Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Fidlar $5 Off Fire TV Stick Labor Day Sale in Wine Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Deal of the Day
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by M + L
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped in 1-2 working days from Germany by First Class Priority Airmail.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $0.40
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Ensemble Project Ars Nova
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Ensemble Project Ars Nova

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, June 8, 2010
"Please retry"
$9.18 $9.19

Editorial Reviews

2010 release. Master Jacopo da Bologna made his contribution to music between 1340 and 1360 - he played an important role in the beginnings of composed Italian polyphony.The name of the performers on this recording, Ensemble Project Ars Nova (PAN), refers to the title of a musical-theoretical essay Ars Nova. The ensemble members first met at Schola Cantorum in Basel; Ensemble Project Ars Nova was formed in 1980.

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.

Song Title Time Price
  1. Oselletto salvazo 2:26$0.99  Buy MP3 
  2. Io me sun un che 2:03$0.99  Buy MP3 
  3. Oselletto salvazo 3:38$0.99  Buy MP3 
  4. Prima virtute 2:07$0.99  Buy MP3 
  5. O in Italia felice Liguria 2:14$0.99  Buy MP3 
  6. Nel mio parlar 3:37$0.99  Buy MP3 
  7. Aquila altera (Codex Faenza) 2:33$0.99  Buy MP3 
  8. Aquila altera - Creatura gentile - Uccel di Dio 3:57$0.99  Buy MP3 
  9. Sotto l'imperio 3:38$0.99  Buy MP3 
10. Avendo me' falcon 3:07$0.99  Buy MP3 
11. Lo lume vostro 3:35$0.99  Buy MP3 
12. Lux purpurata radiis - Diligite iusticiam 2:12$0.99  Buy MP3 
13. Non al suo amante (Codex Faenza) 1:46$0.99  Buy MP3 
14. Non al suo amante 3:15$0.99  Buy MP3 
15. Posando sopra un'acqua 3:14$0.99  Buy MP3 
16. I' senti' za' l'arco 3:48$0.99  Buy MP3 

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 8, 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ars Musici
  • ASIN: B003LUH5OU
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #181,086 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Reviewer on November 23, 2010
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This 1985 performance of 'ars nova' music by a single 14th C composer, Jacopo da Bologna, has recently been re-released. Appropriately! It has never been surpassed in its genre. Ensemble PAN (Project Ars Nova) recorded half a dozen LP/CDs in its magnificent but too brief career. This might well be their most exciting, chiefly because the music itself of Jacopo is among the most sophisticated and challenging of the late Medieval repertoire, and because the singers of PAN meet the challenge with consummate musicianship. I've recently reviewed a second all-Jacopo performance ... after all these years ... by the ensemble Le Reverdie. That's a wonderful recording, full of verve and artistry, and I recommend it highly. But this 'pioneer' recording by PAN has the edge in sheer vocal virtuosity. Soprano Laurie Monahan and counter-tenor Michael Collver had the kind of 'chemistry' singing together that Bogard/Bacall had on the screen or Astaire/Rogers on the dance floor. The specific 'historically informed' vocal technique needed for Ars Nova is not convertible from Franco-Flemish, Baroque or Modern styles. It requires intense rhythmic precision and insight, as well as an understanding of the sorts of ornamental enhancements that suit the stretched-out melodic lines.

Monahan and Collver first joined voices while studying at the Schola Cantorum in Basel, where instrumentalist Sterling Jones was one of their teachers. Jones, who play vielle, rebec, and organetto on this CD. was a veteran of the Studio der Frühen Musik, the ensemble from which nearly all later medieval musicians drew inspiration. Crawford Young, the fantastic lutenist on this CD, also studied at Basel and now teaches there.
Read more ›
7 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: ars nova