Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Before there was Bertie
The first half of this book contains the first Jeeves tales, as they appeared in periodicals. If you've read 'Carry on Jeeves,' there's a lot of overlap here, although the style was polished up a bit later. The second half features Reggie Pepper, Bertie's prototype. His stories are entertaining in their own right, although they can't hold a candle to later...
Published on January 17, 2000 by Llewellyn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars old jeeves stories
Unfortunately, most of the stories of this book already have appeared in other books by PGW, so very few were new to me.
regards-
H
Published 10 months ago by Hernan Couyoumdjian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Before there was Bertie, January 17, 2000
By 
Llewellyn (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enter Jeeves: 15 Early Stories (Paperback)
The first half of this book contains the first Jeeves tales, as they appeared in periodicals. If you've read 'Carry on Jeeves,' there's a lot of overlap here, although the style was polished up a bit later. The second half features Reggie Pepper, Bertie's prototype. His stories are entertaining in their own right, although they can't hold a candle to later Wodehouse. Still, it's interesting to see the evolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable collection of Wodehouse's works, February 26, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Enter Jeeves: 15 Early Stories (Paperback)
Before purchasing this book I had only been aquainted with Wodehouse's most famous characters Bertie Wooster and his stalwart man servant, Jeeves; and I must say that it was a pleasant suprise to be introduced to Reggie Pepper. His stories frolic in as much fun as Bertie's and he is a man who can think for himself (althought I do miss the perspicatious Jeeves standing in a corner ever ready to solve all the world's problems). With a mixture of Bertie, Jeeves and Reggie you're sure to have a jolly old time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun with Jeeves, August 11, 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (New Hampshire, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enter Jeeves: 15 Early Stories (Paperback)
This is a Dover Edition paperback, which typically means that the contents are out of copyright. You can get a lot of these stories for free on Kindle, but there were still several I had never read.

This collection of stories includes 8 Bertie Wooster/Jeeves stories, plus 7 Reggie Pepper stories. The seven Reggie Pepper stories constitute the entire series for Reggie Pepper.

I read somewhere that Reggie Pepper and his sometime valet Voules were the prototypes for Bertie and Jeeves, but I don't think this is true. Voules is in only one of these stories, and he is not the admirable and clever character that Jeeves is. Reggie Pepper is kind of a cross between Bertie Wooster and Jeeves, in that he schemes like Jeeves and occasionally blunders along like Bertie. Like Bertie, he is comfortably well-off and a member of the British leisure class.

Some of the elements in Reggie Pepper do re-appear in the Jeeves stories. Among these are the character of Florence Craye, who appears with the same name (and with a brother Edwin) in both series.

The Jeeves stories in this book are:
Extricating Young Gussie
Leave It to Jeeves
The Aunt and the Sluggard
Jeeves Takes Charge
Jeeves and the Unbidden Guest
Jeeves and the Hard-boiled Egg
Jeeves and the Chump Cyril
Jeeves in the Springtime

The Reggie Pepper stories are:
Absent Treatment
Lines and Business
Disentangling Old Duggie
Brother Alfred
Rallying Round Clarence
Concealed Art
The Test Case

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even Wodehouse said it, October 26, 2003
By 
Sara Welch (Auburn, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enter Jeeves: 15 Early Stories (Paperback)
Even darling P.G. Wodehouse had said it. He did no justice whatsever to the beloved man servant Jeeves in his first story. "Extricating Young Gussie". But Wodehouse had made up for it in every other Jeeves stories that he had written. Bertie Wooster on the other hand had been well developed from the get go.
Reading the Reggie Pepper stories is a gas. I feel in love with dear ol' misguided at times Reggie from the first sentence in "Absent Treatment."
There is no way you can book "Enter Jeeves" down without fistening the story that you are on. You would just want to read the entire book in one sitting, but you know that you just want to savor the witty P.G. Wodeshouse in the book for as long as you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant early Wodehouse, March 6, 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Jamestown, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Enter Jeeves: 15 Early Stories (Paperback)
When Wodehouse started writing, he began with periodicals for newspapers. It goes without saying that his well written, clever and very funny tales brought him to prominence and he later went on to write novels, most famously around Bertie Wooster and his "man's man" Jeeves.

It is delightful, then, to read these first early tales. For a true sense, it probably would be better to start with the stories of Reggie Pepper, the precursor of Bertie Wooster, and then read the stories in the first half which revolve around Wooster and Jeeves.

Wodehouse has an unmistakeable writing style which makes you feel intimately comfortable with the narrator (Reggie or Bertie) as if they were in the room with you, filling you in on their "real life" escapades as you sip brandy before a roaring fire. The tales themselves are usually convoluted, usually as a result of the main character being rather idiotic or wimpy enough to not say no to some foolhardy mission of mercy a friend or relative has put them up to. Both characters fit into the "nouveau riche" category - oodles of money and plenty of time to waste it on...and while most of us will never be in such luxury (or experience such laziness), you cannot help but laugh at the situations they find themselves in. Aside from crafting such believable characters, Wodehouse has a unique way of describing things which will often leave you laughing.

I highly recommend this book, especially to those unfamiliar with this great author who want to try him out before delving into his longer Jeeves novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch Jeeves get his boots wet!, July 6, 2009
This review is from: Enter Jeeves: 15 Early Stories (Paperback)
As PG got his feet wet, so did Jeeves....by reading this book, you will see the evolution of Jeeves into that solid character we love so much. Lots of humor and wit, farce and impossible situations to untangle.

You can't go wrong with this book - read it on the train and get to work with a smile on your face!

If you want another good Wodehouse, about a family and how a boy is the sort of 'Jeeves' character, try The Coming of Bill, The Coming Of Bill: A British Humor Classic

In some ways a better book then the early Jeeves, but all good, get both and be VERY happy at work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Reading, August 16, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enter Jeeves: 15 Early Stories (Paperback)
It took me a couple of tries to get into this book - maybe the historical period isn't of particular interest to me. I kept after it and I really did enjoy the stories.

This isn't a novel - it's a collection of stories previously published in periodicals. Don't expect a 'flow' - each story stands alone, as was the intent of the writer in writing for periodicals. The good thing about it is that you can read them story by story and put the book down not wondering what in the world happens next. The stories are entertaining and fun and short enough to read in one of those 'boredom windows' we all have - at the doctor's office, on the bus, or whenever we have to sit and wait for something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, June 16, 2008
This review is from: Enter Jeeves: 15 Early Stories (Paperback)
Although only half of the stories feature Jeeves this is still a great book and a hilarious read. If you know of Jeeves and Wooster only through the BBC television series then you owe yourself the opportunity to read the original stories, which many were completely changed when put on TV. I didn't care as much for the "Pepper" stories, maybe because I was expecting more Wooster, but this is a great book to lounge away an afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, still hilarious, June 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enter Jeeves: 15 Early Stories (Paperback)
I will not rate this item among the best works of Wodehouse, but the Jeeves stories are still extremely funny. Reggie Pepper is the original Bertie Wooster and his accounts are not as halfwitted and entertaining as the Wooster accounts. All-in-all, the Wodehouse charm engages the reader. This book, however, would not be my recommendation for a reader in the envious position of reading Wodehouse for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8, 2014
By 
Susan Voss (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enter Jeeves: 15 Early Stories (Paperback)
Delightful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Enter Jeeves: 15 Early Stories
Enter Jeeves: 15 Early Stories by P. G. Wodehouse (Paperback - July 10, 1997)
$8.95 $8.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.