Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing New Paranormal/SciFi World
ENTANGLED is a paranormal YA featuring teen Kizzy Taylor. Her life takes a dramatic and tragic turn the day she unknowingly opens a vortex and loses her little brother. She makes a half-hearted attempt at a normal life to appease her loved ones. But everything changes when Rom Calixo shows up at school. He looks familiar, and gorgeous, and like everyone else, she tries to...
Published on January 25, 2012 by ParaYourNormal

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No sex, no swearing, Urban may be a bit of a stretch
This is a YA paranormal story with a romance twist. The heroine is a clever, snarky, outsider teen girl who is braver than perhaps wise. The inclusion of time travel, vortexes, demons, vampires and the competition of geocaching groups kept the action moving with plenty of input.

Not being a 14 or 15 year old, I don't know what their reaction will be: the...
Published on July 17, 2012 by Gaele


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing New Paranormal/SciFi World, January 25, 2012
By 
ParaYourNormal "PYN" (Another dimension...or next door.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Entanglements (An Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Romance) (Kindle Edition)
ENTANGLED is a paranormal YA featuring teen Kizzy Taylor. Her life takes a dramatic and tragic turn the day she unknowingly opens a vortex and loses her little brother. She makes a half-hearted attempt at a normal life to appease her loved ones. But everything changes when Rom Calixo shows up at school. He looks familiar, and gorgeous, and like everyone else, she tries to hold him at a distance. However, he has other ideas--and motives.

Rom tags along with Kizzy's group to a spelunking adventure to an abandoned hospital. That's when Kizzy discovers the hard way that she's a portal key. Her step-sister and friend are sucked into the vortex and Kizzy can barely comprehend what comes out in their place. She has to move through alternate dimensions to save them, while avoiding the creatures that would love to use her as a key.

Ms. Mason blends the paranormal--think vampires, ghouls and more--with some fascinating sci-fi components--vortexes, wild scientific theories and alternate dimensions--into a world I was sucked into. (*cringe* Please forgive the pun.) I've never read a storyline quite like this, and I enjoyed how she pulled everything together. Rom was both formal and charming, whereas Kizzy is aloof and understandably vulnerable. The romance between them was fun to read, although I would have liked to have known a little more about Rom beyond his family history.

Ms. Mason introduces an interesting premise and characters I'd like to read more about. I hope to see more of the world(s) she created. 4 stars to ENTANGLED.

Reviewed by Jess Macallan
PYN Reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nerd and a Lemon Review, March 4, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (suburban Siberia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Entanglements (An Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Romance) (Kindle Edition)
Entanglements
By P.R Mason
Five Lemons -The best meringue pie you ever had!
Rating: Has making out and swearing, but no graphic violence.
Synopsis: Kizzy Taylor returns to school after leaving for about a month due to reasons of her dad attempting to kill her and succeeding in killing her brother, Adam. She has holes in her memory and the memories she sort of remembers don't make sense. She ends up meeting a hot guy named Rom who talks like he's from an old movie and has a weird accent (sorta Italian, sorta not) who both weirds her out and makes her want to jump his bones. That might just be the fact that he's hot though. Going spelunking with her friends in an old hospital she accidentally opens a portal to another dimension, losing her friend and her stepsister. She's going to have to deal with ghouls, vampires (not the cute sparkly kind), and a boyfriend who doesn't say everything he knows to get them back.

My review: Okay, you probably guessed that I liked this book already and you're right. Like the other book, this one was funny (The Baronet of Douche? Hilarious!), obviously knew what it was talking about, and had scenes that would make you blush as you read. Kizzy wasn't flawless, far from it, and didn't come off as annoyingly stupid. When reading it I didn't go 'If I was her I would blankety blank, why'd ya do that?' Though not my new favorite book (I've still got my copy of Good Omens) it definitely made the list. I also blame this author for writing stoic and bad-boy characters well enough that I don't hate the tropes anymore. They are actual characters first, things girls like in a guy second. I used to like to pretend to have conversations with character types (don't ask, I was a weird lemon who had to much free time and didn't yet have a computer of my own). Mostly it would be like, 'oh, hello granola child, do you want soy milk or green tea?' Somehow the stoic guys and bad-boys would end up slapped. In Entanglements and The Banshee and The Linebacker, the love interests crack jokes, smile, express weaknesses that make sense. And I think that might be why these books are as good as chocolate. When you're reading a book that revolves around a romance, you want a writer who can write for both genders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 paws up!, October 8, 2011
This review is from: Entanglements (An Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Romance) (Kindle Edition)
Pat captured my imagination with her steamy romances, so I was quite excited to begin Entanglements. I read the book almost straight through! The characters are engaging especially the handsome boy from another time. I loved the bit of physics since that added credibility. I can't wait to read the next installment since these characters are still alive to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll love this!, October 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Entanglements (An Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Romance) (Kindle Edition)
Pat Mason has done it again. With the publication of this book, she proves what a versatile and creative writer she is. I loved it; the chemistry of the characters, the pace of the action and the way she leaves the reader wanting...more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast to Read, November 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Entanglements (An Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Romance) (Kindle Edition)
Kizzy Taylor is suffering from a bad case of survivor's guilt. Three months ago, her father held her at gun point and ordered her to jump off a bridge. Not believing he'd really shoot, she scooped up her brother and made a run for safety. Unfortunately, she underestimated her dad's determination and it cost her baby brother is life. Now, three months later, she's back at school but is self-destructive. Fortunately, her friends refuse to give her up and have lured her back into their circle with a Urban exploration expedition to an abandoned hospital.
Along with her usual crew, is hottie foreign exchange student Rom who is bent on protecting Kizzy. Then things get really weird. Swirling portals open up around Kizzy and try to suck her into an alternative universe where the stuff of nightmares reign. Worse, her step-sister gets pulled into one and out pops a ghoul that goes on a killing rampage. In order to get her sister back, Kizzy must do the impossible without fulfilling a prophecy that could doom our world and others in the multiverse.
Entanglements is a brilliantly written story that involves not just portals onto worlds with alternate history, but touches on time travel via worm holes. PR Mason has lovingly created an amazing heroine in Kizzy. Also mired in her own guilt, she's a good person who's smart and sassy and isn't about to let events happen around her but is proactively looking for solutions, no matter how bizarre. The eclectic supporting cast bring out the best and the worst in her and add extra dimensions to the story. If you're looking for a SciFi story that is well-written and a blast to read, look no farther than Entanglements. Best of all, it's a young adult book so be sure to share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monsters, time travel, and romance...this book has it all!, June 22, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Entanglements (An Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Romance) (Kindle Edition)
Although Entanglements was written for YA, I am almost 60 and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. The way the paranormal elements were written made them totally believable. All of the characters, both major and minor (and including monsters), had distinct, complex, and three-dimensional personalities that made the people practically leap off the pages. The dialogue was snappy, sparkling, and totally authentic without any vulgarity. The imagery was simply fantastic; the descriptions were so vivid and realistic that I felt like I was experiencing the action myself. The writing style was very smooth and, although the book could have benefited from more proofreading, the errors were not bad enough to interrupt the flow of the story. There are lots of smiles in store for you so I highly recommend that you read this story ASAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this YA!, January 26, 2012
By 
BevPet (East Coast) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Entanglements (An Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Romance) (Kindle Edition)
This is a very entertaining read and I was drawn into a world of compelling characters and alternate dimensions. I especially liked Rom, a little mysterious, and his budding romance with Kizzy, who is still coping with the aftermath of a recent family tragedy. The author is skilled at showing teenage angst and has a smooth writing style. Action, suspense, believable paranormal elements and enough romance to keep me entertained. I will read more by P.R. Mason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ensnared, January 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Entanglements (An Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Romance) (Kindle Edition)
When I picked up P.R. Mason's ENTANGLEMENTS I wasn't sure what to expect. I don't normally read YA novels, but I found ENTANGLEMENTS to be a delight.

Kizzy, the heroine is in some ways a typical teenager, but she has a tragic past, her father tried to kill her and did kill her four-year-old brother. And her future isn't certain either. Turns out she has an unusual talent - she can open portals to alternate dimensions. Now her fate along with that of her family, friends and three separate dimensions rest on her slender shoulders.

P.R. Mason manages to mix alternative history and dimensions with time travel and teenaged angst in a highly entertaining way. The prose is lean and action-filled. The teenagers believable. Though there is some violence, drama and tragedy, the humor balances it. There's also a sweet romance between Kizzy and Rom, a handsome lad from another dimension who's been sent to stop her from opening any more portals - even if he has to kill her to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action, Adventure & Romance, June 1, 2012
This review is from: Entanglements (An Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Romance) (Kindle Edition)
One thing you are assured of when picking up a book by PR Mason is that it will be well written, and Entanglements is no exception. Kizzy is a troubled teen recovering from a terrifying and traumatising experience. Her ordinary life has been knocked off its axis by what happened and it doesn't get any better when she returns to school and meets the enigmatic, hot, new boy Rom, who she's sure she's seen somewhere before. As things hot up between Kizzy and Rom, her life starts getting very weird. A complex and well developed blend of paranormal and science fiction, this book contains everything from vampires, ghouls and Ogres to alternate dimensions and alternate histories. If you are looking for a fast-paced read full of action, adventure and romance this is it. Suitable for all ages from teens upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Read for All, November 26, 2011
By 
Callie Cappy (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Entanglements (An Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Romance) (Kindle Edition)
Entanglements was a pleasant surprise and a most enjoyable read. The author has created memorable characters, especially the heroine Kizzy, and infused the story with enough action and suspense to satisfy all ages of readers, not just young adults. I'm definitely looking forward to reading more by this wonderful author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.