Your Garage Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 16, 2010
Enoch is an interesting book if only for the story that it tells. The BFs are painted as real creatures with many human characteristics and many wild animal ones as well. Later on in the book their family, breeding, social and even ethnic characteristics are detailed. They are depicted as quite skittish, secretive and even violent when "Mike" does something out-of-line to surprise or intimidate them. The scene where he tried to take a picture of Enoch was sobering both in the speed and power displayed by the BF in striking out at "Mike" and then crushing the camera like a pack of smokes. YIKES! There is some discussion about BF DNA evidence and its comparison to human DNA and where it might fit into the primate spectrum or within the chimp-man divide but that's about it for empirical evidence offered. Other than that, there is no corroboration in support what-so-ever to any part of the story. "Mike" could have produced at least a few foot print photos, some hair, a picture of his beat-up face after his various BF run-ins, copies of the obviously large food receipts that he was spending on, some journal entries scanned into the book as figures, anything at all to support the story as more than anecdotal but nothing is offered. The middle chapters wander with whimsical and silly internal arguments the author was having with herself while writing it. The author includes a lot of draft material as filler in the middle and later chapters that might better have been trimmed out or edited to a higher level of presentation. You get the impression that much of the book was typed into the word processor once as draft and then never gone back to to clean up as final prose. Overall I found the story believable and the fact that the BFs are still depicted as essentially an unknown mystery is ok by me. Readers looking for deeper scientific analysis of empirical evidence (not) offered, pictures of foot prints, hair, bedding or anything else for that matter will probably be disappointed. If you are looking for a fairly light read into a very mysterious subject that offers some ostensibly deep but unsupported information on the BF subject, they will probably find Enoch an interesting albeit an undeterministic read.
11 comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2010
Get it now! It will blow you away if you have an ounce of trust left in you. If you want to analyze scat and hair DNA remnants this may not be the book for you. Nonetheless, this book presents fascinating possibilities, and the author is of unquestionable sincerity. More than anyone at this time, Autumn Williams seems to have catalyzed a major change that is now running through to the core of Bigfooting. I have heard repeatedly expressed the sentiment that "proving" the Bigfoot/Sasquatch to the world would only endanger them and threaten their very survival. On her Oregon Bigfoot site and blog she has clearly delineated the reasons why decades of Bigfoot field research have largely failed to produce conclusive results. Autumn is forging a new attitude both toward the "Creatures" and the witnesses, recommending respect for both. This book offers more than the interesting, often humorous story of Mike, a loner who encounters and bonds with Skunk Apes somewhere in Florida; it will also teach you methodology in how to approach anecdotal accounts and deal with the difficulties witnesses face in relating their experiences. Long-term habituation scenarios are often scoffed at by the Bigfoot Community, and the public at large; but this book makes this one seem utterly convincing. Far from some kind of delusional believer or New-Age seeker of the "Forest Brothers," Autumn Williams is cool, collected, and logical in her approach. Her coming to know and trust the witness, Mike, parallels the process of Mike's gradual understanding of and bonding with this mysterious being. It is a trans-species interaction that quite likely will challenge your ideas of humanness, sentience and intelligence. If you have ever struggled with issues of belief and trust, this book may very well be about much, much more than Bigfoot to you. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! The most intriguing Hairy Hominoid book in a very long time.

BIGFOOT'S BLOG from Willow Creek will be writing a full, lengthy review of this book. We'll post it here when it is finished. Get this book now if you care about Bigfoot.
11 comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2011
I just finished this book and am very impressed. The reader must decide whether or not to suspend disbelief, and I decided to, for the sake of an enhanced reading experience. The details that Autumn Williams conveys (by way of her long-term witness Mike) are many and astonishing. Both she and Mike are very articulate so that their dual story really spellbinds. Aside from a whole bunch of proofreading oversights (which I assume will be corrected in a next edition), I have no criticism of the content; I even came to be persuaded by her reasons for believing Mike's account in the absense of "proof," and by much of her critique of the methodology of contemporary Sasquatch research. I have learned much from ENOCH: A BIGFOOT STORY and will incorporate this expanded awareness into my ongoing field research and into the new edition of my own book, IMPOSSIBLE VISITS: INTERACTIONS WITH SASQUATCH AT HABITUATION SITES. Currently, only a handful of books about long-term-witness (or "habituation") situations exist, but it is my hope that this nonfiction genre will quickly burgeon, soon building a solid infrastructure of knowledge prior to "the day of discovery"--when lengthy, persuasive video or a dead body is presented to the world--because on that day the media will seek to spike ratings by provoking hysteria among the general public. The key, then, will be for the millions of suddenly fascinated yet anxious people to have readily accessible sources to consult in order to learn of the astonishing subtlety, intelligence, even the civility, of this species. All credible knowledge gained by then, especially the respectful, highly textured accounts shared by long-term habituators, will probably make for the best barrier between Sasquatch and its would-be trophy hunters. With any luck, the contributions by these ordinary, non-scientist researchers will augment efforts toward establishing legislation protecting the species going forward. Best-case scenario: Though the first man to "bag" a Sasquatch will (inevitably) become rich and famous, the second, and all subsequent, will be thrown in jail for life. Autumn Williams deserves enormous credit for so insightfully advancing this cause.
44 comments|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
I'd been away from the ABSM field for quite some time, and I was shocked to learn of the content of this book. I immediately ordered it and read it over an extended weekend, and was immensely impressed not only by the content (and the inherent implications) but also by the author's ability to convey facts and occurrences from her third-person viewpoint. Everyone who considers themselves a caring person would benefit greatly from reading this book, and I cannot recommend it enough.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2013
This review may be a little too long to suit some, so let me give you the short of it first, and if you would like more information, I'll follow with a longer version which you can read.

Short version:
It's a good story. It has the insights included from someone who knows bigfoot is in existence. It is a story told second hand of encounters with a human-like being. The story contains human dilemmas and elements of trust and humanity from everyone involved. I give it five stars.

Long version:
There must be one thing understood when reading this book: Enoch does not have any evidence offered, so if that is the sort of book you are looking for, it would be best if you looked toward a different source. Grover Krantz or Jeff Meldrum may be authors to investigate. However, neither of them has seen a bigfoot. Williams is different; she grew up knowing they exist because she remembers having seen them.

Being a believer in things squatchy, it is difficult to separate myself from that viewpoint. I came into this perspective long before I picked up the book. After all, it took a team of schooled researchers two years to find a group of chimps, and chimps were accepted as being a species already. That being said, I think it can be appreciated by the nonbeliever too because it is a good story, provided you can suspend your skeptic views at least a little bit to include human-like behavior from a being that has been fooling the majority of science for years and years.

This book does offer a great storyline, and it is well written. The author is not the person who went through the experiences, but was given the story second hand. It is missing some of the immediacy that is held within eyewitness testimony offered by sighting reports, but still has a good amount of tension to the storyline. It is a story that's offered as the truth and something that is open to your own personal lines of debate. It allows its readers to be the judge and jury of a personal story or two or even three...

The squatch community is a hard community to please, with big personalities and opinions to match. The parts of the book describing the author's dilemmas regarding disclosure may not be very entertaining to a nonbeliever or someone who is not familiar with the bigfoot-online scene; it may look like fluff. With all the chest bumping and chest pounding that goes on with the huge egos in abundance -for some reason - in bigfootery, this extra information is a part of the drama in which the bigger story unfolds. These are a researcher's dilemmas regarding the disclosure of such a story. An author who just wanted a book published would not have gone through what this author did; to me, she proved she was a true researcher with the inclusion of this material and has given the reader the information she had at hand to judge the story as he or she sees fit. The author judged it and decided to publish it because she believed that it could be real because the person telling the story had no real motive for hoaxing. He wanted no money and in fact insisted on anonymity.

This book may not make you a believer, but it may allow you to crack open that door of skepticism just far enough to look at a body of evidence, substituting that for your need for an actual corpse. I raise my glass to all those with the hope sustaining that there is no need for bloodshed in this world. We just need to move from cynicism to skepticism. People need to hear these sorts of stories as a primer for what might be ahead of us; it might just be this sort of reference that we look to as most important as time goes racing forward in this very-against-mainstream-science field.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2012
Having been a Sasquatch fanatic since being a Boy Scout in the early sixties, this book placed an entirely new
focus on the intelligent and social aspects of the Sasquatch. It amazed me to consider how much cameraderie could exist between Enoch and his human friend. I was surprised at the emotions presented by both the Sasquatch
and his human friend. They had developed a truly evocative relationship, that each trusted each other implicitly. This proved once and for all to me that Sasquatch aren't animals, but some human relative from the
past. This book makes it obvious they need the protection of the law from the human element which thinks the
only way to prove they exist is to bring in a body, not caring whether that was someone's husband or Dad.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2015
I am neither a researcher or a witness, but I have been interested in the Big Guys since I first read about the Abominable Snowman or Yeti when I was in high school in the 60s. I have also read most of the books written about them, some interesting and some garbage. But, without a doubt the better books I have read have been written by witnesses/habituators. This book is a breath of fresh air on the subject. And, well written from the heart! Keep it up, Autumn!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
What a great story this was... I read the whole book in one sitting... couldn't put it down. Autumn Williams wrote with skill and sensitivity the story of a man named Mike who developed a friendship with these special people we call Bigfoot. Although I've heard that one of the well known Sasquatch hunters is saying that this Mike character later confessed that he made the whole thing up, I don't believe it was a fabrication. There are details in the story that ring true. (If Mike did say it was a lie after the book was published, he was only trying to protect his wild friends from those who would want to capture or kill them, just to prove they exist.) If you are fascinated by the legend of Bigfoot, read it and judge for yourself.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
wow.. I am so glad that of all the books i have read on bigfoot, I finally found this one. It helped me understand things in such a different way. I have had my own unexplained experience and this book made me realize I was not so crazy. I have been wanting to go back and find more about this thing/person and in reading this book i know what I must do and not do. I totally agree that the researchers are doing it all wrong and was inspired how much the person in the book wants to protect them from the thrill seekers or being exposed and hunted. I loved everything about this book and especially the author putting her career on the line to protect them.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
How relieved I am to find Autumn and her very appropriate approach to this creature. I loved her choice words, rhythm and intelligence. I especially appreciate the cover art, good call! I too want to live in an area where a relationship with the Big Guys can evolve. I hope that one day Mike invites you to meet Enoch and I hope for another book from you.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse