Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Western romance from the heart
It took me a little while to warm up to this hero, but when I did, I fell as hard as heroine Keri Langston. Brooks Morgan runs away from home as a young man, and drifts for ten years until the end of his trail brings him stumbling into Shoofly, Texas during a hail storm with empty pockets. A dying rancher, Will, befriends Brooks and gives him a meal and a job. Will's...
Published on June 26, 2012 by Kathleen L. Maher

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Lowered ratings because of hangings & Sexual parts
“He won a ranch in a card game. She claims the ranch is her inheritance. He's not leaving--and neither is she.
Brooks Morgan is quick on the draw, but his weapon of choice is his smile. He’s smart and witty and has charmed his way through much of life, but now that he’s growing older—and a bit wiser. He wants to stop drifting and settle down...
Published 1 month ago by Lindsey Z. from Books for Chri...


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Western romance from the heart, June 26, 2012
By 
It took me a little while to warm up to this hero, but when I did, I fell as hard as heroine Keri Langston. Brooks Morgan runs away from home as a young man, and drifts for ten years until the end of his trail brings him stumbling into Shoofly, Texas during a hail storm with empty pockets. A dying rancher, Will, befriends Brooks and gives him a meal and a job. Will's unexpected kindness lands Brooks toe to toe with Will's niece, Keri. Both Keri and Brooks stake a claim on Will's ranch and the romantic sparks fly. These rivals quickly band together when a dangerous man puts the ranch in his cross hairs.

Both hero and heroine have past scars that they must overcome. Both must make peace with estranged family. And both will steal your heart as they face hardship, setback, threats and heartbreak with grit and genuine character. You'll root for them against all odds and cheer as they stake their claim on love, reconciliation, and a very happily ever after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb finish to a strong historical saga, June 1, 2012
In 1886 in Waco, his mom and older sister deride sixteen year old Brooks Morgan for not doing his fair share of the chores. His dad lectures him further. Upset, he becomes angry when his dad says he will sell Brooks' horse jester. Brooks leaves.

In 1896 Brooks meets elderly ailing Will Langston. They play cards and Brooks wins the man's Raven Creek Ranch; Will asks him to take care of Keri. Feeling guilty, Brooks decides to return the spread to Will, but instead his new friend is dead. At the same time, Keri Langston looks forward to leaving Wesleyan Female College in Georgia to return to her beloved Uncle Will's ranch. Brooks arrives at the ranch only to be strung up with a rope around his neck. Keri rescues him, but believes in spite of the deed Brooks possesses that her Uncle Will would want her to own Raven Creek Ranch. As they fall in love, someone has plans for the ranch, which exclude the niece and the deed holder.

The sixth Texas Trails Morgan Family nineteenth century western romance is a superb finish to a strong historical saga. The story line is fast-paced and filled with action while bringing to life Texas in the last decade of the twentieth century. Written by three authors romance (see Darlene Franklin's Ranger's Trail and The Lone Star Trail; Cowgirl Trail and The Captive Trail by Susan Page Davis; and Long Trail Home by Vickie McDonough), this is a fitting End of the Trail for a great epic.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent summer read, June 21, 2012
End of the Trail, the most recent offering from Moody Publishers in the Morgan Family Series, is the story of Brooks Morgan as he struggles to grow from rebellious adolescent to manhood. He left home in anger at age sixteen and drifted for ten years before stumbling into Shoofly, Texas, during a rainstorm. Broke and hungry, he takes a job caring for an ageing rancher, Will Langston.

Nursemaid to a sick, old man is not Brooks usual occupation, yet he grows to deeply care for Will who reminds him of the father he left behind in Waco. When he wins the deed to Will's ranch in a friendly game of poker, Brooks tries to give it back but the dying man insists it was won fairly. His only request is that Brooks care for Keri after he is gone. Thinking "Keri" must be the family dog, Brooks agrees.

In truth, Keri is an attractive niece that Will raised and sent to finishing school two years earlier. When she returns to Shoofly on the same day that Will is riding out to claim the ranch, misunderstandings and angers flare. These are complicated by the fact that her first encounter of Brooks is when she saves him from being lynched by shooting the rope around his neck loose from a tree limb.

The author develops a touching and believable romance between Keri and Brooks that forms a delightful subplot to their joint efforts to defend the ranch from a land-hungry baron and a crooked banker. There is plenty of action to move the plot along and well developed characters without the predictability and shallowness too often found in Christian romance.

Because the Morgan Family Series has several authors, there is a great deal of difference in the quality of the various reads even though characters remain consistent. In End of the Trail writer Vickie McDonough does a better than average job of producing a work that is readable, entertaining, and consistent with the feel of the series as a whole. Her research is woven naturally into the plot and character details without the excessive insertion of archaic terms or extraneous facts that seem to plague other historical novels.

I would recommend End of the Trail to anyone looking for a light summer read. It's a good book to take on vacation or trip to the beach and has the rare quality of incorporating Christian culture and views without giving the impression they were tacked on to please the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars End of the Trail, July 24, 2012
This review is from: End of the Trail (The Texas Trail Series Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this book. The main character is Brooks Morgan,a man who ran away from home at a young age. Ten years later, having never returned home, he meets an old, ailing man named Will who he takes care of. The man gives him his ranch Raven Creek in a game of cards. Brooks tries to return it to him, but the man insists, and also asks that when he is gone, Brooks takes care of Keri. Brooks assumes she is a beloved dog or horse.
Meanwhile, Keri Langston looks forward to leaving her female college and returning home to her uncle's Raven Creek Ranch. On her way home, she discovers a man being strung up with a noose around his neck. She rescues him, then continues home on her own. Later she finds out that the man she rescued is Brooks, who now owns what she thought would be her ranch. He lets her remain in what she still believes is her home and the two begin to fall in love. However, a man who wants to marry Keri also wants her land and will stop at nothing to get what he wants.
I did not read the other books in this series about the Morgan family, but I plan to now after reading this book that I loved reading. The other books are written by several different authors and are called: Captive Trail, Cowgirl Trail, Ranger's Trail, The Lone Star's Trail and The Long Trail Home. I did not think that I missed anything important by not reading these because it could probably stand alone. Nonetheless, I will make sure that I read the others in the series.
Thanks to the publishers and netgalley for a free ebook in exchange for my honest opinion in a review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great tale of family reconciliation!, June 16, 2012
Up front I need to admit that I have not read the other books in the Texas Trails series. However, End of the Trail stands fabulously on its own. Never once did I feel I was missing something for not having read the previous books. Although, I must admit to being curious about some of the Morgan Family predecessors. Might just have to go pick up some of the other books. *grin*

Vickie McDonough crafted a lovely story of two flawed characters. Both Brooks and Keri have been estranged from their families and have dealt with it in different ways. Brooks by charming his way through life and drifting from town to town. Keri by proving herself "man" enough to work a ranch despite having to suffer through two years of finishing school torture. When their lives intermesh, the sparks fly, but along the way, the need for family that they both harbor leads them to each other, to the ones they left behind, and to God.

There is a bit of "Taming of the Shrew" in this story to liven up the interactions, although at times Keri's petulance got a bit old. However, I loved her spunk, her dead-eye aim with a rifle, and her dedication to the ranch. There is plenty of action and drama with a land-grabbing neighbor and a spurned suitor to keep the pages turning. And the powerful message of family reconciliation is one that will stay with me.

End of the Trail is a fun, quick read that I thoroughly enjoyed. Readers who love western inspirational romance, will enjoy Ms. McDonoughs fast-paced tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Texas Trails: A Morgan Family Series Book 6, June 4, 2012
By 
End of the Trail by Vicki McDonough
Texas Trails:A Morgan Family Series Book 6
In book 3 of this series: Lone Trail Home, we met Riley Morgan who had married Anne Sheffield. They lived near Waco, Texas. This book is about Brooks Morgan, their oldest son.
After being a bit too spoiled as a youngster, Brooks has become a bit of a lazy boy by age sixteen. In a moment of anger he takes off on his horse, Jester. Ten years later we find Brooks too stubborn to face his family, broke and in a hail storm. He meets Will Langston, a man who is dying and needs help. Just a short time later Brooks has buried his friend, gained a ranch, and is about to walk into a heap of trouble. Not only from a greedy man wanting his ranch but also from a woman he promised to take care of. At the time he thought Keri was livestock, not a beautiful young woman.

Keri Langston hated the school in Georgia Uncle Will sent her to. Soon she could be back on Raven Creek Ranch, with Uncle Will and out of the fancy dresses and back into her britches with her Winchester and horse. That was the plan. Instead she finds her Uncle Will is dead and some smiling handsome gambler now owns her home. She don't give up easy but neither do those around her. Dengler the neighbor wanting the ranch nor Carl Peters who has wanted to be her beau for years. Between their pride and stubbornness can these two people find not only love for each other but to allow themselves to see God's love in their lives?

I really enjoyed End of the Trail. Vickie brought the characters to life and we got to see Brooks mature right in front of us. Taking care of Will taught him some responsibility. It also brought the real life fact into the book how pride can keep us from doing the right thing and selfishness can stop us from thinking about anyone but ourselves. Poor Riley & Anne never knew for ten years whether Brooks was alive or dead. I also enjoyed when Keri was in Georgia learning to be a lady. They just couldn't take the Texan out of her. The book also shows how parents do what is best for us, sometimes we don't get to see the whole picture until much later in life...as Keri did. Just a great story all the way around.

This is the last book in this series. The trails have been long and tough and filled with violence, hate, prejudice, death and greed. But they have been filled with good things as well. We watched as the Morgan Family grew and spread out, where God blessed them in some ways and walked with them through sorrow to make them stronger in other ways. If you enjoy history, adventure and romance all in one...this series is worth the time to read. The three authors have come together in their writing these six books to put these great stories together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked the setting in this story, June 4, 2012
This book's main character is Brooks Morgan. I have not read any of the other books in this series and because of that feel I missed out on some of the background of the family. I do think this book can stand alone but will say that reading the others in the series would probably make it more enjoyable for you.

The other main character is Keri. I really enjoyed her and thought the author did a good job of developing her and showing how she changed over time. I think the author did this very well with the character of Brooks too! It felt like we were watching these two characters grow up in front of us.

The story itself is in a fun setting. I like stories set in the 1800's and in the west. I also liked how the author wrote the romance of the main characters. Their interactions were well written and I enjoyed that part of the story as much as the setting.

I gave this book 5/5 stars because of the fast moving plot, great characters and fun setting.

I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good end for the Texas Trails Series, July 28, 2012
This review is from: End of the Trail (The Texas Trail Series Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Outside of Waco, Texas in 1886, Brooks Morgan age 16 lives with his parents and sister.
Spoiled by his mother, he resents what he thinks is his father's unfair demands to help out on the family farm. So much so that he runs away.
In 1896, he meets elderly ailing Will Langston and become his helper. In a card game, Brooks wins Langston's ranch and then makes a promise to the dying old man that he will care for Keri.
Keri Langston looks forward to returning home from school to her beloved ranch and uncle, but what she finds is Brooks as the new owner of the ranch and her uncle dead.
Brooks was a little hard to accept as the hero of the novel at first as spoiled, immature young people don't make good heroes. But as the story progress the author did a good job of showing his becoming truly an adult and taking responsibility. I liked Keri from the start.
A good clean story that is appropriate for ages 14 and up to grandma.
With just enough suspense and romance, Vickie McDonough has written an enjoyable end to the Texas Trails series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Novel, August 24, 2012
End of the Trail is the sixth book in the Texas Trails series. Vickie McDonough weaves the tale of Brooks Morgan and Keri Langston. Brooks has been drifting in life for the past ten years, with no real ambition until he stumbles upon the small town of Shoofly, Texas. Brooks comes to the aid of an old man, and wins the deed to a ranch in a high-stakes poker game. Before the old man dies, he quips to Brooks to "take care of Keri." No problem, he grew up on a ranch and knows how to handle critters.

Except Keri isn't the animal he was anticipating, but a beautiful young woman instead. Brooks doesn't know the first thing about what to do with her, and isn't about to give up his opportunity of a home of his own. Will they be able to solve their differences or will one of them need to go packing? I'm sure you'll enjoy this delightful tale set in 1896.

This book was provided free for review by Moody Publishers and the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of End of Trail, August 19, 2012
Title: End of the Trail

Author: Vickie McDonough

Series: Texas Trails Series

Genre: Christian Historical fiction

Rating: 4 ˝ stars

Publisher: Moody

The final book in the Texas Trails series, but End of the Trail can be read alone. Brooks Morgan accidentally inherites a ranch that was meant to be Keri's. End of the Trail is only the second book in the Texas Trails Series but Keri is quickly becoming a favorite Heroine. I love her spunk and the fact that she knows how to use a gun.
Both Brooks and Keri are running from their past. Brooks ran away from home and Keri did not have a traditional upbringing most work together to save a ranch.
I love that the Texas Trails series have flawed hero's and Heroine's in order to show God's grace. I also love that even though the hero "recues" the heroine the heroine is still strong in her own way to remain true to history, because the west wasn't won my men and damsels in distress. The women who went west were strong and determined.
I look forward to reading the rest of the Texas Trails series to read the rest of the Morgan family's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.