Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums $5 Off Fire TV Stick Grocery Shop Popular Services pivdl pivdl pivdl  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Now Deal of the Day
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Other Sellers on Amazon
Buy Used - Like New
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: classics books/CDs
Seller Rating: (153)
Add to Cart
Buy Used - Very Good
+ $3.99 shipping
Lowest price: New
+ $3.99 shipping
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • English Song Album
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

English Song Album Import

1 customer review

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, March 14, 2000
"Please retry"
$82.78 $9.97

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.

Song TitleArtist Time Price
  1. Retir'd from Any Mortal's SightAstra Desmond 3:52$0.99  Buy MP3 
  2. Silvia, Now Your Scorn Give OverAstra Desmond0:34$0.99  Buy MP3 
  3. I See, She Flies from MeAstra Desmond 2:28$0.99  Buy MP3 
  4. On the Brow of Richmond HillAstra Desmond 2:02$0.99  Buy MP3 
  5. Blow, Blow, Thou Winter WindJohn Heddle Nash 1:54$0.99  Buy MP3 
  6. When Icicles Hang By the WallJohn Heddle Nash 2:18$0.99  Buy MP3 
  7. Under the Greenwood TreeJohn Heddle Nash 2:01$0.99  Buy MP3 
  8. Where the Bee SucksJohn Heddle Nash 2:02$0.99  Buy MP3 
  9. My Lovely CeliaRichard Lewis 2:28$0.99  Buy MP3 
10. Faëry SongRichard Lewis 2:11$0.99  Buy MP3 
11. A Shropshire Lad: Loveliest of TreesJohn Cameron 2:45$0.99  Buy MP3 
12. A Shropshire Lad: When I was One-and-TwentyJohn Cameron 1:30$0.99  Buy MP3 
13. A Shropshire Lad: Look Not in My EyesJohn Cameron 2:41$0.99  Buy MP3 
14. A Shropshire Lad: Think No More, LadJohn Cameron 1:21$0.99  Buy MP3 
15. A Shropshire Lad: The Lads in their HundredsJohn Cameron 2:27$0.99  Buy MP3 
16. A Shropshire Lad: Is My Team Ploughing?John Cameron 3:04$0.99  Buy MP3 
17. A Shropshire Lad: Bredon HillJohn Cameron 4:51$0.99  Buy MP3 
18. A Shropshire Lad: Oh Fair Enough are Sky and PlainJohn Cameron 2:53$0.99  Buy MP3 
19. A Shropshire Lad: When the Lad for Longing SighsJohn Cameron 1:46$0.99  Buy MP3 
20. A Shropshire Lad: On the Idle Hill of SummerJohn Cameron 3:50$0.99  Buy MP3 
21. A Shropshire Lad: With Rue My Heart is LadenJohn Cameron 1:52$0.99  Buy MP3 
22. When'er a Snowflake Leaves the SkyGwen Catley 2:53$0.99  Buy MP3 
23. Pale Hands I LoveAlfred Piccaver 3:45$0.99  Buy MP3 
24. O Mistress MineJohn Heddle Nash 1:36$0.99  Buy MP3 
25. Come Away DeathJohn Heddle Nash 2:55$0.99  Buy MP3 
26. It Was a Lover and His LassJohn Heddle Nash 2:32$0.99  Buy MP3 
27. Hey Ho! The Wind and the RainJohn Heddle Nash 1:44$0.99  Buy MP3 
28. To DaisiesWalter Midgley 2:16$0.99  Buy MP3 
29. Go Lovely RoseWalter Midgley 3:06$0.99  Buy MP3 
30. The Lark in the Clear AirOwen Brannigan & William Shakespeare 2:39$0.99  Buy MP3 

Product Details

  • Performer: John Cameron, Richard Lewis, Astra Desmond, John Heddle Nash, Ernest Lush, et al.
  • Audio CD (March 14, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Dutton / Epoch
  • ASIN: B00002MXU9
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,056,972 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By John Austin VINE VOICE on March 14, 2001
Format: Audio CD
Dutton releases continue to win high praise. The authors of a guide to CDs wrote recently, "Almost everything (Mike Dutton) processes seems to turn to gold and the results are sometimes little short of miraculous".
Beautifully processed here is a collections of English songs with piano accompaniment recorded by an array of singers, seven English and one Australian, between 1928 and 1954. The text of eight of them are by Shakespeare. All Butterworth's settings of A E Housman's "A Shropshire Lad" poems are here. It was from strands of the first of these songs, "Loveliest of Trees" that Butterworth wove his orchestral rhapsody "A Shropshire Lad".
There are some splendid voices here, and every word is understood. There is Astra Desmond's contralto, with its dark colouring but bright patina, the fulsome richness of John Heddle Nash's baritone, some mellifluous singing from Richard Lewis, John Cameron's manly baritone, Gwen Catley's unmistakable timbre, Alfred Piccaver in 1928 but clear and easily recognised, and the north of England's vocal quality represented by Walter Midgley and Owen Brannigan.
Whether you're an Anglophile, a remastering enthusiast, or a collector of good voices, you'll get excellent value from this 75 minute CD.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in