Customer Reviews


323 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (78)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfect on Macbook Air, including sound, but must go into the System Preferences first. Also works on Lenovo x230 !
Sound didn't work on my Macbook Air (early 2012 model) on the first try, but going into the System Preferences -> Sound -> Output you can select the output device.
Assuming the adapter is connected to a TV and you can see the computer's picture on the screen, when you go into the System Preferences, the Sound Output device selection will show "Internal Speakers" as...
Published on June 19, 2012 by linux

versus
40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IS NOT HDCP COMPLIANT and WILL NOT Play HD content bought on ITunes
This adapter is NOT HDCP compliant and will NOT play HD content you buy on iTunes!

What does this mean? HD movies and tv shows etc have copy-write protection in them. HDCP stands for High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection. It is a way for manufacturers to prevent piracy. Not all adapters are HDCP compliant such as this one. So if your like me and have most...
Published 7 months ago by Michael


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfect on Macbook Air, including sound, but must go into the System Preferences first. Also works on Lenovo x230 !, June 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EnjoyGadgets Thunderbolt to HDMI Video Adapter Cable, with Audio Support (Electronics)
Sound didn't work on my Macbook Air (early 2012 model) on the first try, but going into the System Preferences -> Sound -> Output you can select the output device.
Assuming the adapter is connected to a TV and you can see the computer's picture on the screen, when you go into the System Preferences, the Sound Output device selection will show "Internal Speakers" as well as the TV's name. Just select the TV and the sound will start to come out of it.

It's a one time setting; I disconnected the adapter and the sound came back to the internal speakers, but when I reconnected it came out the TV again without me having to revisit the settings. You only need to revisit the settings when you connect to different TVs.

UPDATE: I recently tried this adapter on the MiniDisplayPort of a Lenovo X230 laptop running Windows 7 and it works there too, perfectly with sound as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IS NOT HDCP COMPLIANT and WILL NOT Play HD content bought on ITunes, December 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EnjoyGadgets Thunderbolt to HDMI Video Adapter Cable, with Audio Support (Electronics)
This adapter is NOT HDCP compliant and will NOT play HD content you buy on iTunes!

What does this mean? HD movies and tv shows etc have copy-write protection in them. HDCP stands for High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection. It is a way for manufacturers to prevent piracy. Not all adapters are HDCP compliant such as this one. So if your like me and have most of your Video library though iTunes then DO NOT BUY this one. I had to return it. After talking to apple Tech support I found that the only way for you to watch those expensive HD movies and tv shows you bought on iTunes is to only use a device that is HDCP compliant.

Fortunately there are several reliable brands on Amazon and through Apple itself and they are fairly inexpensive. "Cable Matters Gold Plated Mini DisplayPort (ThunderboltTM Port Compatible) " was only 11.99 on amazon and is Amazon prime. the same kind are on the Apple website for $30 more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Works great for a week, August 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EnjoyGadgets Thunderbolt to HDMI Video Adapter Cable, with Audio Support (Electronics)
Worked great with my macbookpro for about a week then stopped working for no apparent reason... the price is great, but not sure if everyone has this same issue or not, but doesn't seem like quality. And I can't get a hold of anyone who will try and make this right.

EDIT:
Purchased another one to see if I just got a faulty one... Nope! After about 2 weeks it stopped working. Still no one will refund or replace this for me. Again... it works fantastic for a week or two, but then just stops working. Some reputable company needs to make a reliable one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works like a charm, November 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EnjoyGadgets Thunderbolt to HDMI Video Adapter Cable, with Audio Support (Electronics)
I had no issues. Works perfectly with my 2012 MacBook Air. I did have to change audio output in system preferences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work at all, July 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EnjoyGadgets Thunderbolt to HDMI Video Adapter Cable, with Audio Support (Electronics)
Tried using the adapter with my 2012 MacBook Air, and it didn't work at all. Tried multiple HDMI cables and TVs/monitors, but nothing was ever detected by the operating system. Ordered a different adapter and it worked fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked without a hitch!, June 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EnjoyGadgets Thunderbolt to HDMI Video Adapter Cable, with Audio Support (Electronics)
Connected my Mac Mini (2011) to my HDTV using this adapter. I know I could use straight up HDMI but wanted for testing purposes. Works perfect, sound plays right through the TV.

One reason I do consider using it over regular HDMI is that I can use my HDMI port on my Mac Mini as a DVI for dual monitors.

Best deal on Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's the sound?, December 25, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EnjoyGadgets Thunderbolt to HDMI Video Adapter Cable, with Audio Support (Electronics)
Well, the picture is great but there's no sound on my new Vizio -- very disappointed. Using new MacBook Air with Thunderbolt... OK, so I contacted EnjoyGadgets and they were wonderful... sent a new adapter immediately and it works perfectly. This is customer service as it should be -- friendly, fast, efficient. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the low price!, April 24, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EnjoyGadgets Thunderbolt to HDMI Video Adapter Cable, with Audio Support (Electronics)
There is not much to say about this Thunderbolt to HDMI Video Adapter Cable. It isn't too expensive, and does its job. I have been using mine with no problems for a few months now, and have no complaints whatsoever!

PROS:
-small and easy to work with
-serves it purpose
-low price

CONS:
-extremely short length (only a CON for consumers that are interested in a longer cable)
-not perfectly reliable in terms of lifetime duration (may stop working after a few months)

Worth the purchase? I would say so. I have had no problems with mine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why pay more?, February 8, 2014
By 
Waldomann "Kurt Waldmann" (Southern Oregon/Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EnjoyGadgets Thunderbolt to HDMI Video Adapter Cable, with Audio Support (Electronics)
Found that the price of this cable to all over the place.....Locally, Connecting Point wanted $40 for their TB to HDMI....found it on Amazon prime $10.00.... all in
Works perfectly connecting my 27' display with my MBP....no brainer....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DONT BUY, September 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EnjoyGadgets Thunderbolt to HDMI Video Adapter Cable, with Audio Support (Electronics)
Peace of crap! doesn't even work! do not buy! its not worth the money!!! Worst Product Yet!!! Consider buying one from apple or something this is total crap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.