Enough and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.99
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Enough: The Phony Leaders, Dead-End Movements, and Culture of Failure That Are Undermining Black America--and What We Can Do About It Hardcover – August 1, 2006


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$2.75 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$10.00

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Crown; First Edition edition (August 1, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0307338231
  • ISBN-13: 978-0307338235
  • Product Dimensions: 0.9 x 6.5 x 9.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (116 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #853,471 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

When Bill Cosby addressed a 50th-anniversary celebration of Brown v. Board of Education, he created a major controversy with seemingly inoffensive counsel ("begin with getting a high school education, not having children until one is twenty-one and married, working hard at any job, and being good parents"). Building from Cosby's speech, NPR/Fox journalist Williams offers his ballast to Cosby's position. Williams starts with the question, "Why are so many black Americans, people born inside the gates of American opportunity, still living as if they were locked out from all America has to offer?" His answers include the debacle of big-city politics under self-serving black politicians; reparations as "a divisive dead-end idea"; the parlous state of city schools "under the alliance between the civil rights leaders and the teachers' unions"; and the transformation of rap from "its willingness to confront establishment and stereotypes" to "America's late-night masturbatory fantasy." A sense of the erosion of "the high moral standing of civil rights" underlies Cosby's anguish and Williams's anger. Politically interested readers of a mildly conservative bent will find this book sheer dynamite. (Aug.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review

Advance Praise for Enough

“Written in the tradition of DuBois and King, Enough is an impressively powerful and courageous book. Williams delivers a blunt and bracing challenge to black America.” —David J. Garrow, author of the Pulitzer Prize–winning Bearing the Cross and Senior Fellow at Cambridge University

“A courageous and much-needed primer on race relations in America today.” —Thomas Sowell, author of Black Rednecks and White Liberals and Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution

Enough is a breath of fresh air and a long overdue, critical insight into today’s stereotypical nonsense that has unfortunately been passing as the new black culture.” —Donna Brazile, political commentator for CNN and former campaign manager for Al Gore in 2000

“Juan Williams has, through Bill Cosby, spoken for the quiet majority of African Americans who desperately look for some voice to articulate what they know is truth. . . . I highly recommend Enough to those who are really interested in knowing our nation’s history, and specifically the odyssey of African Americans in this country.” —Douglas Wilder, mayor of Richmond, Virginia, and former governor of Virginia

“Juan Williams isn’t afraid to give Cosby his props, showing us that a lot of what people call black conservatism is plain common sense.” —John McWhorter, author of Winning the Race: Beyond the Crisis in Black America

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Enough is a good book that needs some tweaking.
Hapa Girl
Bill Cosby is doing the speaking and Juan Williams is doing the writing.
Pentel
Minor criticisms aside, this is a well written book.
Joe Waynick

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

180 of 187 people found the following review helpful By Andre M. on August 12, 2006
Format: Hardcover
I greeted this book with eager anticipation. As a concerned African-American who is SICK of the R. Kellys, Marion Barrys, and Mike Tysons bamboozling Black folks into thinking they are martyrs instead of the fools that they are who got what they deserved from their own stupidity and of the ills stated on the cover (as well as Michael Eric Dyson deliberately and dishonestly misrepresenting Bill Cosby's message of self-reliance for cheap fame and more buck$), I expected a lot from this book from a person who feels the need as I do to STOP the self destruction.

Juan Williams talks about some of these ills in this book, but stays mainly to the futility of reparations and the defense of Bill Cosby.

The latter is excellent, but I think the Cos can (and should) speak for himself and write his own book (or put out DVDs of his recent town hall meeetings) to get his point to the public.

He (Williams) mentions some interesting incidents involving chicanery from Rep. Maxine Waters and Al Sharpton. This is interesting, but I wished Williams would have added footnotes to this and other material in the book for verification.

With that said about the presentation, I agree FULLY with the message of this book, which is the necessity for self-examination in Black America to stop the self-destruction, as well as dealing with external issues of the inequalities that remain. In short, we need some Booker T. along with the W.E.B.

I'd give it 5 for content, but 4 for presentation.

And to Dr. Cosby and Mr. Williams, I conclude with this-

"A third danger is timidity. Few men are willing to brave the disapproval of their fellows, the censure of their colleagues, the wrath of their society.
Read more ›
4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
81 of 85 people found the following review helpful By Beverly on August 14, 2006
Format: Hardcover
I am utterly speechless! Juan Williams has taken the words right out of my mouth and somebody has finally answered the question that continues to plague my consciousness: "Where are the leaders?" and "Why isn't the black commumity banding together?" Too many have criticized Bill-- Cosby of ALL people. The man not only speaks the truth, he puts his money where his mouth is!! Finally, "Enough" champions the cause and makes us face the tough questions. This is one book that should be required reading in schools and I, for one, feel that the discussion started by Cosby and others is long overdue! BRAVO!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
42 of 44 people found the following review helpful By Ivory Johnson on August 8, 2006
Format: Hardcover
Whether you find Juan Williams' arguments insulting or accurate, they are painful. The poorest of African-Americans are in a state of turmoil and he points out that the current strategy has ceased to yield results. He is not always eloquent in his delivery; in fact, you can hear the pain &/or disgust for what has transpired since Brown v. Board of Education. His interests are aligned with everyone in the black community, that the self serving interests of our so-called black leaders, the lack of education, the rate at which we go to prison, the break down of the family, the negative culture of hip-hop and other factors wreak horrible long-term consequences.

He nevertheless points out that racism is still amongst us and that the remnants of slavery have had lasting affects on our collective psyche. I would have liked to see bolder solutions, such as sending our top high school basketball players to HBCUs to generate money for our community, in addition to his conservative message to get married and stay in school. It's about time somebody came to the defense of Bill Cosby, who has committed more time and money to help his people than many of the pundits and false prophets who now point fingers. I have already recommended this book to all of my friends.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
39 of 42 people found the following review helpful By Robert W. Kellemen on August 28, 2006
Format: Hardcover
To understand the potential power of "Enough" readers should understand the history of the author, Juan Williams. Snippets from his NPR profile tell his story so readers can respect the story that he tells.

During his 21-year career at The Washington Post, Williams served as an editorial writer, op-ed columnist, and White House reporter. He won an Emmy award for TV documentary writing and widespread critical acclaim for a series of documentaries including "Politics: The New Black Power." Articles by Williams have appeared in magazines ranging from Newsweek, Fortune, and The Atlantic Monthly to Ebony, Gentlemen's Quarterly, and The New Republic.

Williams is the author of the critically acclaimed biography "Thurgood Marshall: American Revolutionary," which was released in paperback in February 2000. He is also the author of the nonfiction bestseller "Eyes on the Prize: America's Civil Rights Years, 1954-1965," the companion volume to the critically acclaimed television series. "This Far by Faith: Stories from the African American Religious Experience" appeared in February 2003. This book was the basis for a six-part public broadcasting TV documentary that aired in June 2003. In 2004, Williams became involved with AARP's Voices of Civil Rights project, leading a veteran team of reporters and editors in the production of "My Soul Looks Back in Wonder: Voices of the Civil Rights Experience." The book presents the harrowing and haunting eyewitness accounts of some 50 activists who served as foot soldiers and field generals in the Civil Rights Movement.

With credentials like these, his subtitle's power can be appreciated: "The Phony Leaders, Dead-End Movements, and Culture of Failure That Are Undermining Black America--and What We Can Do About It.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?