Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Price:$54.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 19, 2011
Energizer Ultimate Lithium AA 36 Batteries L91
Batteries came in two plastic tubs (see posted image)-- one tub of 20 and another of 16 -- not Energizer packaging.
Date code was "1010" which I assume to mean October, 2010 (~7% of shelf life gone), so they were not as fresh as I had hoped.
However, price was better than most other vendors on Amazon.
review image
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2011
As many reviewers say, it is important to use these for the right job. Simply putting these in a TV remote would be a complete waste of money due to thier price. However, when used in an apllication that requires increased performance, these batteries are completely worth the price you pay.

Mostly, I use them for flashlights for camping and other tasks around the house. They not only make my flashlights last longer, they increase the brightness and will not fail in freezing temperatures. I own some pretty expensive flashlights also. The lithiums are far less likely explode or leak like alkaline have been known to do. It has happened to me and ruined a flashlight on me. That being said, I recommend these for your high-end electronics like digital cameras or two-way radios and the like. They will perform better and will not be ruined by a battery malfunction.

The other great thing for the camping aspect is the lightweight of the batteries themselves. This allows me to pack them into my system and not worry about weight as they feel seemingly hollow, almost cheaply light.

I highly recommend the Powerpax battery caddy sold here on amazon for storage in camera bags or your camping system. They keep them from coliding with each other and getting damaged. You can seem my in-depth review on these items as well to gain an idea of how well they function.

You can also buy these in bulk as the shelf life is 15-16 years as advertised. I can not vouch for this personally but it is an intriguing idea for sure.

Also, these are the best deal on these batteries I have found to date. The price for each battery is the lowest on amazon, walmart, or sams club. However, that may be subject to change with fluctuations in pricing.

Overall, I highly recommend these batteries for those tasks that demand performance. They are worth the price and will keep your expensive electronics safer.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2015
Purchased from Mel Pierce Camera Repair. Arrived in 9 packages of 4 batteries each. Multimeter readout showed 1.788 volts. 4 batteries weighed roughly 60 grams, or 60% the weight of Costco Kirkland batteries. Good stuff!
review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2013
batteries were used.....I am a photographer and have purchased these often. When it is a bulk pack of 4 they will last 70% of the wedding......These did not make it past 50 shots.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2011
Have switched all of our AA battery use for cameras, flash units, binoculars (our Image Stabilizer 'nocies use AA batteries), mp3 players, remotes, etc., to these Lithium batteries, don't even bother with any others now (except to use up current stock of those other AAs in select non-critical electronics like portable travel fans). Getting these in bulk from one source cost less (shipping included) than any local price we could find. We also use AAA sizes for other electronics that use AAA size. Are they less costly overall than alkaline batteries? Dunno, haven't kept track, but not having to change batteries nearly as often is worth it even if the long-term cost "might" be higher. That is especially true when in the field observing nature; having to interrupt a viewing to change batteries in cameras, flash units, and nocies is neither convenient nor desirable. Seller delivered our order quickly, their price was fair, so expect to buy from them again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2014
I use these for night vision equipment. They last 3 times longer than normal alkaline batteries (60 hours vs 20!)

They are also far less sensitive to temperate, and fair less likely to leak.

Additionally, the have a 10 year plus shelf life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
Receive the product fast. Looking at the description of 36 Batteries which was misleading. Only receive one pack of 4 batteries. At a price over $20. was high for just four batteries. Will be more careful when ordering batteries from now on. Will not reorder.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2016
Wow.. These are just junk.. Bought these as recommended for somfy drapes.. They last about 1 month 2 weeks with shades going up and down twice a week..

That's not the crappy part... I pull them out and voltage text them (they're 8 in series for each shade), and I get voltages of .15,.3, .4, .5, .8, 1.2, 1.5, 1.4.... All over the place.. They should wear evenly.. Not.. Yeah don't buy these for somfy..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2016
Great batteries for camera flashes. Lasts longer then standard alkaline batteries, flashes are heavy drain electronics. Using lithium batteries, the flashes recharge faster and these batteries let you get more shots than standard alkaline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
These are the Ultimate lithiums in the AA size. Although these days I prefer rechargeables, these batteries have their uses. Lithium primaries are a lithium iron disulfide chemistry and in the U.S. Energizer has the patent on it, so no one else can make them, at least here. Compared to other secondaries like NiMH and most other lithium ion batteries, they have great shelf life (up to 20 years)***, excellent temperature tolerance (-40 to -140 degrees F), and output voltage (1.5V vs. 1.2V for NiMH). They perform well in high drain applications that ordinary alkalines aren't really adequate for, such as photographic equipment, infrared night vision equipment, etc. The difference between the L91's and the L92's is the L91's are rated for 3.0A discharge current and are AA and the L92's are only 1.5A and are AAA.

As far as using them in devices around the house goes, such as remotes and flashlights, which is what I'm concerned with, lithiums will outperform alkaline batteries, as well as most NiMH batteries. Battery Guy over on the CPF (CandlePowerForum.com) points out that flashlights that have 2W draw or less per cell will do better with Li-Ion primaries. Above 2W, he says you will get longer runtime using NiMH types.

Overall a good product if you need it and don't want to mess with the additional device of a charger. Unfortunately they're no longer made in the U.S. as production was moved to Singapore in the last couple of years.

By the way, safely charging lithium ion batteries requires some extra knowledge and skill. You should read the CPF battery forum and go to BatteryUniversity.com for more information if you plan to do it. That's what I did and I'm now almost 100% in rechargeables for both NiMH and Li-Ion. Rechargeableis can save you a lot of money over the long term. Finally, the PDF data sheet from Energizer is here: http://data.energizer.com/PDFs/l91.pdf

***Note: There are some exceptions. Lithium thionyl chloride batteries also last very long, said to be as long as 25 years, but these are special use cells and not generally used by the average consumer. They are often used for memory backup, and are common in applications which require long life, where extreme temperature tolerance is needed, and where maintenance will be infrequent, such as remote arctic weather station equipment and sensors, remote animal tracking devices, remote alarm systems, etc.

Note that they are not actually a lithium ion type and are not rechargeable. Tadiran, SAFT, and Varta are among the few companies that makes them and sell them in the U.S. The Varta sales and technical handbook has some good info and is here: http://www.varta-microbattery.com/applications/mb_data/documents/sales_literature_varta/handbook_primary_lithium_cylindrical_series_er_en.pdf
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.