Customer Reviews


245 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


212 of 220 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning of Megadeth's True Return
Megadeth, Dave Mustaine, both are names that are commonplace in the Metal Community and for good reason as Dave has been releasing quality Metal since the Mid-Eighties and that is no easy feat considering most of the bands that Megadeth grew with conformed to more mainstream styles or broke up. Mustaine and Megadeth continue to be constant idols for new and old fans of...
Published on September 15, 2009 by C. M. Gillum

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting better
I love Megadeth, but they've been a band that has rarely lived up to what they could be, in my opinion. Rust in Peace, Countdown, and YOuthenasia are my personal favorites of mine. I"ve always thought they had a great sound, except for Cryptic Writtings, and Risk, but very few of their albums grabbed me. That's not to say they didn't have their good songs. Even Risk...
Published on December 26, 2009 by Metalhammer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No suprises here!, September 26, 2009
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
Amazing album from Megadeth but like the title say no suprises here. Dave Mustaine and the guys worked their butts off to make this record and it comes through. Every song on this album is so well written, played and sang. My only complaint is some of the songs should've lasted longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Megadeth album since Rust in Peace!, January 29, 2010
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
Every track is amazing, Shawn is one crazy drummer, James is one of the worlds most influencial bassists ever, and Chris and Dave make THE greatest guitar duos!

Recommended songs:
Dialotic Chaos
This Day We Fight!
44 Minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars aaarghh me hearties, September 28, 2009
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
metallica should sit down and listen...this is how you do it. Really, not much else to add, Endgame may just be an instant speedmetal classic. All of this in late 2009, can you believe it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incredible return of metal, November 27, 2009
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
First off, i have been a metal-loving rocker for a lont time now, and while i was only a fan of metallica for quite some time... my freind had me listen to "Rust in Peace" by megadeth, and totally loved it. After exploring other megadeth's stuff, i heard that their new album Endgame was coming out. I had my doubts after the some-what dissapointment of Metallica's Death Magnetic. BOY WAS I WRONG!!! THis album is excellent in honestly anyway. The riffs roar, solos scream, and dave's voice i think is better than ever. Aight here goes the track list....

1: Dialectic Chaos: Best opener ever-- incredicle screaming solos over fast riffing make for an awesome yet short first track

2: This day we Fight: This song is awesome simply because of how fast and hard-hitting it is. Although its kinda corny how mustaine uses the Lord of the Rings trilogy for inspiration for this song

3: 44 Minutes: The second single on the album and also my personl FAVORITE!! A realy catchy intro of a 911 call and a solo that starts slow and builds into some pretty epic tapping a tremelo picking. in the last 15-20 seconds of this song, brodericks soloing will pretty much leave anybody bowing down to his greatness. Also a pretty catchy chorus too!

4: 1320: Definately a solid song right here, and reminds us what an intro megadeth riff should sound like. Fast and hard, defintaly a good song

5: Biot the Hand: Close second for personal favorite. Excellent lyrics with pounding riffs. Mustaine here really focuses on economic trouble and wall stret. this song includes my favorite line... "When its dog eat dog you are what u eat" refereing to wall street. Reallly cool Song!!!

6: Bodies: Pretty good song with really good instrumentals -- yet for some reason the way mustaine sings "bodies left behind" bugs me.. dont know why, but either way its another great song.

7: Endgame: Title track and also up there in the top 5 on the album. I think this one is about a dream mustaine has about the president of the us taking over america. Kinda funky the way he goes about saying it, but has probably the coolest intro and also a really catchy chorus.

8: Hardest part of letting go: Ballad about love.. something mustaine rarely talks about. but he does so well. slow intro which then speeds up into a riff that puts any dream theater song to shame

9: Headcrusher: 1st single? idk why... this is in my opinion the weakest song on the album.. although its really fast and includes a really cool bridge...the lyrics are really graphic and while i like a song i can connect to, i really cant do so when hes talking about your head getting squeezed until it pops. Ill probably get yelled at for saying so.. but sry, just my opinion.

10: How the Story ends: Doesnt really stand out but still the normal... good riffs, good lyrics, good solos, good song.

11: The right to go insane: originally titled "nothing left to lose" i think it shoudl have remained that way but u know whatever. this one is also pretty catchy with some excellent instrumentsls.

sry for all the spelling mistakes.. didnt have mush time to write this, but in conclusion -- this album proves that thrash metal has returned stronger than ever, and whether u prefer megadeth or metallica, it really doesnt matter cause this album rocks!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The REAL Return of Greatness!, November 27, 2009
This review is from: Endgame (MP3 Music)
I own every Megadeth album released and many bootlegs, some are great (Rust in Peace, Youthanasia)and some are not(Cryptic Writings, Risk)but this one is AMAZING!

This album does NOT dethrone Rust in Peace as the bands magnum opus nor take my spot for the second best album by the band(Youthanasia)but it IS the most pure-to-the-roots effort since Rust In Peace!

The themes are ambitious and so is the production, writing, playing (some of the best solos EVER)and vocal deliverance by Mustaine.

There are three sides to Megadeth imo; songs like Holy Wars, Hook In Mouth and Tornado of Souls are are flat out perfect classic Megadeth rockers. Others such as Train of Consequences, Symphony of Destruction and When are more "modern era" Megadeth classics. Finally tracks like The Scorpion, A Secret Place and Crush 'Em are somewhere in between. All three of these categories have had strong hit and misses in their respective areas

Endgame fuses the best of both perfectly and is an instant Megadeth classic!!

The best way to describe Endgame is to take the whole journey of Megadeth's evolution and only filter the best of all aspects. Combine all of this with a grandoise effort and flavor likened to Rust In Peace and you have the excellent new offering which is Endgame.

This is Megadeth's Rust in Peace 2009 and their return to excellence!!

Don't miss this one droogies!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but kinda chaotic, April 28, 2011
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
Let me say this first. Megadeth is my soul band. I enjoyed ALL the albums(including Risk, yes!), but this one is just less melodic and harsher to my ears than any of the previous albums. I appreciated Megadeth because of the melodic influence that you don't find in other thrash bands.
It's a good album, the lyrics are awesome but the melody is missing. I'll never stop loving Megadeth but I must admit...after listening to this album, I really think Friedman should have stayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the best from megadeth in 10 years but not their best by far, November 9, 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
this cd is a very good cd they definetly have a renewed viger to return to the top of their game but this is not the strongest effort.I will say there are part of the cd that remind me of older megadeth but mustaine has been hiring the best musican he can for years and these guys have talent but the bassist of white lion! my god sorry dave.that is to disturbing.the drummer has some good talent like wise the guitarist but the damage has been done JR's long gone Gar RIP and chris poland will never tour with mustaineand,just write and record,nick and marty are not coming backand forget chuck ea? and jeff(wantabe)forget them
these men made dave dreams come to bearand not much can be done now to replace or repair the megamachine.
like it or hate it this cd is pretty good but nothing like the first 5 cds and they are faster and more thrash like then the middle years but unless you like the system has failed or united abominations this is just more of the same no real improvement.
slayers world painted red cruches this cd in a minute-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blistering Guitars - average vocals, November 10, 2009
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
I do like this album as Dave has written killer riffs and solos but the singing (or it is more talking on this one) is not that special. Shame he appears to have left out the chorus's - like many reviews have said - nearly all Megadeth fans love a sing along to Hangar 18, Symphony of Destruction and the the outro of Peace Sells for example - unfortunately we didnt get any of those on this album. A worthy addition to any Megadeth fans collection but it just feels like it could have reached the glory days with a little more tuneful signing and a catchy chorus thrown in here and there. Head Crusher the stand out track for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars traumatize your pets !, December 2, 2009
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
If I could break the STARS rating, this would be a 6 !
Every other Band out there, putting out mediocre music needs to listen to THIS album !
If you're gonna sell new product to the World, for God's Sake, bring your "A-Game" or GO HOME and TRY AGAIN !
I will not get into "Naming Names", but,
a lot of highly-anticipated "New Releases" this year turned out to be disappointments.
This record feels like taking all those sad, weak emotions, crumpling them up into a pile, STOMPING on them,
then lighting them on fire, and cackling and dancing around the Firepit screaming,
"F--- weakness & commerciality & superficiality !" "I am a WARRIOR, and a SURVIVOR !
"Stand in my way at your OWN PERIL, for I will FLATTEN you like a Sherman Tank !"
Dave Mustaine continues to set the Bar higher, and now he's a Born-again Christian to boot !
How friggin' COOL is that ?!
Just because you make room in your heart for God & Jesus, doesn't mean you gotta "cheese-it" !
Crank this up on yer home stereo, and even your Dog will be thinking,
"DAMN DUDE ! THIS ALBUM TOTALLY SLAMS ! Let's go Hunting Right Now !
I wanna BITE somethin' ! GRRrrrrrowlll !"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars came cracked, October 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
it came to me cracked and the case was also damaged i plan on sending it back and would not buy from this joke of a seller, i pay good money for my stuff and expect the same when i get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Endgame
Endgame by Megadeth (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.