Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent conclusion!
Enterprise begins with Kirk having to go through the gut wrenching process of having to tell Gary Mitchell's parent's about their son's death. He has the internal struggle of either lying to them to save face or telling the truth and dealing with it. In this one, we also get the back story of how Kirk was reunited with "Bones" and invited him to serve on the Enterprise...
Published on July 20, 2002 by K. Wyatt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Weak, not a strong conclusion to the Kirk/Mitchell saga/tragedy
This book is the third and final in the series that describes the relationship between James T. Kirk and Gary Mitchell before the events depicted in the original series episode "Where No Man Has Gone Before." Mitchell is depicted as having the appearance of a happy-go-lucky personality with little respect for authority, which would seem to make him a poor Star Fleet...
Published 15 months ago by Charles Ashbacher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent conclusion!, July 20, 2002
By 
K. Wyatt "ssintrepid" (Cape Girardeau, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enterprise (Star Trek: My Brother's Keeper, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Enterprise begins with Kirk having to go through the gut wrenching process of having to tell Gary Mitchell's parent's about their son's death. He has the internal struggle of either lying to them to save face or telling the truth and dealing with it. In this one, we also get the back story of how Kirk was reunited with "Bones" and invited him to serve on the Enterprise. The Klingon's in the story are extremely interesting as well. Overall, another great story by Michael Jan Friedman. I would recommend this trek trilogy to any and all Star Trek fans who would like to get the back story of the relationship between Kirk and Mitchell. Thank you to the author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FINAL GOODBYE, May 28, 2001
This review is from: Enterprise (Star Trek: My Brother's Keeper, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
James T. Kirk is on planet earth to do two painful things in his life. First, he must give the eulogy for his friend Gary Mitchell. Second, he must tell Gary's parents that he killed their only son. Such a burden would tear anyone apart.
While on earth, Kirk meets an old friend, Dr. McCoy, and is able to tell him about the facts surrounding Gary's death. Once done, Kirk looks back at another critical time in his career as Captain of the Enterprise where Gary has shaped his career.
In this final volume of the three part series, My Brother's Keeper, we come to the conclusion of a friendship that has grown throughout the years only to be marred by death. Enterprise explores whether Kirk can truly be a Captain of his ship or must he depend upon every word of his friend Gary? His resolve is tested as his ship is taken over by enhanced Klingons determined to destroy the Federation as well as their own empire.
The presence of the Klingons on his ship answers the mystery that long plagued Kirk and Mitchell for fourteen years while cadets on the Republic and later on the Constitution. The two are reunited with their old officers and an "old flame" who are not willing to share "classified" information with the Captain.
Michael Friedman does another good job in providing us with a moving story. You see a man still grabbling with his demons of guilt and also a young Captain learning to regard the opinions of all his crew members during atrying time. Excitement, adventure and intrigue is packed in this last novel of a man who had a great impact on Kirk's life. You will witness growth and maturity in both of them as they become true leaders of Starfleet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Weak, not a strong conclusion to the Kirk/Mitchell saga/tragedy, November 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enterprise (Star Trek: My Brother's Keeper, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is the third and final in the series that describes the relationship between James T. Kirk and Gary Mitchell before the events depicted in the original series episode "Where No Man Has Gone Before." Mitchell is depicted as having the appearance of a happy-go-lucky personality with little respect for authority, which would seem to make him a poor Star Fleet officer and subordinate to Captain Kirk. Yet, Mitchell has the role of being the one person that can freely talk back to Kirk and force him to thoroughly consider all possible options when the ship is in danger. When the ship encounters danger, Mitchell is as determined and tenacious as Kirk, never giving an inch or up.
The opening and closing segments of the book deal with the time immediately after the death of Gary Mitchell at the hands of James Kirk. Kirk is still suffering from a great deal of anguish and he is quickly becoming friends with Leonard McCoy, a man that he is now confiding in and that took the role of outspoken critic of Kirk in the original series. In the closing segment, Kirk tells Mitchell's parents the manner of his death and delivers a eulogy at his funeral. Kirk is also forming his relationship with Spock; at this point in time there is some lack of trust.
The middle of the story deals with a small collection of biologically modified super Klingons that have been imprisoned on a planet and that have now escaped. The penal planet is known to both the Federation and the Klingon Empire but is one of the most highly guarded Federation secrets. When the modified Klingons take over the Enterprise, Kirk must work with a Klingon commander in order to retake control. The modified Klingons also have the gnarled foreheads of those that appeared after the original series, so there is some explanation regarding the transformation.
I found this iteration of the Star Trek saga to be weaker than most, at times it is difficult to suspend your disbelief regarding what the super Klingons were able to do. Yet, it is still an entertaining book and one that I can recommend to my fellow lovers of Star Trek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great ending to a great series!!!, August 1, 2011
By 
Little Stevie (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enterprise (Star Trek: My Brother's Keeper, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Star Trek 'My Brothers Keeper' 3-book series tells the story of how Jim Kirk became the type of person that could do the amazing things that brought him fame. At times the stories suggest how if he had been 'normal' or had more 'normal' friends he would've gone some other direction-for instance, when he couldn't take any more death and suffering by people under his command he could've gone to an academic life, but then he would've missed all the adventures that exploring space brought! Also, because of his peculiar relationships with his core friends his personality shifted to such that he did things differently from what others would've in the same situation, which expanded the range of adventures and often helped save his life as well as the lives of many others through the years.

The small series is well written, many action scenes and many 'philosophic' discussions, a little bureaucratic detail for reality, a little pondering on Vulcan logic, but the author did a great job to not go beyond his abilities with any of them so it all fits together really well (as an aside, many writers try to 'explain' Vulcan thinking, and build some carefully constructed logical argument for a course of action but they end up going way over their ability by making facts fit their argument and ignore other perspectives or facts, they end up sounding just stupid and stubborn instead of logical. It's best to just make a decision and stick with it, and not try to explain why it's "the logical choice").

From this series Jim Kirk and the Star Trek universe is shown in its real glory! The people are hard working, studious, sometimes overly academic, always trying to balance fun with work and keeping some physical outlet that explains how they can meet the physical challenges (Kirk is a gymnast, so is very flexible and able to move quickly and gracefully even when fighting). This small series is easy to read and gives probably the best introduction to the Star Trek ideals. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well executed action novel plus a bit more., July 18, 2008
By 
James Yanni (Bellefontaine Neighbors, Mo. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enterprise (Star Trek: My Brother's Keeper, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
There is certainly plenty of action here, but there's some thought and character development, too. Plus an attempt to explain the evolution of Klingons from the mostly human-looking characters seen in the original series to the brow-ridged beings seen in the movies and later series, an attempt which predates that seen in the "Enterprise" series, and which, frankly, works much better. Almost worth five stars, but there are a few flaws in continuity that mar it just enough to bring it down a star, most prominent among them the fact that if Kirk and Kang not only knew one another, but had successfully worked together before, it presumably woudln't have been NEARLY so hard to presuade Kang to trust Kirk enough to work with him in "Day of the Dove". Of course, one could claim that that was due to the influence of the alien energy-being, just as Chekov's mania was, but one would assume that SOMEBODY might have remembered the occasion and commented on it. And it's totally unnecessary; there's no reason why this couldn't have been some random Klingon rather than one we saw later in the original series. And if the claim is that this IS a random stranger who just HAPPENS to have the same name, there's no good reason for that, either. Surely Friedman could have come up with some other Klingon-sounding name that didn't duplicate one from the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and never really goes anywhere, December 21, 2008
By 
Roger J. Buffington (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am not a big Jan Michael Friedman fan and this book is an example of why. First of all, the story was completely predictable without a single surprise; not one. But there is a deeper problem, and that derives from some of Friedman's writing mannerisms. He uses adjectives and pronouns in a cloying, irritating way, to wit: The upperclassman (meaning Kirk) and his companion (meaning Gary Mitchell) did this or that, and Kirk's friend (meaning Mitchell) alerted his pal (meaning Kirk) etc. etc. I did not know quite how to characterize this writing style, except to say that I found it to be almost unbearably annoying and distracting from the story. How many ways in one sentence does Friedman need to tell us that Kirk and Mitchell were friends? And this is a sappy, weak story in common with Friedman's other lamentable books about Kirk and Mitchell.

I know that Friedman has a following, and that's fine. But I did not enjoy this book and I generally do not enjoy Friedman's writing, although I tried to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect three-parter coming to its conclusing!, July 4, 2004
This review is from: Enterprise (Star Trek: My Brother's Keeper, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
This short series was the perfect story arc for the enigmatic Gary Mitchell and the lasting impact he had on all of us in the TV series episode, "Where No Man Has Gone Before", and now, in print, really driving home the fact that Captain Kirk really loved this dear friend as a brother and, thus, took causing his death hard. This short series is fantastic and all three books, even as stand-alones, equal and surpass such sci-fi books as: "Foundation", "Ringworld", "2001", "Childhood's End", "Starship Troopers", "I,Robot", "Advent of the Corps", and many other great books of sci-fi adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Space Seed" Klingons invade Enterprise: Can Kirk prevail?, July 1, 1999
By 
This review is from: Enterprise (Star Trek: My Brother's Keeper, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
This novel focuses on how Kirk, Gary Mitchell, and their fellow crew members dealt with Gary's death. Kirk returns home to Earth sadly, and tells Gary's folks about how brave Gary was in dealing with hijacking genetically-engineered Klingons--before Kirk met with Khan in "Space Seed" and the movie "Wrath of Khan". One thing bothers me about the book's cover: why does it show Gary Lockwood as Gary Mitchell at an earlier age than the cover on My Brother's Keeper #1?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Making of a Star Ship Captain, January 28, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Enterprise (Star Trek: My Brother's Keeper, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
James T Kirk is one of the greatest fictional character's of all time. The series of star books chronicling his voyages on the star ship enterprise are enjoyable to read and compare to Hartio Hornblower or similar character's. The author makes a lot of story line on somebody from only one esisode of star trek. you should see this epsoide and compare it to the book. Also, you should read the first voyage of the enterprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures the spirit of the original series..., February 3, 1999
This review is from: Enterprise (Star Trek: My Brother's Keeper, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Michael Jan Friedman has a way of making these characters come to life as if they were on the screen again. After reading this trilogy of books, watch "Where No Man Has Gone Before" again and see it for the first time. Who can ask for more than that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Enterprise (Star Trek: My Brother's Keeper, Book 3)
Enterprise (Star Trek: My Brother's Keeper, Book 3) by Michael Jan Friedman (Mass Market Paperback - January 1, 1999)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.