Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Amethyst Jewelry Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars23
5 star
83%
4 star
17%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$49.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 17, 2005
There is not a better encyclopedia of pond plants on the market. The Encyclopedia of Water Garden Plants is a top recommendation on our web site, [...] This book has a complete run down of the most common, and some uncommon pond plants, all categorized by plant type. It includes planting, pruning and care information for the most common varieties. If you are looking for plant ideas for your pond, or are trying to indentify a mystery plant, this is the book for you.
0Comment25 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2004
Full-color photographs vividly illustrate Encyclopedia Of Water Garden Plants, a no-nonsense reference and identification guide to identifying and cultivating a vast array of flora available to water gardeners of all skill and experience levels. Carefully researched and written over the course of seven years by founding members of the American Water Gardening Society, Encyclopedia Of Water Garden Plants is an all-encompassing reference and resource and a horticultural pleasure simply to browse as well as a thorough, hands-on useful resource.
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2007
I have had a pond for 30+ years. This is one of the best and most detailed resouces that I have come across. It is one of the few that details the type of waterlily corms that each variety has. This is extremely helpful in identifying plants that have spread naturally and are not blooming. Great photographs. Uses both common names and scientific names.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2007
I am having a pond build and needed a comprehensive book of aquatic and bog plants that are suitable for Koi ponds. Everything is there at your fingertips. The color plates are wonderful as well as the descriptions. The only downside, it that I wished the authors would have a listing of the fragrant hardy and tropical waterlilies. Other than that, this book is a beauty!
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2012
I've got shelves full of gardening books but was looking for just one book to fill in the major gaps in my knowledge of water-garden plants. This is the one I chose and it was a very good choice. The many, many photographs are beautiful and helpful: word descriptions alone don't necessarily allow a reader to recognize specific plants; and I was looking, first of all, to identify the plants I've got in my small backyard pond. In addition, this book offers valuable information on how to introduce and tend the dozens (or rather, hundreds) of plants identified in this encyclopedia. Surprisingly, it turned out not to include a few of the plants I was looking to identify. It does present numerous plants that aren't strictly in-water plants but that grow near water or in marshy, wetter-than-usual soil. Those are good inclusions for anybody looking for plants to use around a pond or water feature. If you have a water garden this is a very good tangible, in-your-hand resource as an anchor to information you might find on the Internet. The encyclopedia works equally well for quick consultation and paging through and enjoying in a leisurely manner.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2006
This is a great book. There is suberb information on water gardening in this book.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2007
I purchased this book for my son who is attending college to be a Landscape Architect. He was interested in learning more about water plants as we live in the south and there is a lot of time to enjoy a water garden. The book is BEAUTIFUL. It has everything you would need to know to make your water garden more user friendly. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in making a home resemble an oasis...
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2007
I love this book. I am new to the pond world and have found my passion. This book is the water gardener's bible. It is extensive in the coverage of all water plants and gives practical information on their care. It is suitable to ponds in any climate. Also, photos are lovely and are great for plant identification.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2007
Whether you're a commercial grower or just an avid hobbyist, this is the book of all books an aquatic plants. Very informative with excellent pictures, descriptions and pertenant information. A must have for anyone interested in aquatic gardening.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2007
I have found the encyclopedia of water garden plants a valuable resource in planting in my area. It contains a wealth of information for your aquatic plants, and how to's.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse