Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 2, 2012
Ambassador Bolton writes like he speaks: Direct, precise and exact. His book is chillingly on target, as most of America (if not most of the world) has come to realize that Obama is destroying the fabric of America. Its affordable and an easy read... I think I might buy a hundred copies as gifts for my liberal friends.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2014
Bolton is at his best describing how we are backing away from international leadership by angering allies and presenting a Casper Milktoast approach to the troublemakers in the world. In the bipolar world, we led the forces for freedom and self-determination, but now appealing to the isolationist tendencies of the American people, the current administration no lo longer sees us as a leader, but a member of the coalition of nations to try to stabilize the world. Instead the response to our lack of leadership is a fracturing of the allied nations' solidarity and the rise of the terrorist franchises.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2015
I welcome anyone interested in the role of national sovereignty in American foreign policy to invest in this short broadside from a familiar conservative thinker. Bolton enjoys chumming the waters with controversial arguements and insights; whatever your philosophical perspective, this thunderboldt will polish your intellectual furniture and sharpen your arguements. Because of its brevity, this critique is obviously limited, but in an age of Twitter nobody should mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2014
I wish congress would take the time to read this book ! Perhaps then my grandchildren would have an opportunity to still have some freedom of choice left, as I fear with the course that BHO has charted for our nation that there will be little freedoms left. Of course the majority of the American people will continue to be persuaded just as in the "Emperors New clothes".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2015
Excellent description of what Obama and the democratic party is doing to set up a world government and destroy The US using treaties. Unfortunately Congress does nothing to stop it. Thank you John Bolton for exposing what is going on. Global warming is a hoax to facilitate this process through regulation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon September 19, 2012
John R. Bolton was the permanent U.S. representative to the United Nations in 2005-2006; he is currently a fellow at the American Enterprise Institute, as well as the author of Surrender Is Not an Option: Defending America at the United Nations.

He suggests in this 2010 booklet, "Barack Obama is our first post-American president---someone who sees his role in foreign policy less as an advocate for America's 'parochial' interests and more as a 'citizen of the world,' in his own phrase. He broadly embodies many European social demographic values, including those regarding sovereignty..." (Pg. 9-10)

He states that Obama "adopted the view widely held in Europe and among legal theorists that terrorist threats and attacks should be treated under the criminal law enforcement paradigm, rather than as attacks on America subject to the law of war. The question is whether we treat terrorists as bank robbers on steroids or as national security threats to which we should respond in legitimate self-defense. The Obama administration strongly supports the criminal law paradigm, which most Americans emphatically reject." (Pg. 23-24)

He observes that Obama "has used military force ... almost apologetically... Thus, even when announcing a substantial increase to the U.S. forces in Afghanistan to combat the Taliban, he avowed simultaneously his hope to begin withdrawing those forces in mid-2011. Such a clear signal of weakness only encourages the Taliban and al Qaeda to hold on until that point, when Obama could begin bringing troops home, perhaps even proclaiming 'mission accomplished.'" (Pg. 31)

He asserts, "Whatever the reality of the earth's changing temperature and humanity's role in it, the fundamental debate should be over the proposed solutions. If increased taxation, regulation, and control at the national or international levels are the answers, we are clearly asking the wrong questions." (Pg. 35)

Provocative, but thought-provoking, this book will interest anyone seeking a short argument against many "foreign policy" positions of the current administration.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2014
John Bolton is one the foremost experts on subjects of this nature. He is a national treasure, unfortunate that he is kept out of public service by a regeim that rfuses to acknowledge the great wort he has to our nation.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2013
Brilliant [as usual] account of how Obama is surrendering our USA sovereignty to the UN and global anti-American interests. A MUST-READ for anyone who really wants to know what's really going on. Amb. Bolton is routinely correct in his assessment and analyses of international affairs and how Obama has undermined and weakened America all over the world.

Dr. Gary Katz
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
Excellent book Johnn Bolton is always very accurate in his assessment and tremendous knowledge of the subjects he writes about a must read for all that care about our Nation's course
Julio
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2015
Very good book. John is a good writer and spells out what is happening in America. The price was goog and it can on time and in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse