Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK book
This book explains the concepts very carefully. However, it jumps topic to topic without a smooth trancision. Examples are very elementary, but the problems at the end of each chapter gets tedious quickly. Prefer if the hard problems are approached with more examples. Biggest down fall I see is that there are no answers at the back for any problems.
Published on September 29, 2007 by Mel

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should come with Kraige
I have used this book and the accompanying statics book all within the last year. The author is my Dynamics professor. These books are not as thick as other Statics/Dynamics books I have seen, and the reason is that they are more problem-set oriented than lecture. You really need a good teacher to help you understand the problems and material. This is where having the...
Published on November 7, 2007 by hokie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should come with Kraige, November 7, 2007
By 
hokie (Blacksburg, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
I have used this book and the accompanying statics book all within the last year. The author is my Dynamics professor. These books are not as thick as other Statics/Dynamics books I have seen, and the reason is that they are more problem-set oriented than lecture. You really need a good teacher to help you understand the problems and material. This is where having the author as the teacher helps. The instructional sections of the book are minimal, and I have found the problem sets better for the learning process.

If I were to change this book I would add numerical solutions to every problem, not just the odd ones. And for whatever reason, the publishing oversight is uber critical of posting solutions anywhere other than the classroom, and this can be a nuisance sometime.

Fun fact...a self-proclaimed car guy, Kraige loves problems with cars in them, so there are quite a few of those in there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK book, September 29, 2007
This book explains the concepts very carefully. However, it jumps topic to topic without a smooth trancision. Examples are very elementary, but the problems at the end of each chapter gets tedious quickly. Prefer if the hard problems are approached with more examples. Biggest down fall I see is that there are no answers at the back for any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, Good Condition, April 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engineering Mechanics: Dynamics (Hardcover)
Bought this book used and it was in great condition and I use it everyday now. It helps me learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent worked examples, June 24, 2013
This review is from: Engineering Mechanics: Dynamics (Hardcover)
This book, part of 2-volume set along with its companion "Statics", is very good textbook. Its strength are the examples and illustrations which are in full color and very detailed. The book has a full range of the kinds of practical problems in basic dynamics which you need to solve. The theory presentation is complete, but has some oddities in its language and the focus is more on making a correct mathematical exposition of each concept, almost proof-like, rather than attempting to be didactic. For this reason it is easy to get lost in the text or find it confusing unless you work through it very slowly. If you prefer to learn by doing, this is a good book because you can learn by doing the examples and use the text more as a reference. If you require hand-holding or detailed textual explanations this is not the right book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book offer good explanation about the subjet and the exercises proposed require of the learners a good knowledge, some times these knowledge there are not in this book.

Roberto N. De Jardin Jr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engineering Mechanics: Dynamics (Hardcover)
Classic dynamics textbook. All of the traditional material is present, along with plenty of problems ranging from trivial to darn near impossible. My only qualm with this book is the length of its proofs - I would have liked longer, more in-depth discussions on derivations of the equations. Also: this book relies completely on scaler math. If you would rather do dynamics with vectors, it is best to find another text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK Book, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Engineering Mechanics: Dynamics (Hardcover)
It was in pretty good shape for being a loose leaf textbook. It'll do great for what I need it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delivers the same content for a much, much cheaper price, January 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The "Student Value Edition" of Engineering Mechanics Dynamics delivers the same content as the regular textbook, but because does not have color pictures (gray scale is used instead) the cost of the book could be reduced significantly, I mean like 80% discount if you buy a used one in good conditions! Besides that, nothing else is different. I wish all the other Editors would do the same for their textbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, December 18, 2012
This book is in excellent condition and at a great price. It is recommended for mechanical engineering dynamics courses in university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, March 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Worked great, sold back to the university book store for more than I paid. What a deal! A good value, but like always, check check CHECK the editions. Can't tell you how many books I've ordered off of amazon only to have them arrive and find out I purchased the wrong edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Engineering Mechanics: Dynamics
Engineering Mechanics: Dynamics by J. L. Meriam (Hardcover - March 19, 2012)
$159.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.