Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the value
It's a good set of batteries. I have a few pairs of these and they last just as long if not longer than the regular batteries. For me, the high demand items like my wii controllers would do better with regular but when you consider the advantages of these batteries, even if you lose an hour, just pop out the drained batteries, put in the fresh ones and charge the drained...
Published 9 months ago by Skynet

versus
46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Energizer pulled yet another bunny out of its collective a... HAT
This product (Energizer New Universal Recharge Batteries, AAA UNH12BP) is the latest addition to the Energizer 'Recharge' family. Note that its capacity (mAh) is not mentioned in the product description nor on the packaging. Only when you examine the physical cell will you see the rating of '500mAh', which is pitiful by today's standard.

Just for...
Published 16 months ago by NLee the Engineer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Energizer pulled yet another bunny out of its collective a... HAT, August 19, 2013
This product (Energizer New Universal Recharge Batteries, AAA UNH12BP) is the latest addition to the Energizer 'Recharge' family. Note that its capacity (mAh) is not mentioned in the product description nor on the packaging. Only when you examine the physical cell will you see the rating of '500mAh', which is pitiful by today's standard.

Just for comparison:
- Sanyo eneloop AAA batteries are rated "800mAh typical, 750mAh minimum". Actual measured capacity (using the La Crosse BC1000 charger/analyzer) is around 830mAh.
- Tenergy Centura AAA batteries are also rated for 800mAh typical. Actual measured capacity is close to 900mAh.

An even more disturbing observation is that: Energizer has pulled this 'disappearing act' with battery capacities before.
- The old Energizer Rechargeable NiMH series (in black/green wrapper, circa 2005) was rated up to 900mAh for AAA.
- The first generation Energizer 'Recharge' AAA was called NH12-850 (silver/green wrapper, circa 2010). Its capacity was rated 850mAh.
- Sometime between 2011 and 2012, Energizer quietly replaced its 'Recharge' series with NH12-700, which has reduced capacity of 700mAh.
- The latest 'New Universal' series is called RE12-500 (light green wrapper). Its capacity is further reduced to just 500mAh.

Energizer is not the first company that tries to sell reduced-capacity rechargeable batteries to the unsuspecting public. Rayovac also offers the Rayovac Everyday-Use Low Self Discharge NiMH AAA. It has a capacity of 650mAh compared to 800mAh for Rayovac Platinum Pre-Charged NiMH AAA. But at least the 'Everyday-Use' series is priced lower than the Platinum series.

As of this writing, those 500mAh Energizer AAA batteries are priced up to 50% HIGHER than Sanyo eneloop or Tenergy Centura batteries. This is yet another example of corporation marketing a 'New' but inferior product at a higher price. Don't fall for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What Energizer Bunny won't tell you about those 'NEW' batteries..., August 6, 2013
This review is from: Energizer Universal NiMH AA Rechargeable Batteries, 4-count (1400 mAh, 1500 Cycles, Pre-Charged) (Health and Beauty)
The product description of this Energizer New Universal Recharge Batteries makes it sounds like a new and improved version of the existing Energizer Recharge Batteries. It claims those new batteries 'Can be charged up to 1500 times', just like the Sanyo eneloop. However, nowhere on the package did it mention the capacity of those new batteries. Only when you examine the actual batteries will you see the fine print of '1400mAh'.

Just for reference:
- Existing Energizer 'Recharge' AA cells are rated for '2300mAh', which is about 60% higher than the 'New Universal Recharge' AA cells
- Sanyo eneloop AA cells are rated for 2000mAh (actual capacity is closer to 2100mAh when measured using the La Crosse BC1000 charger/analyzer).

Lower capacity means those batteries offer shorter run time, and consequently they have to be recharged more frequently. So although it claims the same '1500 cycles' as Sanyo eneloop does, it is only equivalent to 1000 cycles at best.

Energizer is not alone in marketing of lower capacity rechargeable batteries. Rayovac started it back in 2009 with 'OPP' series of Rayovac Rechargeable NiMH Batteries which is also rated 1400mAh. If you can get those 1400mAh batteries at significant saving over Sanyo eneloop or old Energizer Recharge batteries, then it may be still worth considering. Just make sure you don't mix them with higher capacity cells, or else it will drag down the capacity of the whole set.

As of this writing, however, those Energizer 'New Universal Recharge' batteries are priced up to 50% HIGHER than the far superior Sanyo eneloop cells. So it is simply not worth considering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Battery with a low power rating (500mAh), April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was disappointed that the Energizer batteries I received only had a 500 mAh power rating (rating can be found on the battery itself). I visited the battery manufacturers website & discovered the one & only AAA rechargeable battery that Energizer currently offers has a rating of 700 mAh, that is 40% more power than the batteries I received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the value, March 28, 2014
This review is from: Energizer Universal NiMH AA Rechargeable Batteries, 4-count (1400 mAh, 1500 Cycles, Pre-Charged) (Health and Beauty)
It's a good set of batteries. I have a few pairs of these and they last just as long if not longer than the regular batteries. For me, the high demand items like my wii controllers would do better with regular but when you consider the advantages of these batteries, even if you lose an hour, just pop out the drained batteries, put in the fresh ones and charge the drained ones. By the time the new ones drain, you simply switch again. Rinse and repeat. I have saved so much money by switching to these alone. Granted they are regular batteries, the recharge feature makes them worth the feature. In regular electronics, I have to say that these last about as long if not a little longer than regular batteries. My hand radios lasted almost an entire three day weekend on one charge with high demand output and usage while regular batteries drained at around the end of the third day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I hope I just got a bad pack, but I won't be taking a chance ..., September 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Energizer Universal NiMH AA Rechargeable Batteries, 4-count (1400 mAh, 1500 Cycles, Pre-Charged) (Health and Beauty)
Can't hold a charge, lasts maybe 5% as along as an alkaline. I hope I just got a bad pack, but I won't be taking a chance by buying any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pink bunny's and all, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Energizer Universal NiMH AA Rechargeable Batteries, 4-count (1400 mAh, 1500 Cycles, Pre-Charged) (Health and Beauty)
I get a charge out of how good these batteries are it energizes me to see such a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, September 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Energizer Universal NiMH AA Rechargeable Batteries, 4-count (1400 mAh, 1500 Cycles, Pre-Charged) (Health and Beauty)
These batteries have lasted me over 6 months at least. I've never had any issues with them and usually they die at the same time which is weirdly convenient for my boyfriend and I. We use them for our mouse batteries and when one dies we just switch both because we know the other one is going to die within a day or so. Good for the environment and replacing regular batteries is too expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great batteries for 1400 mAh, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this 8 count because I was tired of using regular AA batteries all the time. I have 2300 mAh rechargeable batteries and they last only a little longer than these do. I have yet to see the limit of when they stop taking charges, or don't hold a charge for long. Solid batteries though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, May 24, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I guess I expected the life of the battery would compare to a regular alkaline batter, so was a little disappointed with that but otherwise I liked them. I use them in an LED flashlight (Redline). Thinking maybe they might get a little better when the competition gears up some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Work, April 7, 2014
By 
Ron Texas (Tyler, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Energizer Universal NiMH AA Rechargeable Batteries, 4-count (1400 mAh, 1500 Cycles, Pre-Charged) (Health and Beauty)
What more can be said. Rechargeable double A batteries only hold a 1.4 volt charge rather than disposables at 1.5. Understanding this is why you buy rechargeable ones. They will need re-charging more often than the disposable. It only makes sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.