Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
Very good introduction book for film students. Very informative and helpful in the aspects of an amateur filmmaker learning to start off.
Published 14 months ago by Zachary R.

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Enough
Something odd here. The writer appropriates Donald Bogle's 5 classification of Blacks in film, but failed to give him credit.
Published 14 months ago by profwilliams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Enough, September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engaging Cinema: An Introduction to Film Studies (Paperback)
Something odd here. The writer appropriates Donald Bogle's 5 classification of Blacks in film, but failed to give him credit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Applying the Sociological Imagination to Cinema (for film scholars who don't actually care what sociology is), August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engaging Cinema: An Introduction to Film Studies (Paperback)
Attempts to discuss film from a sociological perspective without actually acknowledging the field of sociology or any sociological terms. I appreciate where the guy is coming from, but why treat this social approach to film as a novelty when you could have drawn from richer material? Why introduce a term like "the social imaginary" when C. Wright Mills already coined "the sociological imagination" fifty years ago?

I bought the book as a required text in a film analysis course, but reading it really just made me wish the course was being taught by someone who actually had a background in sociology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, September 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engaging Cinema: An Introduction to Film Studies (Paperback)
Very good introduction book for film students. Very informative and helpful in the aspects of an amateur filmmaker learning to start off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engaging Cinema: An Introduction to Film Studies (Paperback)
My professor refers to this book for every film we watch. It's very informative and it breaks down what cinema really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible writting, and diffucalt to understand, November 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engaging Cinema: An Introduction to Film Studies (Paperback)
The author sounds like one of those people that thinks they are very smart by using complicated words and such. The author is probably smart, but there is no need to use words that are complicated and make the reading hard to understand. I bet half the people that read this book wouldn't understand unless they look it up online.

This is suppose to be an Into book, well it definitely is not an Intro. Very difficult to understand what he's trying to say and make's it sound as if tho this is a physiological or philosophy book.

Just to show you how difficult it is to understand, here is a sentence which made no sense to me until I read it a couple of times over

"The great majority of people clearly exhibit either a male or female biological sex identity, alto some people posses the genitalia of both sexes"

"Some people posses the genitalia of both sexes"? Ok that's just sounds completely stupid. Are you telling me there are people that have a penis and a vagina?

Just a bunch of stupid sentence in this book that should have never been said. When witting a book, get to the point by taking about things that matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, but..., October 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engaging Cinema: An Introduction to Film Studies (Paperback)
Sometimes I just don't understand why people use those "fancy" and complicated words to describe a very easy thing.
The author, indeed, is a great writer and he really knows what he's talking about. However this book uses so many complex words and as a English-as-Second-Language student, this freaks me out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent condition, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engaging Cinema: An Introduction to Film Studies (Paperback)
My review is based on the condition of the book. It was required for school so my interest is a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Engaging Cinema: An Introduction to Film Studies
Engaging Cinema: An Introduction to Film Studies by Bill Nichols (Paperback - January 28, 2010)
$17.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.