Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engineering in the City-- a Dad's review, January 26, 2001
By 
Patrick J. Welch (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Engineering the City: How Infrastructure Works, Projects and Principles for Beginners (Paperback)
I have an 8 year old son who is seriously addicted to Lego building blocks and anything else that can be built. I am also a cub scout den leader and that makes me pretty good at understanding what 8 and 9 year old boys like.
They like this book! It answers some basic questions, that very subtley provide some basic engineering principles. What is BEST about this book is that every chapter has several simple projects that your child and you can do together. Again, simple, but it is suprising how educational this kind of fun can be.
My cub scouts like building bridges the best so far. You can bet we will work our way through this book and do many more projects.
Honestly, I wish a book like this existed when I was a kid. I thought engineering was all math and boring! NO SO! This book lights a fire in my imagination as well as that of my son. I love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have!, August 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engineering the City: How Infrastructure Works, Projects and Principles for Beginners (Paperback)
I totally agree with the previous reviewer; this is a fun book to read with your kids and do the activies together. It's also perfect for those awkward moments when they ask you a question like, "how does a road work?" and you don't exactly know the answer. It spells out everything in an easy-to-understand way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful Teacher's Guide, February 11, 2014
By 
Jiang Xueqin (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engineering the City: How Infrastructure Works, Projects and Principles for Beginners (Paperback)
This is a very helpful guide for teachers who want to give their K-6 students a broad overview of urban infrastructure. The writing is clear and crisp, and there are a lot of accompanying diagrams and examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginning engineers to get an introduction., December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engineering the City: How Infrastructure Works, Projects and Principles for Beginners (Paperback)
This book was ideal for my daughter to get an introduction to Engineering. The reading level was just right for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic books for young engineers (to be)!, February 7, 2014
By 
Ellen (Dudley, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engineering the City: How Infrastructure Works, Projects and Principles for Beginners (Paperback)
I found this book easy to read, with excellent pictures. We need our young people interested in engineering and understand what it means. Fascinating! Fantastic books for young engineers (to be)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joshua chacha(Kenya), August 11, 2014
This book was indeed for me my self to get an introduction about engineering.It is good more men it will really help me achieve my goals.I apriciat the author.GOODBYE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, June 12, 2013
By 
This review is from: Engineering the City: How Infrastructure Works, Projects and Principles for Beginners (Paperback)
I bought this book a couple years ago for my son (now almost 12). He still rereads it and enjoys making some of the projects in it. I am so happy I found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, November 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great for kids, horrible for adults. Should have read the reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Came in in the condition it was said to be in., June 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engineering the City: How Infrastructure Works, Projects and Principles for Beginners (Paperback)
I appreciate sellers who but good, used books back into market. My kids are homeschooled, so we are constantly looking for good books to fill up our library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Engineering the City: How Infrastructure Works, Projects and Principles for Beginners
$14.95 $11.94
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.