this book than i've read in 25 other dog breed books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good General Overview, August 15, 2007
By 
AKA Alex (Doonside, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds (Hardcover)
A good reference book for various dog breeds. Obviously, it does not go into great detail about all of the breeds BUT it does provide a good overview of the various breeds in question. If you are buying it to obtain information about a specific breed, then this is NOT the book that you need. A breed specific book would be much better. If, on the other hand, you want a good starting point for the various dog breeds, then this is the book for you. Provides ideal information if you are thinking of buying a dog but don't know what breed to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds
Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds by D. Caroline Coile (Hardcover - April 1, 2005)
$29.99 $22.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.