Customer Reviews


512 Reviews
5 star:
 (340)
4 star:
 (97)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Alternative to Regular Batteries
We purchase these batteries to use in the deployment of walkie-talkies throughout a production facility. The batteries themselves hold a charge on Motorola walkie-talkie for at least eight hours a day. The charger itself is very simple to use and works rapidly to recharge depleted batteries. Currently we have fourteen employees utilizing these chargers and batteries with...
Published on December 11, 2011 by Anthony Saponaro

versus
276 of 293 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Now comes with a "New and Improved" value charger, but lower-capacity batteries
[Updated on Dec 23, 2013]
Energizer has changed this Energizer Value Charger package several times since my original review two years ago. The old version contains the Energizer CHVCM value charger, and four 2000mAh rechargeable NiMH AA batteries. The newest version now ships with the "New and Improved" CHVCM3 value charger, plus four 1300mAh batteries...
Published on January 21, 2012 by NLee the Engineer


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

276 of 293 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Now comes with a "New and Improved" value charger, but lower-capacity batteries, January 21, 2012
This review is from: Energizer Value Charger with AA Rechargeable NiMH Batteries (Electronics)
[Updated on Dec 23, 2013]
Energizer has changed this Energizer Value Charger package several times since my original review two years ago. The old version contains the Energizer CHVCM value charger, and four 2000mAh rechargeable NiMH AA batteries. The newest version now ships with the "New and Improved" CHVCM3 value charger, plus four 1300mAh batteries.

Both CHVCM and CHVCM3 have the same limitation: they can only charge in pairs. That is, either 2 or 4 AA/AAA cells at once. This is most inconvenient when you have appliances that require odd number of cells. If you charge one empty cell and one full cell as a pair, the later will be badly overcharged. Even if you only use rechargeable cells in pairs, their capacities cannot be exactly the same, so the cell with lower capacity is inevitably over-charged. In the long run, over-charging of batteries leads to reduced capacity and shorter lifespan.

- The old CHVCM is a timer-based dumb charger. That means it simply charges at a fixed current (300mA for AA) for a fixed time, regardless of the actual capacity and status of your batteries.
- The new CHVCM3 is a 'semi-smart' charger. It monitors the status of each pair of batteries during charging, and stops automatically once the pair is fully charged (a real 'smart' charger is supposed to monitor the status of each cell).
- The CHVCM3 only works from 110V AC, so it is not suitable as a travel charger. For that you need one that accepts 100-240V AC, and faster charge time.
- The LED indicator light is Red when charging, Green when done. It flashes in case of bad cells.

The included four Energizer AA rechargeable batteries have very low capacity of 1300mAh. They come in light-green wrappers, perhaps to distinguish them from the higher capacity Energizer Recharge 2300mAh AA batteries. The problem is that their capacity numbers are written in fine prints, so most users will not know the difference. If you combine different cells in a set, the lowest-capacity cell will drag down the overall capacity.

Given the present low price of this package, it may be worth considering if you need some low-capacity cells for light-duty appliances. Just remember that you need to recharge them 50% more frequently, and be careful not to mix them with regular-capacity batteries.

Finally, If you are looking for full-capacity pre-charged NiMH batteries, my top recommendation is the Sanyo eneloop. If you need a real 'smart' charger, consider the Sony BCG34HRE.

[Update on June 21, 2014]
Sony has discontinued the excellent BCG34HRE I recommended above. One inexpensive alternative is the iGogreen Green Energy Battery Charger Rechargeable Alkaline Batteries. This charger can recharge NiMH in addition to alkaline cells.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Alternative to Regular Batteries, December 11, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Energizer Value Charger with AA Rechargeable NiMH Batteries (Electronics)
We purchase these batteries to use in the deployment of walkie-talkies throughout a production facility. The batteries themselves hold a charge on Motorola walkie-talkie for at least eight hours a day. The charger itself is very simple to use and works rapidly to recharge depleted batteries. Currently we have fourteen employees utilizing these chargers and batteries with success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good value, March 8, 2012
This review is from: Energizer Value Charger with AA Rechargeable NiMH Batteries (Electronics)
I picked one of these up from Lowe's and I have easily made my initial investment back.

In continual use for over a year with the same batteries. They get used alot as they are for the wii remotes.

I'm here to pick up my second one.

This is a good buy IMO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good job, June 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Energizer Value Charger with AA Rechargeable NiMH Batteries (Electronics)
My son has an innotab that eats batteries for lunch. These rechargeables have been great. I think that they last longer than the regular batteries and it's a cinch to plug them in overnight. I may never use regular batteries again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recharge, February 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Energizer Value Charger with AA Rechargeable NiMH Batteries (Electronics)
I buy these batteries all the time for my gaming systems since I have all three and have many wireless controllers. They last me about 2-3 good years which I love about them!!! ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, August 13, 2011
By 
PvtWilliams (New York,New York) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Energizer Value Charger with AA Rechargeable NiMH Batteries (Electronics)
ok this charger charges the batteries pretty quick i use them for a wii remote and they last all day long with a little charge still in them i would recommend you get this its pretty cheap and you get your money's worth. it also charges AA and AAA the only problem i had was that when its plugged in the wall it leans and sometimes falls and can become very hot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needed in my house, January 27, 2012
This review is from: Energizer Value Charger with AA Rechargeable NiMH Batteries (Electronics)
I originally got this for my daughter's leapfrog leap pad. She was going through batteries every couple of days, so rather than go broke buying batteries, I got this along with the Energizer NH15BP-4 Rechargeable AA Battery 4 Pack, which gives us a set to put in her leap pad, and a set to keep on the charger charged. It charges well, and is always ready when I need to swap them out. It is definite woth the money, especially if you go through a lot of batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good as always, January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Energizer Value Charger with AA Rechargeable NiMH Batteries (Electronics)
I have had energizer rechargeable products for many years, they last us between 5-7 years. We mostly use them for our kid's toys. Definitely recommend them, particularly to protect the environment, since they last for so long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good value., March 4, 2012
This review is from: Energizer Value Charger with AA Rechargeable NiMH Batteries (Electronics)
This is a fine product. I use it to charge batteries for my game controller and camera. I think that this charger is a must to bring when on vacation. I just don't like how hot the batteries get while chagrining. Just remember to never put regular batteries in this because they'll explode!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars batteries with less capacity, August 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Energizer Value Charger with AA Rechargeable NiMH Batteries (Electronics)
in the picture what apper in the product information said 2000 mh. and when I recived the product the battery was by 1400 mh.

please change the picture with the capacity because the real product is of less capacity.

luis lozano
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.