Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My medicinal herb bible
I have used herbal medications exclusively for about 10 years now, and I depend on this book as my herb "bible." It is always smart to double-check medicinal advice from several sources, but I have never found this book to be wrong or lacking in pertinent information. It is very well arranged, and information is cross-referenced which adds to the ease of use.
Published on November 29, 2006 by Michelle

versus
101 of 108 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but still lacking
I bought this book looking for a complete reference book for herbals for my family. I have two young boys, and it has been very challenging finding at home remedies for them when they have been sick. I don't like making too many trips to the doctor's office if I don't have to, and I'm more of a hands off, let nature take it's course kinda gal. However, when the boys or...
Published on May 9, 2010 by Lily


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My medicinal herb bible, November 29, 2006
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine: The Definitive Home Reference Guide to 550 Key Herbs with all their Uses as Remedies for Common Ailments (Hardcover)
I have used herbal medications exclusively for about 10 years now, and I depend on this book as my herb "bible." It is always smart to double-check medicinal advice from several sources, but I have never found this book to be wrong or lacking in pertinent information. It is very well arranged, and information is cross-referenced which adds to the ease of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for medicinal uses....., December 10, 2000
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine: The Definitive Home Reference Guide to 550 Key Herbs with all their Uses as Remedies for Common Ailments (Hardcover)
With the wide selection of books on herbal uses confronting the average herbalist or curious reader, how is one to choose which resource is best? The answer is that it is impossible to use only one resource. Chevallier's books come close to being the one resource to use for employing herbs for medicinal purposes, but because the misuse of herbs can be deadly, I rely on a variety of material and crossreference my applications. In other words, if anyone says an herb has proved poisonous, I am careful. ....
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF HERBAL MEDICINE (EHM) by Andrew Chevallier is an update of his book THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF MEDICINAL PLANTS (EMP). EHM covers most of the same plants as EMP, but contains more up-to-date information from various sources conducting research on the properties and uses of herbs, including herbal systems in other parts of the world such as the U.K. and Germany, (i.e. not exclusively reliant on the actions of the FDA or USDA for all it's information).
EHM, as did EMP before it, includes one of the largest selections of plants for medicinal uses. Not all the plants are botonacally speaking "herbs." Black Cherry, for example, is a tree, but like many other trees has constituent parts that may be used for medicinal purposes, and therefore viewed as an "herbal" remedy for certain conditions (chronic dry, irritable coughs!!)--or kill you if you ingest an excess. ....
EHM is not much concerned with the manufacture of floral sachets or assembly of ingredients for pot pourri, or how to lay out your herbal garden for that matter. In fact, my suspician is that the average EHM reader will probably consult the health food store for herbal items, and not grow herbs in the back yard or try to harvest them in the nearest park. ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 108 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but still lacking, May 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine: The Definitive Home Reference Guide to 550 Key Herbs with all their Uses as Remedies for Common Ailments (Hardcover)
I bought this book looking for a complete reference book for herbals for my family. I have two young boys, and it has been very challenging finding at home remedies for them when they have been sick. I don't like making too many trips to the doctor's office if I don't have to, and I'm more of a hands off, let nature take it's course kinda gal. However, when the boys or my husband are sick, I like to have something on hand that's not the most potent OTC you can buy, or even the herbal mixes they sell at the health food stores unless I am certain that what's in there is going to do no harm, and actually help them. That being said, this book falls short of what I was looking for. The full color pages are nice, and there is quite a bit of information available on each herb represented. It is also nice that there is a special section on kids in the back which tells you what the proper dosage is for little ones. However, I am concerned to find very little information on contraindications or cautions, for instance, herbs you should never take if you are pregnant are not noted except in a small section in the back. Kind of an awkward way to read the book. Specifically, the herb Lobelia has no mention of the fact that many herbalists don't use it because large doses can be fatal...might be good to know, eh? The organization is weird for the lay person (by scientific name), and there are some commonly found herbs in herbal remedies I have bought before that are not listed in the book. Overall, maybe good to have on hand, but not the one reference book you must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 112 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes it is an Encyclodedia., August 5, 2006
By 
Michael C. Hines (Woodhaven, NY, 11421) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine: The Definitive Home Reference Guide to 550 Key Herbs with all their Uses as Remedies for Common Ailments (Hardcover)
Book Report:

The Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine by Andrew Chevallier, FNIMH

Publisher: Dorling Kindersley, Limited

I first decided to buy the book in hopes that it would be a good, up to the minute, desk reference on Medicinal Herbs. It turned out to be a little more of a text book to study by and what some book publishers call a coffee table book. A coffee table book is a book as large as a magazine, hardbound and full of color pictures, which would be entertaining even to people not interested in the subject yet. It is a good study help because of the sections in the back on how to use and administer herbs.

The first section tells about how medicinal herbs work by affecting different systems of the body with a number of chemicals working together to effect change. The book does divide the body's system up a little differently than the Heart of Herbs Course, Making it a little confusing for those of us trying to study both texts at the same time. The authors system is:

The Skin, using herbs that are Antiseptic, Astringent and depurative.

Immune System, using herbs that are Immune stimulants

Respiratory System, using herbs that are Antiseptic, antibiotic, Expectorant,

Demulcent, and spasmolytics

Endocrine Glands using herbs that are adaptogens, hormonally active, and

Emmenagogues

Urinary System, using herbs that are antiseptic, astringent and diuretic.

Musculoskeletal System using herbs that are analgesic, Anti-inflammatory, and

Antispasmotic.

Nervous System using herbs that are nerviness, relaxants, stimulants and tonics.

Circulation and heart using herbs that are cardiotonics, circulatory stimulants,

Diaphoretics, and spasmolytics.

And the Digestive Organs using antiseptics, astringents, cholagogues, choleretics

Demulcents, hepatics, laxatives and stomachics.

Having all of the systems spread out with the medicinal actions associated with each one helps me to understand the medicinal action a little better.

The next section explains active constituents. I never noticed it before but these active ingredients are arranged in ten basic classes: Phenols, Volatile Oils, Flavonoids, Tannins, Proanthocyanins, Coumarins, Saponins, Anthraquinones, Cardiac Glycosides, Cyanogenic Glycosides, Polysaccharides, Glucosilinates, Bitters, Alkaloids, Vitamins and minerals. The last two, most of us all ready understand.

After a short discussion on quality control of herbs, there is a long history of Herbalism. People have been using herbs at least since 3000 BC, in Egypt, the Middle East, India and China. In the early times, Herbalism was connected to spiritualism, but it began to break away about 500BC. Hippocrates (460-377 BC) believed that an illness was a natural rather than a supernatural occurrence. Herbalism was well founded by trade between Europe and Asia through India and the Middle East from 300 to 600 BC. In Europe up through the so-called dark ages, people seemed to have a very good understanding of Herbalism. On the other side of the world an Herbalism tradition developed in the Maya, Aztec and Inca Civilizations unbeknownst to the Europeans.

Between 1000 and 1400 AD, Universities, Hospitals and Medical schools were established which used Herbalism and in that time period Herbal medicine was the only medicine. International trade during the middle ages contributed to the development of herbal tradition, by making formerly exotic herbs available everywhere. Following the discovery of digitalis in the herb foxglove by Dr. William Withering, in 1795, techniques were developed to extract the chemicals out of herbs in order to use the basic medicines and gain better control over quality.

From the early 19th century, laboratory produced medicines began to supplant mother nature as a source of medications. In 1803, narcotic alkaloids were extracted from opium poppies and a year later insulin was extracted form Elecampane, and in 1838 salicylic acid (Aspirine) was extracted from willow bark. From 1850 to 1900, conventional medicine established it's own monopoly by trying to outlaw the use of medicines by any one not trained in a medical school.

As late as 1930, 90% of the medicines sold in drug stores, were of herbal origin, but in the last 50 years synthetic chemicals have taken over the medical industry. Now the tide is beginning to turn back toward Herbalism, due in part to bad mistakes and bad experiences in the use of chemicals such as thalidomide and in the poor state of health in Western Societies.

The next section of the book deals with the various herbal traditions, which have developed in such places as Europe, India, China, Africa, Australia, North America, and South America. Each location developed a slightly different tradition based on local tradition, religion and plants, as a combination of what was locally grown and what was brought in from other parts of the world.

The center section of the book is what I really wanted. It is divided into two parts, the first is a Materia Medica of the 100 most used herbs in detail with full color pictures of the herbs and the preparations. The habitat, constituents, actions, traditional and current uses are covered for each herb. The next section has another 450 herbs in it that are less commonly used or used only in a few places. The same type of information is included but not in such great detail as in the previous section. The only drawback to the Materia Medica sections is that the herbs are in alphabetical order but only by their Latin names.

The first herb is `Yarrow', because the Latin name for the plant is: Achillea millefolium and that is first in the alphabet. That would decrease the value of the book as a reference tool except that there is a General Index beginning on page 323 that lists all of the herbs in the book by their common names, even for the herb that have more than one common name. When I looked up Yarrow, it gave me page 56, in bold type, and that is where the material medica for Achillea millefolium is located.

I don't usually read an index to a book unless I am using it as a reference, but in this book, I noticed that behind the General Index is an Index of Herbs by Ailment. In this index, one can look up an ailment like Blood Pressure, High and be directed to: Blackcurrant 261, Buckwheat 301, eggplant 270, Garlic 301, 319, Ginger 301, Ginkgo 102, Hawthorn 90, Indian Snake root 260, mistletoe 283, olive 240. That index may be worth the $25.00 that the book costs to someone who is practicing as an herbalist trying to choose an herb to recommend for a particular ailment, especially if one herb does not help and a new one must be chosen.

In between the herb (material medica) sections and the index, there is a section giving the procedures for making infusions, decoctions, Tinctures (they make no difference between Tinctures and Extracts), ointments, creams and poultices. The procedures are very well illustrated as is the rest of the book, but the only thing new that they add is the use of a wine press to separate the oil or alcohol from the herbs after the infusion or extraction process. The last section before the index is an abbreviated guide of health problems and the herbal remedies that can be used to treat each group of problems.

I would recommend this book to just about any one but a very experienced herbalist. It is entertaining, easy to understand, and very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Herbs, February 28, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine: The Definitive Home Reference Guide to 550 Key Herbs with all their Uses as Remedies for Common Ailments (Hardcover)
I am taking a medicinal botany class and was not satisfied with the information the text book gave me and wanted to know more I saw this book and ordered it. I love it. It is a must have for someone interested in herbs even my instructor found it helpful. I also ended up ordering two more for classmates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Herbal Encyclopedia I've come across!, November 10, 2009
By 
Olivia. S (Adelaide, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine: The Definitive Home Reference Guide to 550 Key Herbs with all their Uses as Remedies for Common Ailments (Hardcover)
I absolutely LOVE this book! I've had it for several years, and have given numerous copies away to friends and family including my own family doctor. My father was the one to first come across it in one of those discount book stores many years ago, and once I saw it I was hooked.

It is thourough and well written, and the lay-out is fantastic. It is so easy to read. Some of the reviews have complained about the fact that it is an alphabetical listing of plants/herbs as opposed to ailments/diseases, but this is what makes it great in my opinion. Often a particular plant has several therapeutic benefits, so it is nicer to read about one plant at a time (and less confusing, in my opinion). I disagree that it is difficult to find things, as the index also contains the common names of the plants as well as an index of ailments. Towards the back of the book there are ailment groups such as women's health problems and pregnancy, Cold & Flu, Allergies/hayfever, Digestive ailments/nausea, Respiratory ailments, and more, where you have a bunch of the most useful herbs for each group of ailments listed.

It's also a great book to sit down and flip through when you have a minute to read or rest. You can flip it open to a random page and read all about that particular plant. It's all very facinating and useful information. I use this book all the time. Whenever someone complains of pain or discomfort, I look it up in my trusted Herbal Encyclopedia and see if there's anything around the house I can use.

Some of the herbs I use more regularily are Camomile for stomach cramping, ground Ginger and Tumeric for nausea or stomach pain, Cardamon for gas, abdominal discomfort or if I need to burp, Rosemary for energy, Lemon juice in warm water for an internal shower of the digestive system.... to mention a few.

I also see a naturopath and take quite a few herbal mixes and supplements due to CFS, and being able to come home and look up why I'm taking each and every thing is great, and helps with compliance.

I'm actually looking for some new herbal books, as this one of course doesn't contain every possible medicinal plant (thought it comes close), but I haven't found one that comes close to this one. Highly recommend it to anyone. Especially great if you have children as it is a great reference guide when someone isn't feeling well. Why use synthetic drugs when there is an effective yet gentle natural alternative! A total joy to read and always useful! Definitely 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent beginner text book and quick reference..., July 10, 2006
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine: The Definitive Home Reference Guide to 550 Key Herbs with all their Uses as Remedies for Common Ailments (Hardcover)
I am fond of this book because it is the first of it's kind that I have read. It presents relevant information logically and doesn't go too far with the more advanced information. It is no replacement for a biochemisty degree, but it sure does help you learn about each plant and gives you a general knowledge of what it does and how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful as well as informative, May 13, 2007
By 
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine: The Definitive Home Reference Guide to 550 Key Herbs with all their Uses as Remedies for Common Ailments (Hardcover)
This book is organized in an easy to use logical manor. A lot of information with beautiful illustrations for each herb are in easy to view sections and all on one page. Step by Step instructions on how to make products are easy to understand and follow. The Historical section is an added bonus. There is a number of different glossaries and indexes so things may be looked up in different ways (e.g.: by ailment or plant name)that may bit confusing until you get use to it. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book to anyone. It is a beautiful and informative addition to any library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars liked the pictures--not easy to read/use, March 11, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine: The Definitive Home Reference Guide to 550 Key Herbs with all their Uses as Remedies for Common Ailments (Hardcover)
There is alot of information about the herbs and what forms they are best used in. It was hard to figure out what they should or should not be used for and finding an herb you are looking for is nearly impossible without knowing specific names. The listings are under the scientific name making it hard for someone like me just starting to learn to find anything in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, July 13, 2007
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine: The Definitive Home Reference Guide to 550 Key Herbs with all their Uses as Remedies for Common Ailments (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book if you would like to learn more about natural remedies and how to use them to treat various ailments. The pictures and illistrations are wonderful. There is so much information packed into this book. The only draw back it that the herbs are not listed in alphabetic order (they are in order if you know the scientific name) so you have to use the index a lot, but that's not so bad. A great book to have in anyone's natural remedy library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.