Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knot Lovers Will Knot Be Disappointed
I rate this book a close second to The Ashley Book Of Knots,as a must-have for serious knot enthusiasts. Less pleasing artistic- ly, this book nevertheless delivers instructions for construct-ing truly beautiful and functional things. From rings, to brace- lets,to hatbands to belts--they're here. Need a quirt, a whip, a lariat,a horses headstall--they're here. How about a...
Published on October 9, 2000 by Thomas Powers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars LEATHER BRAIDING
THIS BOOK HAS ALOT OF INFORMATION WITHIN, OVER ALL WILL HELP YOU GET YOUR PROJECTS DONE. VERY OLD FORMAT AND DRAWINGS, NEEDS AN UP-LIFT.
Published 7 months ago by macland


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knot Lovers Will Knot Be Disappointed, October 9, 2000
By 
Thomas Powers (Staten Island, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Rawhide and Leather Braiding (Hardcover)
I rate this book a close second to The Ashley Book Of Knots,as a must-have for serious knot enthusiasts. Less pleasing artistic- ly, this book nevertheless delivers instructions for construct-ing truly beautiful and functional things. From rings, to brace- lets,to hatbands to belts--they're here. Need a quirt, a whip, a lariat,a horses headstall--they're here. How about a pair of "galooses?"--they're here. For me, the woven buttons are the most fascinating of all. Intri- cate and beautifully symmetrical, these knots are easy to make by following the ingenious method that Mr. Grant explains. (I copy the pattern, match and tape the ends to produce a cylinder, then I slide the cylinder over a rolled piece of cardboard or lino- leum and pin the bites with carpet tacks.) If you like this book, and I know you will, you might want to get Mr. Grant's two other books on the subject: Leather Braiding and How To Make Cowboy Horse Gear. Enjoy. Happy birthday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is THE book on the subject, October 30, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Rawhide and Leather Braiding (Hardcover)
During a one year stay I had the good fortune to stumble across a second hand bookstore where the library of Bruce Grant was for sale. Among the joys for a knot friend where the Ashley book of knots, the Encyclopedia of Knots and fancy ropework, Whips and Whipmaking, and more notably Leather Braiding and The Encyclopedia of Rawhide and Leather Braiding, both by Bruce Grant. To get your first impression of the subject by the authors own copies of the books is of course a trip in itself, but as the delicious shock subsided, the books continued to shine on their own. Using drawings, rather than photographs, is a superior way to guide the reader through apprenticeship of the art. This book serves the important purpose of preserving an old craft, and it does it well; the text is clear, and the development from the simple to the more complex eases the reader over all obstacles. This is the Ashley of leather braiding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential reference, November 7, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Rawhide and Leather Braiding (Hardcover)
Grant's survey of leather braiding is an essential reference for those interested in leather working, covering riatas, bosals, quertas, whips, fancy knots and more. He also covers methods of duplicating complicated knots from an extant piece. The book covers most of his volume _How to Make Cowboy Horsegear_.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best teaching aid for the experienced and beginners, August 1, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Rawhide and Leather Braiding (Hardcover)
Bruce Grant shared his genius with the world by writing the "Encyclopedia of Rawhide and Leather Braiding. This book has text and illustration, for how the knots and plaits are constructed. Patterns also included for items that may have been lost forever if he never wrote them down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete information source for this art, July 22, 2004
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Rawhide and Leather Braiding (Hardcover)
The best of the post WW2 books on the subject, and based on its best and closest competitors, which were also written by Bruce Grant (unfortunately listed as being written by B. Grant here on Amazon.Com). Not the easiest to use, or the most gracefully written, but clear, solid, correct, extensive, and exhaustive.

The people that Grant consulted in adding to his own Newsman/Cowboy/Texas store of information on braiding and leatherwork, and their insight into the meaning of the information taken from historical sources that Grant found or that they pointed out, simply aren't available now. Additions to what Grant has to say on the subject will have to be genuine later innovations, or based on improvements in materials. The appearance of good new examples of either will come slow.

In a way, if your interest in the art is mild, this might not be the right book. You will find it hard to let the book go, whether you use it or not, and the many possibilities it presents may reproach you if you don't make a run at mastering a few of them. A lifetime book. Tops. Plain and good. Helpful and fascinating. Useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lifetime of experience within these pages!, February 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Rawhide and Leather Braiding (Hardcover)
For lovers of leather braiding, this work is the Bible. Grant exhaustively covers a wide range of braiding techniques. His attention to detail and step-by-step instructions are superb. Sometimes his drawings are a bit primitive but they serve the purpose intended. His book covers how to make and work with rawhide, tools of the trade for leather braiding, various braid techniques such as twist braids, the Conquistador Braid (a fabulous and intricate braid for making belts, wrist bands, etc.), flat braids, round braids (for whips, etc.), various knots, and a wide range of horse tack (saddle and bridle).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Education in Braiding Techniques, January 9, 2007
By 
A Bybee "A Bybee" (Zuni Mountains, NM) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Rawhide and Leather Braiding (Hardcover)
Excellent book for an incredible number of different braids. Lots of pictures and diagrams, (thank goodness) to better teach the techniques. The author throws in a little history education on the use of many braids. The only downer is that it is in black/grey/white, no color. Most of the diagrams are hand drawn (nicely) so it may take a second, third, seventh look to see which direction to go. In this day of CAD and graphics, I guess I expected a better visual. But then, the information that is handed down to the author from long, long ago, may call for this style of visuals? In the end, fantastic book, I'm glad I bought it and I'll keep it, and use it for many years to come.

ab designs LLC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great - in depth and a hard read, March 1, 2005
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Rawhide and Leather Braiding (Hardcover)
Like many really in depth books this is difficult to keep reading

except between naps. I highly recommend the book and several cups of coffee. The information got me through several projects and was 'just what I needed'. What would be a great follow-on is the 'short attention span' version that more easily indexes the content so I can get directly to the information I want rather than trolling through it 'novel style' to get the story before getting the 'plot'. If it had more indexing then I could find the specific matter more quickly. All that said - it DID have exactly what I needed and wanted and - I recommend the content of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Content, Iffy Format, February 24, 2009
By 
New England Yankee (Northern New England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Rawhide and Leather Braiding (Hardcover)
The content in this book on the topic of leather braiding is second to none. The table of contents alone runs 10 pages. The book has been sold in print-run after run since its publication in 1972 (I have the 8th, published in 2004), and the original books that make up a part of the content - Leather Braiding and How to Make Cowboy Horse Gear - are also still available. This is the single best book on the topic.

That said, the format is problematic. First, it appears to be a photographic reprint of the 1972 edition. It's well-enough done, but the typeface is dated, and some of the illustrations aren't as clear as they might be, especially the smaller ones. Which brings up the second point - the illustrations are hand-drawn line drawings. Depending on the complexity of a given braid, the clarity and usefulness of the illustrations runs between perfectly OK and dismal. Couple that with the detailed, but at times mind-numbing text and you can anticipate quite a slog through some of the braids. Take the following excerpt:

. Pass down: over one, under one, over one.
. Pass up: under one, over one, under one.
. Down: under one, over one, under one, over one.
. Up: over one, under one, over one, under one
. Down: over one, under one, over one, under one, over one.

The book could usefully be brought up-to-date. That would include refreshed text in modern typeface, new color photos to replace some of the B&W product photos in the book, and photos showing completed braids. Most of all, the book needs better illustrations using modern illustration techniques. There are any number of good knot tying books on the market that could serve as an example, using colored lines, close-ups, 3D graphics, and other techniques (examples:The Morrow Guide to Knots or Handbook of Knots: EXPANDED EDITION). A book that sells this well for this long deserves the update, even more so when it is the standard work on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, August 13, 2005
By 
Symonds Roberto (Montevideo,Uruguay) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Rawhide and Leather Braiding (Hardcover)
My son age 23 teaches leather braiding and he tells me this is the best and most complete book on this subject among several others from different countries he has read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Encyclopedia of Rawhide and Leather Braiding
Encyclopedia of Rawhide and Leather Braiding by Bruce Grant (Hardcover - December 12, 1972)
$29.99 $21.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.